Citation Styles Guide: Chicago Manual of Style - 18th ed.

Please note that there are two citation style forms outlined in the 18th edition Chicago Manual of Style: the Notes and bibliography style and the Author-date style. At Marianopolis College, courses that use the Chicago Manual of Style tend to use the Notes and bibliography style, which is the focus of this online guide. If you are instructed by a teacher to use Author-date style instead, please consult with the librarians if you need help understanding the ways in which the Author-date style differs from the Notes and bibliography style.

Some general formatting rules:

• Spacing: Double-space your paper, except table titles, table notes, and figure captions, which should be single-spaced. Your notes and your bibliography should also be single-spaced. Include an extra line between each bibliographic entry.
• Font: 12-point, standard font (Times New Roman is recommended, but the default fonts for Google Docs, Microsoft Word, or Pages are acceptable when set to 12-point size).
• Margins : 2.54 cm (1 inch) on all sides. This is the default margin setting for Google Docs, Microsoft Word, and Pages.
• Numbering: There should be a page number in the top margin of every page after the title page, justified to the right-hand side of the page, beginning with "1".
• Title Page: Unless otherwise instructed by your teacher, the Chicago Manual of Style requires that you include a title page with your paper. This page should include:
  • The title: centered a third of the way down the page (about 6-7 double-spaced lines from the top). If you use a subtitle, end your title with a colon, then start the subtitle on the next line.
  • Your name and class information should appear 6-7 double-spaced lines later.
  • You teacher may request that you include additional information as well, such as your student number or the date.
• Titles of Works: Titles and subtitles of books, journals, magazines, plays, films, websites and television series are italicized. Titles of chapters, articles, short stories, poems, television episodes, and other shorter segments of a larger work are put in quotation marks. As a general rule, capitalize the first and last words in titles and subtitles, as well as all other major words, often called "Title Case." The following exceptions apply:
  • Lowercase articles (eg: the, a, an), unless they are the first word of the title or subtitle.
  • Lowercase prepositions (eg: on, up, down), unless they are being used as adjectives or as part of a Latin expression used adjectivally or adverbially (eg: De Facto).
  • Lowercase conjunctions (eg: and, or, but, for, nor).
  • Lowercase the word "to."
  • Lowercase any part of a proper name that would be lowercased in text (eg: the "de" in "de Bruges" or the "von" in "von Trapp").
  • Lowercase the second part of a scientific species name (eg: Saimiri boliviensis).

Lorsque vous utilisez le style Chicago pour citer des sources en français, les règles restent globalement similaires à celles en anglais, avec quelques exceptions.

Utilisez le titre « Bibliographie » en haut de la première page de la bibliographie dans votre travail.

Utilisez la ponctuation prescrite par le style pour les sources figurant dans vos notes en bas de page et dans votre bibliographie.

Titres des travaux

Pour les titres:

• Mettez une majuscule uniquement au premier mot d'un titre plutôt qu'au titre complet.
• Mettez une majuscule aux noms propres figurant dans le titre.
• Formatez les titres en italique ou entre guillemets, conformément aux règles de citation du style Chicago.

Principaux éléments traduits

« In » devient « Dans » -- Lorsque vous créez une citation pour une chapitre dans une livre ou un titre de référence, utilisez « Dans » avant le titre du livre.

« & » devient « et » -- Au lieu d’utiliser l’esperluette, utiliser uniquement le mot « et » lorsque vous rédiger une liste d’auteurs ou de directeurs d’ouvrage.

« 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, etc. » devient « 1er ou 1re, 2e, 3e, 4e, 5e, 6e, etc. »

« n.d. » devient « s.d. » -- Pour les ouvrages dont la date de publication est inconnue ou absente.

« Accessed » devient « Consulté le »

« As cited in » devient « cité dans » (utiliser seulement pour une citation secondaire)

Abréviations

Pour les abréviations communes, utilisez l'abréviation française.

Exemples :

édition = éd. (Utiliser seulement pour indiquer une version d’un ouvrage).

directeur scientifique ou éditeur = dir. ((Utiliser pour indiquer qu’une personne est le directeur scientifique pour un ouvrage, en lieu d’utiliser « ed. » pour « l’éditeur »)

volume = vol.

numéro = n^o

page ou pages = p. (Selon l’Office québécois de la langue française, l’abréviation pp. pour pages n’est plus en usage courant.)

vers = v.

tome = t

Additional information on Chicago style citation may be found at these websites: