The type of the Chicago-Style citation that is used at the College is the “Notes - Bibliography” (NB) system, which uses in-text footnotes or endnotes, combined with a Bibliography at the end of the paper. The examples you will see here follow the NB system.
When citing sources in Chicago-Style citation, it is not enough to simply include notes. You must also include a bibliography at the end of your paper that includes every source that you used in your paper. If you did not use information from a source in your paper, it should not be in your bibliography.
When assembling your bibliography for a paper in Chicago-Style citation, please use the following guidelines:
Unless your teacher tells you otherwise, all Bibliography entries should have at least one footnote or endnote in your text.
Whenever possible, always use the original source for any information you use in your essay. However, sometimes it isn't possible to find the original source (e.g. the source is out of print, unavailable through the Library, or not available in a language you can read). In those cases, Chicago Style allows you to cite the information from what it calls a Secondary Source. A secondary source is a book, article, etc, that quotes or references a piece of information, but is not the original source of that information. When citing a secondary source of information, you only list the secondary source in your bibliography, as the secondary source is the source you actually used in your essay. For information on how to cite a secondary source in your notes, see the Notes: Secondary sources box on the Footnotes and Endnotes page of this guide.
Bibliography example:
Feldstein, Ruth. How it Feels to Be Free: Black women entertainers and the Civil Rights Movement. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.
In this example, the October 1959 issue of Drum magazine is the original source of the quote about Miriam Makeba. Since we couldn't find a copy of Drum, we used a book by Feldstein, which is where we first found the quote. When constructing the entry for your bibliography, always use the format for the secondary source you actually used, not the format for the original source.
Use the following format for any journal article you find in print.
Bibliography Format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): first page-last page.
Bibliography Example:
Shevtsova, Lilia. “The Next Russian Revolution.” Current History 111, no. 747 (2012): 251-57.
Chicago prefers that you include a DOI, or Digital Object Identifier, for a journal article whenever possible. DOIs are unique numbers that are assigned to individual articles to make them easily findable by anyone. Usually, they will start with a 10, followed by a period, followed by a unique string of numbers and letters. When including a DOI in a Chicago-style bibliography entry, add "https://doi.org/" to the beginning of the DOI if it is not already present. This turns the DOI into a usable URL that will take the reader to an online version of the article.
Bibliography Format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): first page-last page. https:/doi.org/DOI.
Bibliography Example:
Ryan, Susan M. “Stowe, Byron, and the Art of Scandal.” American Literature 83, no. 1 (2011): 59-91. https://doi.org/10.1215/00029831-2010-063.
When a journal article doesn't have a DOI but can be found for free online (for example, from an open access journal), include a stable URL link to the article.
Bibliography Format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): first page-last page. URL.
Bibliography Example:
Niles, John D. “Editing Beowulf: What Can Study of the Ballads Tell Us?” Oral Tradition 9, no. 2 (1994): 440-67. http://journal.oraltradition.org/files/articles/9ii/13_niles.pdf.
If you use an article from one of the Library's journal databases and that article does not have a DOI, Chicago recommends including the name of the database instead of a URL link to the article. This is because a link to an article in a database will only work for anyone that has access to that specific database, and usually only after they have logged in to the database. Listing the name of the database instead makes it easier for your reader to figure out where to go to find the article.
Bibliography Format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): first page-last page. Name of Database.
Bibliography Example:
Jennings, Eric. “'Reinventing Jeanne': The Iconology of Joan of Arc in Vichy Schoolbooks, 1940-1944." Journal of Contemporary History 29, no. 4 (1994): 711-34. JSTOR.
Use for books consulted in print.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Levithan, David. Boy Meets Boy. New York: Ember, 2003.
Use for a book that has a listed edition other than the first edition. For numbered editions (e.g. second, third, fourth), list the number with the appropriate suffix (e.g. 2nd, 3rd, 4th). Use the "ed." abbreviation for "edition."
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Edition information. City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
McKay, John P., Bennett D. Hill, John Buckler, Clare Haru Crowston, Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks, and Joe Perry. A History of Western Society. 12th concise ed. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2017.
Use this format for books where a specific editor or editors are considered to be primarily responsible for the book instead of an author or authors.
Bibliography format:
Editor(s) Last Name, First Name, ed(s). Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Goodlad, Lauren, and Michael Bibby, eds. Goth: Undead Subculture. Durham: Duke University Press, 2007.
An eBook that was found online from a free source should include a stable URL link to that source at the end of the entry.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of publication. URL.
Bibliography example:
Swift, Jonathan. Gulliver's Travels into Several Remote Regions of the World. London: George Routledge and Sons, 1880. https://books.google.ca/books?id=hInRAAAAMAAJ.
As with a journal article from a Library database, Chicago instructs us to include the name of the database where the eBook was found instead of a URL link, so that the reader knows which database to access in order to find the book.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of publication. Title of Database.
Bibliography example:
Eigen, Joel Peter. Unconscious Crime: Mental Absence and Criminal Responsibility in Victorian London. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2003. Ebook Central.
eBooks that have been purchased from online sellers, such as Apple iBooks, Amazon Kindle, or Google Play Books, often require specific software or devices to be read. As a result, Chicago recommends that you add the name of the app used to acquire or read the book, in order to make it easier for your readers to find.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of publication. Application used.
Bibliography example:
Waters, Alice. Coming to My Senses: The Making of a Counterculture Cook. New York: Clarkson Potter, 2017. iBooks.
Use for a book that has been translated from one language to another.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Translated by Translator First Name Last Name. City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Camus, Albert. The Stranger. Translated by Matthew Ward. New York: Vintage Books, 1989.
Use when you are only citing a specific chapter from a edited book of chapters by various authors, or if you are only citing from a specific work (short story, poem, etc.) in an anthology.
Bibliography format:
Chapter Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor(s) First Name Last Name, first page-last page. City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Verjus, Anne. “Gender, Sexuality, and Political Culture.” In A Companion to the French Revolution, edited by Peter McPhee, 196-211. Somerset, NJ: Wiley, 2012.
Even though you will most likely only be using a single article from a reference source in your work, Chicago Style requires you to cite the reference work as a whole in your bibliography. You will reference the specific entry or entries that you used in your notes. See the Reference articles section of the Footnotes and endnotes page of this guide for details.
Because reference works are most often the work of several people, no one author is attributed to the work as a whole. A primary editor may be listed if there is one, but should be listed after the title of the Reference work, not at the beginning of the citation.
Bibliography format:
Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor(s) First Name Last Name (if available). Edition information (if other than the first). Number of volumes. City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Dictionary of the Middle Ages, edited by Joseph R. Strayer. 13 vols. New York: Scribner, 1983.
An online reference work should be treated much the same as a print reference work. The only exception is that you will need to include a DOI or, if a DOI is not available, a stable URL link to the work. This will differ from the link that you use in your footnote or endnote, which will point your user toward the specific entry in the reference work.
Bibliography format:
Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor(s) First Name Last Name (if available). Edition information (if other than the first). Number of volumes. City: Publisher, Year of publication. URL or DOI of work.
Bibliography example:
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr. 3rd ed. 9 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=west99811&v=2.1&it=aboutBook&id=GALE|9780028661179.
Use the following format when citing any page from a general website. Even if you are using multiple pages from a single website, each page used should be cited separately in your bibliography in order to make it clear to your reader exactly where your information came from.
Note: Names of websites, unlike other types of resources are NOT italicized.
Note: Blogs or articles from online news sources are cited differently from pages on general websites. See below for details.
Bibliography format:
“Title or Description of Specific of Web Page.” Title or Description of Website. Owner or Sponsor of website, last modified Month Day, Year. URL.
Bibliography example:
"iPhoneX: Say Hello to the Future." Apple Canada. Apple Inc., last modified 2017, https://www.apple.com/ca/iphone-x/.
A blog is a website consisting of a series of posted entries organized by date or topic. Often entries carry individual titles and are signed by an author. Because the author can be significant when citing an individual blog entry, a blog is treated differently in your bibliography than a page on a general website. In addition, unlike a general website, titles of blogs are italicized. If the blog is part of a larger publication (e.g. The New York Times), you should also include the name of that publication, in italics.
Bibliography format:
Blog Post Author(s) Last Name, First Name. "Title of Blog Post." Title of Blog (blog). Title of Larger Publication (if available), Month Day, Year Posted. URL.
Bibliography example:
Metcalf, Allan. "Appalachian English." Lingua Franca (blog). The Chronicle of Higher Education, October 16, 2017. http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2017/10/16/appalachian-english/.
An online news source includes websites for any news organization. This can include websites for newspapers (e.g. The Globe and Mail, or The Gazette), television or radio news sources (e.g. the CBC or Radio-Canada websites), or independent news websites (e.g. The Huffington Post). Often articles on online news sources will carry the name of the individual author of the article. Because the author can be significant when citing a news article, the article is treated differently in the bibliography than a page on a general website. In addition, unlike a general website, titles of online news sources are italicized (e.g. The New York Times).
Bibliography format:
Author(s) of News Article Last Name, First Name. “Title of News Article.” Title of News Website, Month Day Year Posted. URL.
Bibliography example:
Harris, Kathleen . "'Our Collective Shame': Trudeau Delivers Historic Apology to LGBT Canadians." CBC News, November 28, 2017. http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/homosexual-offences-exunge-records-1.4422546.
You can cite publicly available content shared via any social media platform according to the following guidelines.You should prefer the real name of a poster whenever possible, followed by the screen name in parentheses. However, if a real name is not available, the screen name may be used in place of a real name.
Private content, including direct messages not visible to anyone outside of the immediate conversation, is instead considered to be personal communication, and should be cited as such.
Bibliography format:
Post Author's Last Name, First Name (Screen Name). "Text of the post (up to 160 characters, including spaces)." Name of Social Media Platform and descriptor of post type (if necessary), Month Day, Year Posted. URL.
Bibliography example:
Ferguson, Craig. "Ack! Accidentally swallowed a fly. Looking for spider & hoping this doesn't lead to crazy run of binge eating." Twitter, October 18, 2017. https://twitter.com/CraigyFerg/status/920734804957569024.
The same basic format is used for a feature-length film or a documentary. Directors should be listed as primarily responsible for the film, unless your essay specifically discusses the work of the screenwriters, performers, etc. . ., in which case, you would put them in place of the director's name. The name of the director would then go immediately after the title, preceded by "directed by." Include both the original release date of the film as well as the release date of the version of the film that you used. This is to distinguish between different releases of the film that may have included different special features. Finally, include the running time of the film in minutes, with "minutes" abbreviated as "min."
Bibliography format:
Director(s) Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Film or Documentary. Original Release Date of the film or documentary; City: Distributor, Release Date of Blu-ray, DVD or VHS copy. Format, Running time.
Bibliography example:
Godard, Jean-Luc, dir. Breathless. 1960; New York: Criterion, 2007. DVD, 90 min.
For a film or documentary that was either purchased as an electronic file from a source such as iTunes or Google Play, or streamed from an online database such as Films on Demand or Criterion On-Demand, the citation format is relatively similar to the one used for a film on DVD or Blu-ray. For the format, include the name of the database or online store, in italics, along with the word "video." Then, after you list the running time, include a URL link to the film.
Bibliography format:
Director(s) Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Film or Documentary. City: Distributor, Original Release Date of Film. Title of Database or Online Store video, Running Time, URL.
Bibliography example:
Petersen, Wolfgang, dir. The NeverEnding Story. Burbank: Warner Brothers, 1984. Criterion On-Demand video, 94:00, https://media3.criterionpic.com/htbin/wwform/006?T=W84319.
If you are citing a specific named or numbered scene from a film or documentary, you may treat it in the same way that you would treat a chapter from a book. You do not list anyone as primarily responsible for a specific chapter as the director is responsible for the entire film. The one exception to this might be if a film is composed of several sections directed by different individuals. In that case, you would list the director responsible for the specific section before the title of the section, and list the director of the overall film (if one person is listed as having that responsibility) after the title of the film.
Note: The example below is for a film on DVD. For a film purchased electronically or streamed from an online database, use the same basic format, but include the name of the online store or database and a URL link to the film in your entry, just as you would if you were citing the entire film.
Bibliography format:
"Title of Chapter." Title of Film or Documentary, directed by Director(s) First Name Last Name. Original Release Date of the film; City: Distributor, Release Date of Blu-ray, DVD or VHS copy. Format, Running Time.
Bibliography example:
"Ham and Eggs." Breathless. Directed by Jean-Luc Godard. 1960; New York: Criterion, 2007. DVD, 90 min.
When citing an episode of a television series, cite the series first, then the season or series number and episode number, followed by the name of the episode. As with films, the episode's director is considered to be primarily responsible for the episode, so the director's name will usually begin the entry. The only exception to this would be if your essay was specifically looking at the work of the writer or of a performer in the episode, in which case, their name(s) would be placed at the beginning of the entry.
Whenever possible, the original air date of the episode as well as the television channel where it originally aired is also included in the entry.
Bibliography format:
Episode Director(s) Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Series. Season or series number, episode number, "Title of Episode." Aired Month Day, Year Aired, on Channel Where Episode Originally Aired. City: Distributor, Release Date of Blu-ray, DVD or VHS copy. Format.
Bibliography example:
Paul King, dir. The Mighty Boosh, series 2, episode 1, "Call of the Yeti." Aired July 25, 2005, on BBC TWO. London: BBC, 2006. DVD.
Episodes that are purchased from an online source such as iTunes or Google Play or streamed from an online database such as Netflix are treated the same way as an episode from television series on DVD, with a few changes. For the format, include the name of the online store or database, in italics, followed by the word "video." Include a URL at the end of the citation.
Note: For television episodes that originated on an online streaming database such as Netflix, there is no need to include an "aired date." Instead, simply include the distributor information and the the year of release.
Bibliography format:
Episode Director(s) Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Series. Season or series number, episode number, "Title of Episode." Aired Month Day, Year Aired, on Channel Where Episode Originally Aired. City: Distributor, Release Date on Online Store or Streaming Database. Title of Database or Online Store video, URL.
Bibliography example:
Levy, Shawn, dir. Stranger Things. Season 1, Episode 3, "Chapter Three: Holly Jolly." Scotts Valley: Netflix, 2016. Netflix Canada video, https://www.netflix.com/ca/title/80057281.
Use this for any video clip found on Youtube or a a similar video hosting site online.
Bibliography format:
“Clip Title.” Website Title video, playing time. Posted by "Username," Month Day, Year Posted. URL.
Bibliography example:
“Computation History – Ada Lovelace: Enchantress of Numbers.” YouTube video, 15:39 min. Posted by “BinarycoreMedia," December 10,2012. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ictUosiEOyw.
Treat a work in a coursepack the same as if it was a chapter in an edited book. For coursepacks, the editor will always be the teacher for that course, as they are the ones who have selected and arranged the works in the coursepack.
Bibliography format:
Chapter Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Chapter.” In Title of Coursepack, edited by Teacher First Name Last Name, first page-last page. City: Publisher, year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Lovecraft, Howard Phillips. “The Whisperer in Darkness.” In ENG-102: Horror, edited by Vivian Ralickas, 61-94. Montreal, Eastman, 2014.
Use this format for handouts distributed in class or through Omnivox. For any handout that cites an original source (e.g. a short story from a book), cite it as if it was read in the original source instead.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Handout.” Class handout, date distributed. File format (for electronic files only).
Bibliography example:
MacLean, Amy. "Preparing a List of Works Cited, MLA Style." Class handout, September 23, 2013. PDF.
This format may be used when citing the actual live lecture. If you are citing a recording of a lecture, cite it as a video.
Bibliography format:
Author(s) Last Name, First Name. “Title of Lecture.” Location of Lecture, Date of Lecture.
Bibliography example:
Flanagan, Matthew. "Advanced Library Research Skills." Marianopolis College, Westmount, QC, August 28, 2015.
This includes any painting, photo, sculpture, etc. . . that you saw in its original form (e.g. on display in a museum or art gallery).
Bibliography format:
Artist(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Year Created. Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable). Museum or Gallery that owns the piece, City.
Bibliography example:
Rodin, Auguste. The Sirens. 1887-1888. Marble, 44.5 x 45.7 x 27 cm. Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Montreal.
Any reproduction of an image or a work of art that you are referencing from a book can be treated as if it were a chapter in the book. Include the work's actual dimensions if they are available in the book.
Bibliography format:
Artist(s) Last Name, First Name. Artwork Title. Year Artwork Created. Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable). In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, figure number (if a figure number is not available, use the page number). City: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliography example:
Rodin, Auguste. The Gates of Hell (entire structure). 1880-1900. Plaster, 18'1" x 13'1' x 3'1. In Janson's History of Art: The Western Tradition, edited by Penelope J. E. Davis, Walter B. Denny, Frima Fox Hofrichter, Joseph Jacods, Ann M. Roberts, and David L. Simon, Fig. 26.24. Boston: Pearson, 2016.
As with journal articles in specific subscription databases, Chicago recommends including the name of the database instead of a URL link. Listing the name of the database makes it easier for your reader to figure out where to go to find the image.
Bibliography format:
Artist(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Year Created. Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable). Museum or Gallery that owns the piece, City. Name of Source Database.
Bibliography example:
Rodin, Auguste. The Sirens for the Gates of Hell. 1887. Bronze, 44.5 x 45.7 x 27 cm. University of California, San Diego. Artstor.
When using an image or work of art that you found on a freely-accessible website, include a URL link to the image at the end of the entry.
Note: DO NOT link to an image on Google image search. Google itself is not hosting these images. It is only pulling them from other websites. Instead, visit the source page for the image and link to that page.
Bibliography format:
Artist(s) Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Year Created. Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable). Museum or Gallery that owns the piece, City. URL.
Bibliography example:
Rodin, Auguste. The Thinker. 1903. Bronze, 189 x 98 x 140 cm. Rodin Museum, Paris. http://www.musee-rodin.fr/en/collections/sculptures/thinker.
References to the Jewish of Christian scriptures usually appear in notes, but not in bibliographies. However, it is possible to include a bibliographic entry for scriptural works if you wish, or if it is requested by your professor. In these cases, just use the standard Chicago style format for a book. Remember, however, that many scriptural works are not usually considered to have an "author" in the traditional sense, so begin the entry with the title of the work.
Chicago Style citation directs you to treat an interaction with an Indigenous Elder or Knowledge Keeper as a "personal communication," only referencing it in your text or as a note. However, as Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers hold a significant role as carriers of knowledge and history for their respective Nations or Communities, they should not be treated in the same fashion as an email or a phone call. In the spirit of reconciliation, Kwantlen Polytechnic University has developed the following template, which the Marianopolis College Library recommends for use in your work.
Note: If you would like to approach an Elder or Knowledge Keeper for teachings, remember to follow protocol. If you are unsure what their protocol is, please ask them ahead of time.
Note: Only use this format for information that comes from direct communication with an Elder or Knowledge Keeper. If you are using audio or video recordings of interviews with Indigenous Elders or Knowledge Keepers, instead use the format for citing audiovisual materials.
Bibliography format:
Indigenous Elder or Knowledge Keeper Last Name, First Name (Elder or Knowledge Keeper). Nation. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. Personal communication. Territorial acknowledgement of where the information was shared. Month Day, Year.
Bibliography example:
Lekeyten (Elder). Kwantlen First Nation. Community Justice. Personal communication. Shared on the traditional unceded territory of the Kwantlen, Musqueam, Katzie, Semiahmoo, Tsawwassen, Qayqayt, and Kwikwetlem Peoples. April 9, 2019.
You must first have express permission from your teacher to use a generative AI tool (ChatGPT, Google Bard, etc. . .) in your work at the College. This permission can be given on a course-by-course or even assignment-by-assignment basis. If you are not sure whether you are allowed to use generative AI in an assignment or course, please consult your teacher. Do not assume that, if permission was given by the teacher to use generative AI in one assignment or course, that this permission extends to all work assigned by that teacher in any of their courses.
Whenever you do you generative AI for an assignment, it is your responsibility to use it ethically and within the parameters set by the course. To help you with this, the Office of the Academic Dean has put together to following guide on Artificial Intelligence Tools. Note that this also includes respecting the rules regarding cheating and plagiarism as set out by the Marianopolis IPESA.
This ethical use also includes citing generative AI content and making it clear in your work which content is your own and what is the result of gnerative AI output. To help with this, The Chicago Manual of Style Online has create and Q&A with rules for citing AI in Chicago Style.
Only include generative AI in your bibliography if you provide a publicly available link. The links provided by ChatGPT and many other generative AI program are not sharable. A few examples of reliable browser extensions that will create publicly available links to generative AI output are:
Once you have created a publicly available link, you may cite the AI generated conversation in your Bibliography using the following format:
Bibliography format:
Name of Generative AI. Response to "Prompt." Publisher of AI. Month Day, Year. Publicly available URL.
Bibliography example:
ChatGPT. Response to "Discuss the themes of the Anglo-Saxon epic poem, Beowulf." OpenAI. May 19, 2023. https://sharegpt.com/c/4KIZZa5.
Note: When creating a bibliographic entry for an output that was generated using a particularly long prompt, you may shorten the prompt to the first 160 characters in your note. This follows the same rules for titles set out for social media posts (14.209). When doing this, it is important to make sure that the sense of the original prompt is retained. For the shortened note format, you may shorten the title further, so long a it is still identifiable as the same prompt used in the previous long format note, and distinguishable from other notes for AI-generated content.
The Chicago Manual of Style, Seventeenth edition by The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, is available for consultation at the Reference Desk in the Library.
Additional information on Chicago style citation may be found at these websites:
All original content in the Marianopolis College Library LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.