A periodical can be an academic journal, a magazine, a newspaper, a newsletter, or even a blog. The format can be physical or online. Usually, you would cite a specific article from a periodical and not the entire periodical.
Older editions of APA treated journal articles in print and journal articles available electronically differently. However, the 7th edition is not as much concerned with the format in which you found the article as it is with retrievability. As a result, even if you are reading an article in print, use the the same examples as if you were citing an electronic copy.
Most Social Sciences journals, and many journals in other disciplines, now assign what is called a "Digital Object Identifier," or "DOI," to each of their electronically-published articles. This is a unique number that identifies just that one article. Every DOI begins with a "10", followed by a period, followed by a series of numbers and letters that uniquely identify that particular article.
If an article that you use in your text has a DOI, you must include it in the entry for that article in your List of References. Always format DOIs in a reference entry as: "https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx". If your source just gives the DOI number, or if they give a different DOI URL, take the DOI number and place it into the end portion of the URL.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of article. Journal Title, Volume Number (Issue Number if available), article first page-last page. https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx
Example:
Ryan, S. M. (2011). Stowe, Byron, and the art of scandal. American Literature, 83(1), 59-91. https://doi.org/10.1215/00029831-2010-063
If the article you are using does not have a DOI, but does have a URL that is not specific to a subscription database (e.g. EBSCO, JSTOR, etc.), you must include it in the reference entry.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of article. Journal Title, Volume Number(Issue Number if available), article first page-last page. URL
Example:
Anthony, J., Stead, R., & Turney, K. (2017). Making connections and building resilience: Developing workshops with undergraduates. Knowledge Management & E-Learning: An International Journal, 9(3), 404-418. http://www.kmel-journal.org/ojs/index.php/online-publication/article/view/388
If you find a journal article in a subscription database (such as our EBSCO, JSTOR, and ProQuest databases), APA instructs you to not include a URL, even if a stable URL or a Permalink is available. The argument is that this URL is only useful if your reader also has access to the specific database where you found the article, which limits the URL's usefulness.
NOTE: While it is standard practice to not include a database link in APA, your teacher may request that you still include it in your paper. If so, follow your teacher's instructions. Construct your reference entry as if it were a journal article with a nondatabase URL.
If you use a print journal article that does not have a DOI or a URL printed in the article, treat it in the same manner as an electronic article that you found on a subscription database.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of article. Journal Title, Volume Number(Issue Number if available), article first page-last page.
Example:
Shevtsova, L. (2012). The next Russian revolution. Current History, 111(747), 251-257.
For magazine articles that were found in a print issue of the magazine, use the following format. Include a URL at the end of the reference entry if the article is also available online through the magazine's website.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of article. Magazine Title, Volume Number(Issue Number if available), article first page-last page. URL if available
Example:
Hiatt, B. (2019). Dark star rising: How Adam Driver's angst and brooding intensity made the world fall in love a with a Star wars supervillain. Rolling Stone (1334), 54-57. https://www.rollingstone.com/movies/movie-features/adam-driver-star-wars-dec-2019-cover-912404/
Use for an article that shows up on a print magazine's website, but does not appear in the print version of the magazine. Treat the article as if it were an electronic version of a print article, but include the specific date posted in the date and leave out volume and issue numbers from the citation, as well as page numbers, since none of this information will be available.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article. Magazine Title. URL
Example:
Miller, M. (2019, July 29). A new Star wars: The rise of Skywalker leak appears to confirm Rey's origins. Esquire. https://www.esquire.com/entertainment/movies/a28537415/star-wars-9-rise-of-skywalker-rey-origins-jakku/
Use for newspaper articles that were found in a print issue of the newspaper. Include a URL at the end of the reference entry if the article is also available online through the magazine's website (a quick search of the article title is usually enough to check if the article is available digitally.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year, Month day of publication). Title of article. Newspaper Title, Page(s). URL if available
Example:
Brownstein, B. (2019, December 17). Torontonian seeks global dominance on poutine front. Montreal Gazette, A4. https://montrealgazette.com/opinion/columnists/brownstein-quoi-torontonian-seeks-world-dominance-on-poutine-front
Use for an article that shows up on a print magazine's website, but does not appear in the print version of the magazine. Treat the article as if it were an electronic version of a print article, but include the specific date posted in the date and leave out volume and issue numbers from the citation, as well as page numbers.
NOTE: Do not treat articles from news websites as a online newspaper articles. Instead, use the format for a website for these articles.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article. Newspaper Title. URL
Example:
Rich, M. (2019, December 17). There are no children here. Just lots of life-size dolls. The New York Times. https://www.esquire.com/entertainment/movies/a28537415/star-wars-9-rise-of-skywalker-rey-origins-jakku/
Use for blog posts. Even though blogs are an online-only medium, their serial nature means that APA recommends they be treated like a periodical.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s) [Username if available] OR Username if real name is not available. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article. Blog Title. URL
Example:
Scalzi, J. (2012, May 15). Straight white male: The lowest difficulty setting there is. Whatever. https://whatever.scalzi.com/2012/05/15/straight-white-male-the-lowest-difficulty-setting-there-is/
Older editions of APA treated books in print and books that are available electronically differently. However, the 7th edition is not as much concerned with the format in which you found the article as it is with retrievability. As a result, even if you are reading a book in print, use the same examples as if you were citing an electronic copy.
The following three basic book types (with a DOI; no DOI, with a nondatabase URL; and no DOI, from an academic research database, or no DOI or URL, in print) make up the three basic formats for all books. For books that require additional information in their reference entries (e.g. they have editors, are an edition after the 1st, have translators, etc. . .), use the most appropriate of the three basic formats shown here, then apply the appropriate additional rules as laid out in List of references: Textual works: Specific types of books and reference works.
While DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) are more common with Academic Journals, some Academic books now include DOIs as well. Because of this, APA instructs us to include a DOI in the reference entry if it is available. Always format DOIs in a reference entry as: "https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx". If your source just gives the DOI number, or if they give a different DOI URL, that the DOI number and place it into the end portion of the URL.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title. Publisher. https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx
Example:
Perlov, D., & Vilenkin, A. (2017). Cosmology for the curious. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-57040-2
Use for a book or eBook that does not have an assigned DOI, but does have a stable URL link that is not connected to a subscription database (e.g. freely available online).
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of book. Publisher. URL
Example:
Connor, S. (2017). Dream Machines. Open Humanities Press. http://www.openhumanitiespress.org/books/titles/dream-machines/
If you find a book in a subscription database (such as Ebook Central or ACLS Humanities eBooks), APA instructs you to not include a URL, even if a stable URL or a Permalink is available. The argument is that this URL is only useful if your reader has access to the specific database where you found the book, which limits the URL's usefulness.
Note: While it is standard practice to not include a database link in APA, your teacher may request that you still include it in your paper. If so, follow you teacher's instructions. Construct your reference entry as if it were a book with a nondatabase URL.
If you use a print book that does not have a DOI or a nondatabase URL, treat it in the same manner as an electronic book that you found in a subscription database.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title. Publisher.
Example:
Hancock, J. H., Johnson-Woods, T., & Karaminas, V. (2013). Fashion in popular culture: Literature, media and contemporary studies. Intellect.
What follows are specific variations on creating reference entries for book and reference works. For the three basic formats for all types of books, see List of references: Textual works: Books - three basic formats.
Books can include authored books, edited books, anthologies, religious works, and classical Greek and Roman works.
Reference works includes dictionaries, encyclopedias (including Wikipedia) and diagnostic manuals.
Older editions of APA treated books in print and books that are available electronically differently. However, the 7th edition is not as much concerned with the format in which you found the article as it is with retrievability. As a result, even if you are reading a book in print, use the same examples as if you were citing an electronic copy.
Use when creating a reference entry for a book that has an edition other than the first. Include the edition information in parentheses after the title. Move the period that normally comes after the title to after the edition note.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author Surname, Initials(s). (Year of publication). Title of book. (Edition of book). Publisher.
Example:
Macionis, J.J., Jansson, M., Benoit, C.M., Burkowicz, J. (2017). Society: The basics (6th Canadian ed.). Pearson Canada.
Use to create a reference entry for a book that has authors for each individual chapter and and overarching editor or editors who oversaw the entire book.
When creating a reference entry for this type of book, list the editor(s) in place of the authors. Add "Ed." for one editor or "Eds." for multiple editors, at parentheses, at the end of the "Author" element of the entry.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Editor Surname, Initials(s) (Ed. or Eds.). (Year of publication). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
Goodlad, L. M. E., & Bibby, M. (Eds.). (2007). Goth: Undead subculture. Duke University Press.
Use when creating a reference entry for a book that has been republished.
Use the publication year of the copy that you are using as the date for the entry. At the end of the reference entry, include "Original work published" in parentheses, followed by the original year of publication of the original, untranslated work.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author Surname, Initials. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Publisher. (Original work published year of publication)
Example:
Shelley, M. (2008). Frankenstein: Or the modern Prometheus. Oxford University Press. (Original work published 1831)
Use when creating a reference entry for a translated version of a book.
Use the date of the translated version of the work for the date of publication. At the end of the reference entry, include "Original work published" in parentheses, followed by the original year of publication of the original, untranslated work.
Include the initials and surname of the translator in parentheses after the title of the work, followed by a comma and "Trans." for "translator."
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author Surname, Initials. (Year of publication). Title of book (Translator Initials. Surname, Trans.). Publisher. (Original work published year of publication)
Example:
Satre, J.-P. (1989). No exit, and three other plays (S. Gilbert, & I. Abelm Trans.). Vintage International. (Original work published 1945-1948)
Use when creating a reference entry for a book that is a single volume of a multivolume series.
Treat the series title and the volume title as a single, two-part title. Include the volume number before the title of the single volume.
When a book is only conceptually part of series (e.g. does not include a volume number), do not put the series title in the reference entry. Instead, just treat it like a standard, nonseries book (e.g. Harry Potter and the half-blood prince, not Harry Potter: Vol. 6. Harry Potter and the half-blood prince).
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of series: Title of volume. Publisher.
Example:
Smith, R. (2016). World Economics Association book series: Vol. 5. Green capitalism: The god that failed. College Publications.
Use when creating a reference entry for an entire dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia.
If you only need to reference a single, specific entry from a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia in your list of references, see List of references: Textual works: Selections from a book or similar works.
If the work has a single author or a named group author, place them in the Author section of the reference entry. If the work has an editor or editors that oversaw entries written by many different writers, place the editor(s)' name(s) in the Author section of the reference entry, with "Ed." or "Eds." in parentheses after the names.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author or Editor Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of book (edition information, if available). Publisher.
Example:
Hornblower, S., & Spawforth, A. (2003). The Oxford classical dictionary (3rd revised ed.). Oxford University Press.
Use the following citation only when you are citing an entire diagnostic manual as a reference entry. If you only need to reference a single, specific entry in your list of references, see List of references: Textual works: Edited book chapters and entries in reference works.
Most diagnostic manuals will have a group author who is the same as the publisher of the manual (e.g. The American Psychiatric Association is both the author and the publisher of the DSM-V). In these cases, omit the publisher from the citation. Do not abbreviate a group author name in a reference entry.
Even if the diagnostic manual's title is commonly abbreviated, use the full title of the manual in your reference entry.
Format:
Author or Editor Surname, Initial(s) or Group Author Name. (Year of publication). Title of book (edition information, if available). Publisher, if not the same as the Author. DOI or nondatabase URL, if available
Example:
American Psychiatric Association (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596
In APA, there are three types of books that require very specific variations in how they are cited as reference entries. These are religious texts (e.g. The Bible, The Qur'an, The Torah, The Upanishads, etc. . .), Classical Greek or Roman works (Socrates, Homer, Aristotle, etc. . .), and the works of William Shakespeare. See below for details on how to create a reference entry for all three special cases.
Use when creating a reference entry for the sacred texts of any religion (e.g. The Bible, The Qur'an, The Torah, The Upanishads, etc . . .).
Do not include an author when creating a reference entry for a religious text. Place the title of the work where the author would normally appear, followed by the year of publication. If the version you are using includes a named translator or extensive annotations by an editor, include the translator and editor names in parentheses after the title. Move the period that normally comes after the title to after the parentheses.
For the date, include the date of publication for the version you used. Unlike other republished works, do not try to include the original year of publication of the original religious text.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Title. (Year of publication). Publisher.
Example:
Holy Bible with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books: New revised standard version. (2007). HarperCollins.
Format:
Title (Editor initials. Surname, Ed., Translator initials. Surname, Trans.). (2015). Publisher.
Example:
The study Qur'an: A new translation and commentary (S. H. Nasr, C. K. Dagli, M. M. Dakake, J. E. B. Lumbard, & M. Rustom, Eds.). (2015). HarperCollins.
Use the following format when creating a reference entry for any ancient Greek or Roman text, whether it appears in its original Greek or Latin, or in translation.
Many authors of classical works only have one name (e.g. Homer, Socrates, Aristotle). In these cases, include the full name in the Author section of the reference entry. For a classical author with a given name and a surname, present the name in standard, Surname, Initial(s) format.
For the date of publication, use the year of publication of the copy you are using in your work. If you are using a translated and/or annotated copy, include the name of the Translator, followed by "Trans." and/or the Editor, followed by "Ed.", in parentheses after the title of the work.
At the end of the reference entry, include "Original work published" in parentheses, followed by the original year of creation of the original, untranslated work. Because the exact age of most classical works is unknown, APA instructs you to use an approximate date, preceded by "ca." for "circa." Use "B.C.E." after the year for works that were created before the beginning of the current calendar.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author Surname, Initials. (Year of publication). Title (Translator Initials. Surname, Trans., & Editor Initials. Surname. Ed.). Publisher. (Original work published ca. year of creation)
Example:
Homer. (1997). The Odyssey (R. Fagles, Trans., & B. Knox, Ed.). Oxford University Press. (Original work published ca. 750 B.C.E.)
Use the following format when creating a reference entry for any work by William Shakespeare.
For the author, use "Shakespeare, W."
For the date of publication, use the year of publication of the copy you are using in your work. At the end of the reference entry, include "Original work published" in parentheses, followed by the original year of creation of the original work. For most of Shakespeare's plays, do not use the year where the the play was originally written or performed. Instead, use the publication date of The First Folio (1623), which was the first official publication of most of Shakespeare's plays, and is considered the authoritative text for 36 of the 39 plays attributed to Shakspeare. The only plays not included in The First Folio are Pericles, The Two Noble Kinsmen, and Edward III. For these three plays, use the original dates of individual quarto publication. Again, do not use the date of original performance.
If you are using an extensively annotated edition, include, in parentheses, the initials and surname of the editor(s), followed by "Ed." or "Eds." If there is an edition to the edited version, include this in the parentheses as well, after the editor.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book without a DOI or URL. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Shakespeare, W. (Year of publication). Title of play. Publisher. (Original work published ca. year of creation)
Example:
Shakespeare, W. (2013). Macbeth (B. A. Mowat, & P. Werstine, Eds., Updated ed.). Simon & Schuster. (Original work published 1623)
Sometimes, you need to reference only a specific chapter of a book or a specific entry in a reference work. In these cases, follow the instructions for the examples below. As with other books, apply the three basic formats (outlined above) to the reference entry as well.
Use when creating a reference entry for a single chapter of a book or a single work in an anthology. If you want to cite the entire book, see An edited book in List of references: Textual works: Specific types of books and reference works for an edited book or edited anthology. For an anthology with no named editor, see the standard rules for creating a book reference entry.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book with no DOIs or URLs. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Chapter Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In Editor Initial(s). Surname (Ed.), Book title (pp. chapter first page-last page). Publisher.
Example:
Verjus, A. (2012). Gender, sexuality, and political culture. In P. McPhee (Ed.), A companion to the French Revolution (pp. 196-211). Wiley.
Use when creating a reference entry from a coursepack for any of your courses at Marianopolis. Unlike other edited books, it is very unlikely that you would create a reference entry for an entire coursepack.
APA considers coursepacks to be the same as an edited work or anthology, but with the extra layer that the content has been reprinted. Therefore, you also need to include information about the original publication of the work.
The editor for a coursepack will always be the teacher for your course.
The year of publication for an entry in a coursepack is the year the coursepack was published. It isn't the original year of publication of the referenced work.
The title is the title of the course, which should be on the first page of the coursepack.
The page numbers you use should be the page numbers from the coursepack, not from the original work.
Also note that Marianopolis College does not publish our coursepacks directly. Most coursepacks at the College are instead published by Eastman Systems Inc.
After you have entered the above information, include, in parentheses, "Reprinted from" followed by publication information about the original source (this information should be provided in the Table of Contents of your coursepack). Depending on whether the original source is a journal or a book, you'll need to follow a slightly different format. If the content your are using is original work created for the coursepack, omit the "Reprinted from" section from your reference entry.
Format (Reprinted from a journal):
Chapter Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In Teacher Initial(s). Surname (Ed.) Coursepack title (pp. chapter first page-last page). Publisher. (Reprinted from "Original title of journal article," Year of original publication, Title of Journal, Volume Number [Issue Number if available], article first page-last page, DOI or nondatabase URL if available)
Example (Reprinted from a journal):
Hutson, S. (2019). The rave: Spiritual healing in modern western subcultures. In W. Richardson (Ed.), 345-102-MQ: Tattoos, trophies and t-cells (pp. 229-233). Eastman Systems. (Reprinted from "The rave: Spiritual healing in modern western subcultures," 2000, Anthropological Quarterly, 73[1], 35-49)
Format (Reprinted from a book):
Chapter Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In Teacher Initial(s). Surname (Ed.) Coursepack title (pp. chapter first page-last page). Publisher. (Reprinted from Title of Book, pp. chapter first page-last page, by Editor Initial(s). Surname, Ed., Original Year of publication, Publisher)
Example (Reprinted from a book):
Hewlett, B. L., & Hewlett, B. S. (2019). Hunter-gatherer adolescence. In W. Richardson (Ed.), 345-101-MQ: Adolescent explorations (pp. 87-102). Eastman Systems. (Reprinted from Adolescent identity: Evolutionary, cultural and developmental perspectives, pp. 73-101, by B. L. Hewlett, Ed., 2013, Routledge)
Use this format when creating a reference entry for an entry in a reference work that has a named individual author or authors for each specific entry (sometimes called a "signed entry").
Include any edition numbers other than the first and any applicable volume number in parentheses after the title of the entire reference work. Abbreviate volume as "Vol." Unlike a chapter in a book, do not include page numbers.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book with no DOIs or URLs. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title or entry. In Editor Initial(s). Surname & Editor Initial(s). Surname (Eds.). Reference work title (edition number ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher.
Example:
Russel, J. B. (1983). Church, Early. In J. R. Strayer (Ed.), Dictionary of the middle ages (Vol. 3). Charles Scribner's Sons.
Use this format for an entry in a reference work that has a group or organization identified as the author.
Do not abbreviate group author names in a reference entry, even if the abbreviation is commonly known. Always include the full name.
In cases where the name of the group author is the same as the publisher, delete the publisher from the reference entry.
NOTE: The example below uses a print book with no DOIs or URLs. If you have a book with a DOI, or a print book or eBook with a nondatabase URL, include the DOI or URL after the publisher.
Format:
Group Author Name.Year of publication). Entry title. In Editor First Initial(s) Last Name & Editor First Initial(s) Last Name (Eds.), Reference work title. Publisher, if not the same as the Group Author.
Example:
Oxford University Press (2007). Puppy, n. In Oxford University Press. OED Online. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/154804
Use when creating a reference entry for a Wikipedia or similar resource. As a rule, you would not create a reference entry for Wikipedia in its entirety, like you can for other types of reference works.
In Wikipedia, anyone can contribute to a single article over time, making it impossible to track who exactly has contributed what to the article. In many formally published works, you can name a group author instead, but, in Wikipedia, authors do not belong to a single group, so they cannot be named as such. As a result, leave the author out entirely and move the Entry title to the place where the Author usually appears, before the date of publication.
For the date of publication, use the "last updated" date published at the bottom of the entry.
Do not include a publisher for Wikipedia.
Finally, when including the URL, do not use the URL for the main page of the entry. Instead, use the link to the archived version that corresponds to the date last updated date on the article (every change to Wikipedia is automatically archived in their system, and articles can always be reverted to older editions). To access the archived version on Wikipedia, select "View History" and then click on the time and date ove the version you used. Then copy and paste the URL to the page you are directed to. That is the permanent link to that version of the entry.
Format:
Entry title. (Date of of publication). In Wikipedia. URL
Example:
Marianopolis College. (2019, October 28). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Marianopolis_College&oldid=923414090
APA citation only provides guidance for citing Indigenous Elders or Knowledge Keepers as a "personal communication." However, as Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers hold a significant role as carriers of knowledge and history for their respective Nations or Communities, they should not be treated in the same fashion as an email or a phone call. In the spirit of reconciliation, NorQuest College Library has developed the following template, which the Marianopolis College Library recommends for use in your work.
Note: If you would like to approach an Elder or Knowledge Keeper for teachings, remember to follow protocol or if you are unsure what their protocol is, please ask them ahead of time.
Note: Only use this format for information that comes from direct communication with an Elder or Knowledge Keeper. If you are using audio or video recordings of interviews with Indigenous Elders or Knowledge Keepers, instead use the format for citing audiovisual materials.
Format:
Elder or Knowledge Keeper Surname, Initial(s)., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. Where they live if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. personal communication. Month Date Year of communication.
Example:
Cardinal, D., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.
Use when creating a reference entry for a computer software program.
Do not create entries for software that are considered "common" to your audience. Software that is widely recognized as commonly used includes: Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.), social media apps (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter), well-known survey software (Survey Monkey), Adobe products (Adobe Reader, Photoshop, Adobe Acrobat), Java, and commonly used statistical software (SPSS). If you use common software specifically for some aspect your research, just give the proper name for the software or app along with the version number in your text, if relevant.
The only exception to the above rule is if you are paraphrasing or quoting directly from the software or app. In these cases, you will need to provide a reference entry as well as an in-text citation.
Provide the surnames and initials of all of the individual authors of a software program, if available. You can provide a group author instead if individual authors are not available to you. The group author will be the company or group that developed the app.
After the title of the work, place "Version," followed by the version number of the software, in parentheses after the title. If the version is not available, omit any reference to version. Add the description "Computer software," in square brackets, after the title, but before the period.
Format:
Author Surname(s), Initial(s). or Group Author. (Year of publication). Title of software (Version number.number) [Computer software]. Publisher. URL.
Example:
Love, J., Dropmann, D., & Selker, R. (2019). Jamovi (Version 1.0.7) [Computer software]. Jamovi. https://www.jamovi.org/
Use when creating a reference entry an app for any mobile device.
Do not create entries for mobile apps that are considered "common" to your audience. Software that is widely recognized as commonly used includes: Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.), social media apps (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter), well-known survey software (Survey Monkey), Adobe products (Adobe Reader, Photoshop, Adobe Acrobat), Java, and commonly used statistical software (SPSS). If you use common software specifically for some aspect your research, just give the proper name for the software or app along with the version number in your text, if relevant.
The only exception to the above rule is if you are paraphrasing or quoting directly from the software or app. In these cases, you will need to provide a reference entry as well as an in-text citation.
For the publisher, used the app platform where you purchased or downloaded the app (e.g. Apple Store or Google Play Store).
Include "Mobile app" in square brackets after the title of the app.
Format:
Author Surname(s), Initial(s). or Group Author. (Year of publication). Title of mobile app (Version number.number) [Mobile app]. Platform. URL.
Example:
Niantic (2019). Pokémon go (Version 0.129.2) [Mobile App]. Apple Store. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/pokemon-go/id1094591345
You must first have express permission from your teacher to use a generative AI tool (ChatGPT, Google Bard, etc. . .) in your work at the College. This permission can be given on a course-by-course or even assignment-by-assignment basis. If you are not sure whether you are allowed to use generative AI in an assignment or course, please consult your teacher. Do not assume that, if permission was given by the teacher to use generative AI in one assignment or course, that this permission extends to all work assigned by that teacher in any of their courses.
Whenever you do you generative AI for an assignment, it is your responsibility to use it ethically and within the parameters set by the course. To help you with this, the Office of the Academic Dean has put together to following guide on Artificial Intelligence Tools. Note that this also includes respecting the rules regarding cheating and plagiarism as set out by the Marianopolis IPESA.
This ethical use also includes citing generative AI content and making it clear in your work which content is your own and what is the result of gnerative AI output. To help with this, the APA Style Blog has outlined rules for citing generative AI in APA:
Citing references to output created by a generative AI program requires a few steps. First, APA states that you should describe how your used the software in the Methods or a comparable section of your paper, such as the Introduction. In your text, provide the prompt you used and any portion of the relevant text that was generated in response. You then credit the author of the program with an in-text citation for the output and a reference list entry.
Format:
Author Surname(s), Initial(s). or Group Author. (Year of publication). Title of generative AI software (Version number.number) [Large language model]. General URL.
Example:
OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (May 12 Version) [Large Language Model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat
Note: Since the group author of ChatGPT is also the publisher, you do not list a publisher in the reference list entry. If you were to use a generative AI program with specific authors that differed from the publisher, you would list the publisher name just before the URL.
For audiovisual media, instead of including an Author in the author portion of the reference entry, you include the individual considered most responsible for the work. Depending on the type of work, the role this individual inhabits will change. For ease of use, we have noted the role of the individual that should be listed in the Author space for each type of audiovisual source. Remember, if the person(s) being noted as the "Author(s)" in the source fill a different role than that of author, you must include the role that individual filled, in parentheses, after their name.
Use when creating a reference entry for a film, documentary, or other video. For a single episode from a television or similar series, see below.
For a film or video, the director should be credited as the author. If the director is unknown, someone in a similar role can be credited instead.
After the title, in square brackets, give a description of the medium of the source. In this case, it would be "Film." In these same square brackets, separated by a semicolon, you may also include the format in which you watched the film, if the format is significant for your work (e.g. if the format includes a re-edited version of the films, additional audio tracks such as commentary, etc. . .).
Major feature films may have more than one production company attached to them. In those cases, list all of the production companies, separating each with a semicolon (e. g. WingNut Films; The Saul Zaentz Company).
NOTE: Unless a film can be reliably retrieved from a non-subscription database online, you should not include a URL at the end of the citation.
Format:
Director Surname, Initial(s). (Director). (Year Released). Film title [Film]. Production Company.
Example 1:
Lucas, G. (Director). (1977). Star wars [Film]. Lucasfilm.
Example 2 (A film where the format is included due to an alternate edit of the film):
Lucas, G. (Director). (1977). Star wars: A new hope [Film; 2011 special ed. on Blu-ray]. Lucasfilm.
Use this format when creating a reference entry for an entire televisions series.
For a television series the executive producer should be credited as the author. Add "Executive Producer" in parentheses after their name. When there are multiple executive producers, follow the standard APA rules for multiple authors, and add "Executive Producers" in parentheses after the last name.
When the series spans multiple years, separate the years with an "en" dash. If the series is still airing as of the writing of your paper, replace the second year with the word "present" (e.g. 2015-present).
Format:
Executive Producer Surname, Initial(s) (Executive Producer). (Year(s) Released). Television series title [TV series]. Production Company/Distributor.
Example:
Schur, M., Miner, D., Sackett, M., & Goddard, D. (Executive Producers). (2016-present). The Good Place [TV series]. Fremulon; 3 Arts Entertainment; Universal Television.
Use this format when creating a reference entry for a specific episode of a television series.
For a television episode, list the writer and director of the episode (in that order) as the authors. Place "Writer" in parentheses after the writer's name and "Director in parentheses after the director's name. If one person filled both roles, place both roles together in parentheses after that person's name, with an "&" between them (e.g. (Writer & Director)).
If possible, include the Season and Episode numbers in parentheses after the title of the episode.
Format:
Writer Surname, Initial(s). (Writer), & Director Surname, Initial(s). (Director). (Year, Month Day Released). Episode title (Season number, Episode number) [TV series episode]. In Producer First Initials Last Name (Executive producer), Series title. Production Company.
Example:
Black, A. (Writer), Landis, M. (Writer), & Cabezas, P. (Director). (2016, December 10). Two sane guys doing normal things (Season 1, Episode 8) [TV series episode]. In D. Parisot, D. Alpert, R. Jacobs, T. Adams, D. Ozer, A. E. David, Z. Aminullah, R. C. Cooper, & M. Landis (Executive Producers), Dirk Gently's holistic detective agency. UTMK Limited; Ideate Media; IDW Entertainment; Circle of Confusion; AMC Studios.
Use when creating a reference entry for a streaming video found on YouTube or other similar streaming video service. Do not use for a film or television episode that you viewed on a subscription streaming service, such as Netflix or Amazon Prime.
For a streaming video, the person or group who uploaded the video is credited as the author of the entry. Use a username if the uploader's real name is not available. If both the person's real name and their username are available, list the person's surname, initials, follow by the username in square brackets.
Format:
Uploader surname, Initial(s) [Username, if available]. (Year, Month Day Released). Video title [Video]. Streaming Video Platform. URL
Example 1:
Fogarty, M. [Grammar Girl]. (2016, October 23). How 6 fonts got their names [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/ZKqHTIv7U34
Example 2 (If the uploader is a username or a group):
CrashCourse. (2012, November 29). Of Pentameter & Bear Baiting - Romeo & Juliet Part I: Crash Course English Literature #2 [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/I4kz-C7GryY
Use when creating a reference entry for an entire musical album.
For recordings of a classical work, use the composer as the author. After the title, note the name of the individual or group who recorded the version you used in square brackets, preceded by "Album recorded by". Provide the publication date for the version you used, and then provide the year of the original composition in parentheses at the end of the reference, using "Orignal work published Year" format. Use "ca." before the date if it is an approximate date.
For all other recordings, provide the name of the recording artist or group as the author.
After the title, place "Album" in square brackets.
It is usually not necessary to specify how you listened to the album (e.g. iTunes, Spotify, CD, etc. . .). It may be included in square brackets, following "Album" and a semicolon, if the version you used is significant to your work.
Format:
Composer Surname, Initials. (Year of publication). Title of album [Album recorded by Recording Artist(s)]. Music Label. (Original work published Year)
Example:
Bach, J. S. (1968). Sonatas and partitas for solo violin [Album recorded by H. Szeryng]. Deutsche Grammophon. (Original work published 1720)
Format:
Recording Artist Surname, Initials. (Year of publication). Title of album [Album]. Music Label.
Example:
Lipa, D. (2017). Dua Lipa [Album]. Warner Bros.
Use when creating a reference entry for an entire single song or single audio track.
For recordings of a classical work, use the composer as the author. After the title, note the name of the individual or group who recorded the version you used in square brackets, preceded by "Song recorded by". Provide the publication date for the version you used, and then provide the year of the original composition in parentheses at the end of the reference, using "Orignal work published Year" format. Use "ca." before the date if it is an approximate date.
For all other recordings, provide the name of the recording artist or group as the author.
After the title, place "Song" in square brackets.
For a song or track that has no associated album, omit the "album portion of the reference.
It is usually not necessary to specify how you listened to the song (e.g. iTunes, Spotify, CD, etc. . .). It may be included in square brackets, following "Album" and a semicolon, if the version you used is significant to your work.
Format:
Composer Surname, Initials. (Year of publication). Song title [Song recorded by Recording Artist(s)] . On Title of album. Music Label.
Example:
Bach, J. S. (1968). Sonata no 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 [Song recorded by H. Szeryng]. On Sonatas and partitas for solo violin. Deutsche Grammophon. (Original work published 1720)
Format:
Recording artist Surname, Initials. (Year of publication). Song title [Song]. On Title of album. Music Label.
Example:
Mangan, D. (2009). Robots [Song]. On Nice, nice, very nice. Arts & Crafts Productions.
Use when creating a reference entry for an entire podcast series.
List the host(s) of the podcast as the author(s). Alternatively, provide the executive producers, if known. Include their roles ("Host" or "Executive Producer") in parentheses after their names.
Specify the type of podcast ("Audio podcast" or "Video podcast") in square brackets after the title of the podcast. Include a URL link to the podcast through the podcast's website, if known.
When the podcast spans multiple years, separate the years with an "en" dash. If the podcast series is still airing as of the writing of your pape, replace the second year with the word "present" (e.g. 2012-present).
Format:
Host or Executive Producer Surname, Initials (Podcaster or Executive Producer). (Year(s) of publication). Title of Podcast [Audio podcast or Video podcast]. Production company. URL
Example:
McElroy, J., McElroy, T., McElroy, G., & McElroy, C. (Hosts). (2014-Present). The Adventure Zone [Audio podcast]. Maximum Fun. https://maximumfun.org/podcasts/adventure-zone/
Use when creating a reference entry for a single episode of a podcast.
List the host(s) of the podcast episode as the author(s). Alternatively, provide the executive producers, if known. Include their roles ("Host" or "Executive Producer") in parentheses after their names.
Specify the type of podcast ("Audio podcast episode" or "Video podcast episode") in square brackets after the title of the podcast episode. Include a URL link to the specific episode of the podcast through the podcast's website, if available. Do not link through a specific podcast provider (e.g. Apple Podcasts, Spotify, etc. . . ), unless the podcast is exclusively available through the provider.
Format:
Host or Executive Producer Surname, Initials (Host or Executive Producer). (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of podcast episode [Audio podcast episode]. In Title of Podcast. Production company. URL
Example:
Goldman, A., & Vogt, P. J. (2019, April 25) Adam Pisces and the $2 Coke [Audio podcast episode]. In Reply All. Gimlet Media. https://gimletmedia.com/shows/reply-all/z3hgd2/141-adam-pisces-and-the-2-coke
Use when creating a reference entry for a work of art, either that you viewed at a museum on through a museum's website.
Use the artist's surname and initials in place of the author in the entry. Do not add annotation to identify them as an artist and not an author. This is because you will be adding a description later in the entry that identifies the entry as a work of art.
For the year of creation, include a range of years if the artist worked on the piece for over a year's worth of time. Include "ca." before the year if the exact year of creation is only approximately known.
After the title, include a description of the type of work, in square brackets. eg: [Oil on canvas]
For works that do not have a title, include a description of the work, in square brackets, instead.
When you list the name of the museum, also list the city in which the museum is location, as well as the abbreviated state name (if available), and the country. eg: The Louvre, Paris, France.
Format:
Artist Surname, Initial(s). (Year or range of years of creation). Title of artwork [Type of work]. Museum, City, Abbreviated State or Province, Country. URL if viewable through website
Example:
Fremiet, E. (ca. 1897). St. Michael Slaying the Dragon [Copper statue]. Musée d'Orsay, Paris, France. https://www.musee-orsay.fr/en/collections/index-of-works/notice.html?no_cache=1&nnumid=15274
Use when creating a reference entry specifically for just a photograph in your work. If images are part of a larger work you are citing (e.g. an article or a book), it is not necessary to create a separate entry for the photographs, even if you wish to reference them in your work.
Use the photographer's Surname and Initials in place of an author in the entry. Do not add annotation to identify them as a photographer and not an author. This is because you will be adding a description later in the entry that identifies the entry as a photograph.
After the title fo the photograph, include the description "Photograph" or "Photograph series," in square brackets.
If the photographs have not official title, include a description that begins with "Photograph of" or "Photograph series of," followed by a concise description of the contents of the photograph or series.
The source title will be the name of the website where you retrieved the photograph. It is not necessary to list the owner of the website as the publisher. Do not italicize the name of the website.
NOTE: Google Image Search should never be used as a "source" for an image. It is a search engine, and none of the images are hosted by Google Image Search itself. Instead, click on the image you wish to use, and follow it through to the original source.
Format:
Photographer Surname, Initial(s). (Year of creation). Title of photograph [Photograph or Photograph series]. Title of source website. URL if viewable through website
Example:
Ackerman, J., & Gruber, T. (2019). Sal Thegal dressed like a hot dog at the Minnesota State Fair on Friday, August 23, 2019 [Photograph]. National Geographic. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/photography/best-pictures-2019/#/mm9177_190823_00709.jpg
Use when creating a reference entry for a PowerPoint file or official lecture notes.
For PowerPoint slides, after the title of the slides, add "PowerPoint slides," in square brackets.
For lecture notes, instead of an official title, give the description "Lecture notes on" and the topic of the lecture, in square brackets.
If the PowerPoint slides or lecture notes come from Omnivox, add "Omnivox: Marianopolis College" as the publisher. Add the URL link to the login page to the end of the reference entry.
If the PowerPoint slides or lecture notes were distributed as handouts, use the department of the course and "Marianopolis College" as the publisher (e.g. Department of Mathematics, Marianopolis College) as the publisher.
Format (PowerPoint slides):
Lecturer Surname, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of PowerPoint Presentation [PowerPoint slides]. Publisher. URL
Example (PowerPoint slides):
Flanagan, M. (2015). Advanced Library Research Skills [PowerPoint slides]. Omnivox: Marianopolis College. http://marianopolis.omnivox.ca
Format (Lecture notes):
Lecturer Surname, Initial(s). (Year, Month Day of publication). [PowerPoint slides]. Publisher. URL
Example (Lecture notes):
Flanagan, M. (2015, March 22). [Lecture notes on research techniques]. Omnivox: Marianopolis College. http://marianopolis.omnivox.ca
Use whenever you wish to create a reference entry for a specific tweet from Twitter.
To create a title for the tweet, use up to the first 20 words of a tweet, in italics.
If the tweet includes images, gifs, videos, links to outside sources, links to other tweets, or a poll, indicate that in square brackets after the tweet. For tweet replies, do not include "replying to" information.
Replicate all emojis if possible.
Format:
User's Real Surname, Initial(s). or Group user's name [@twitterhandle]. (Year, Month Day of publication). Up to 20 words of the original tweet [Description of audiovisuals if necessary] [Tweet]. Twitter. URL.
Example:
Miranda, L.-M. [@Lin-Manuel]. (2019, December 19). Move out of the way, I have to pee so bad it’s SHAKING MY BONES. -my son this morning [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/Lin_Manuel/status/1207654022095818753
Use whenever you wish to create a reference entry for an entire Twitter profile.
Instead of providing a date of publication, put "n.d." for "No date" where the date of publication would normally go. Include "Retrieved from" and the Month Day, Year, followed by "from" and the url for the profile at the end of the entry. This is because the "last published" date is constantly changing with every tweet the user publishes.
Twitter profiles have several tabs, the default being "Tweets." Therefor, the default title of the entry should always be "Tweets [Twitter profile]." If you need to specifically reference one of the other tabs, such as "Media," substitute that tab name for "Tweets" in the title.
Replicate all emojis used in the name of the Twitter user, if possible.
Format:
User's Real Surname, Initial(s). or Group user's name [@twitterhandle]. (n.d.). Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved on Month Day, Year from URL.
Example:
Miranda, L.-M. [@Lin-Manuel]. (n.d.). Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved on December 20, 2019 from https://twitter.com/Lin_Manuel
Use whenever you want to create a reference entry for a single Facebook post.
Unlike many other forms of social media, an alternate username is not also listed for Facebook posts. While Facebook usernames exist on the platform, they are only used for url-shortening purposes, and thus do not need to be included in the reference entry.
To create a title for the post, include up to the first 20 words of the text of the post, in italics.
If the post includes images, gifs, videos, links to outside sources, links to other posts, or content from another Facebook post, indicate that in square brackets after the title of the post.
Replicate all emojis, if possible.
NOTE: APA states that this general format can be used for any social media that uses a similar posting format as Facebook, such as Tumblr, LinkedIn, etc. . .
Format:
User's Last Name, First Initial(s) or Group user's name. (Year, Month Day of publication). Up to 20 words of the text of the original post [Description of audiovisuals, if necessary] [Status update]. Facebook. URL.
Example:
Gaiman, N. (2019, April 1). It's the umbrella. Gets me every time [Image attached] [Status update]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/pg/neilgaiman/posts/10156096023966016
Use whenever you want to create a reference for a specific Facebook page.
Unlike many other forms of social media, an alternate username is not also listed for Facebook posts. While Facebook usernames exist on the platform, they are only used for url-shortening purposes, and thus do not need to be included in the reference entry.
Use the page title for the title of your entry (e.g. Home or Timeline). Add the description "Facebook page" in square brackets after the title.
Instead of providing a date of publication, put "n.d." for "No date" where the date of publication would normally go. Include "Retrieved from" and the Month Day, Year, followed by "from" and the url for the profile at the end of the entry. This is because the "last published" date is constantly changing with each update made to a Facebook page.
NOTE: APA states that this general format can be used for any social media that uses a similar page format as Facebook, such as Tumblr, LinkedIn, Instagram (profile only), etc. . .
Format:
User's Last Name, First Initial(s) or Group user's name. (n.d.). Title of page [Facebook page]. Facebook. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL.
Example:
Gaiman, N. (n.d.). Home [Facebook page]. Facebook. Retrieved December 20, 2019, from https://www.facebook.com/neilgaiman/
Use whenever you want to create a reference entry for a photo, video, or reel posted on Instagram.
To create a title for the post, include up to the first 20 words of the text of the post, in italics. After the title, insert the description "Photograph" or "Video" in square brackets, as appropriate. For the purposes of citation an Instagram reel should be cited as a "Video." If the post consists of a series of photos, place "Photographs" instead.
Replicate all emojis, if possible.
Format:
User's Surname, Initial(s) or Group user's name. [@instagramusername]. (Year, Month Day of publication). First 20 words of the photo or video caption [Photograph or Video]. Instagram. URL.
Example:
Marianopolis College Library [@marianopolis_college_library]. (2019, March 26). Need a break from work? The Library has several Sudoku puzzles up on the Main Floor! #fun #takeabreak #sudoku [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/BveOaI-h84o/?
Use whenever you want to create a reference entry for an Instagram highlight. Highlights are permanently pinned collections of Instagram stories. Only ever reference stories that have been made into highlights by users. Do not make reference entries for other stories, as they are designed to be temporary, meaning they will be irretrievable by anyone more than 24 hours after they were posted.
For the date of publication, list "n.d." for "no date." This is because a user can update their highlights at any time, changing their composition. Instead, at the end of the entry, insert "Retrieved" followed by the date, followed by "from" and the URL for the Highlight.
Use the highlight title as the title for your reference. Insert the description "Highlight" in square brackets after the title.
Format:
User's Surname, Initial(s). or Group user's name [@instagramusername]. (n.d.). Title of highlight [Highlight]. Instagram. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL.
Example:
The New York Public Library [@nypl]. (n.d.). YellowWallpaper [Highlight]. Instagram. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://www.instagram.com/stories/highlights/17969720977115469/
Note: When citing specific information from a page on a website, APA 7th edition asks you to create a separate entry for the page from which you took the information. This means that, if you are taking information from multiple pages on the same website, you will need to create a Reference entry for each page used. You cannot use a single entry to cover the entire website.
If you are just referencing a website as a whole and not citing specific information from any of the pages on the site, you do not include the website in the list of references. Instead, mention the website in your text, followed by the URL for the website in parentheses.
Use when creating a reference entry for an article found on a news website that is not connected to a newspaper, magazine, or other periodical publication. For online versions of articles from periodical publications, see the examples in List of references: textual works: periodical articles.
For the date of publication, include the most exact date possible to the day, in the "Year, Month Day" format.
Include the news source as the publisher after the title.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year, Month Day posted). News article title. News source. URL
Example:
Szeto, W. (2019, December 23). B.C. shop owner "surprised" he's in guide that colour codes businesses to support Hong Kong protests. CBC News. https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/bc-develops-shopping-guide-to-support-hong-kong-protests-1.5405923
Use when creating a reference entry for any page from a website that is not a news website, online reference source (e.g. online dictionary, encyclopedia, or wiki), or a blog.
For the date of publication, include the most exact date possible to the day, in the "Year, Month Day" format.
Include the name of the website as the publisher, after the title.
Format:
Author Surname, Initial(s). (Year, Month Day posted). Title of page. Name of website. URL
Example:
Peterson, S. M. (2016, November 30). 3 ways to get closer to achieving your goals. Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health/in-depth/ways-get-closer-achieving-goals/art-20267230
Use when creating a reference for a page from a website that is not a news website, online reference source (e.g. online dictionary, encyclopedia, or wiki), or a blog, and which has a group author named instead of an individual.
Generally, cite the page as you would a page written by an individual author (see above), but omit the name of the website if it is the same as the group author. This will be the case for most pages written by group authors.
Format:
Group author name(s). (Year, Month Day posted). Title of page. Name of website (if not the same as group author). URL
Example (Group author is the same as the name of the website):
Health Canada (2019, November 29). Consider the consequences of vaping. https://www.canada.ca/en/services/health/campaigns/vaping.html
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style, Seventh edition by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The official guide to APA style, 7th edition, published by the American Psychological Association, is the authoritative guide to APA style. It is designed to be used by anyone that uses APA style in their work, from students to researchers. However, there are specific sections in the guide that detail the streamlined formatting that should be used for student work. Copies of the Publication Manual are available at the Reserve Desk in the Library.
All original content in the Marianopolis College Library LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.