Citation Styles Guide: Footnotes and endnotes - examples

Academic journal articles and magazine articles are covered in section 14.67 to 14.88 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

A journal article (in print only)

Use the following format for any journal article you find in print only.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): Page number.

Full note example:

1. Lilia Shevtsova, “The Next Russian Revolution,” Current History 111, no. 747 (2012): 252.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Shevtsova, "'The Next Russian Revolution,'" 253.

A journal article (with a DOI)

Chicago prefers that you include a DOI, or Digital Object Identifier, for a journal article whenever possible. DOIs are unique number systems that are assigned to individual articles to make them easily findable by anyone. Usually, they will start with a 10, followed by a period, followed by a unique string of numbers and letters. When including a DOI in a Chicago-style note, add "https://doi.org/" to the beginning of the DOI if it is not already present. This turns the DOI into a usable URL that will take the reader to an online version of the article. Only include the DOI in the full version of a note and in the bibliography.

Full note format:

1. Author(s)  First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): Page number, https://doi.org/DOI.

Full note example:

1. Susan M. Ryan, “Stowe, Byron, and the Art of Scandal,” American Literature 83, no. 1 (2011): 61-62, https://doi.org/10.1215/00029831-2010-063.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Ryan, "Stowe, Byron," 63.

A journal article (electronic, no DOI, from an open, online source)

When a journal article doesn't have a DOI but can be found for free online (for example, from an open access journal), include a stable URL link to the article. 

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): Page number, URL.

Full note example:

1. John D. Niles, “Editing Beowulf: What Can Study of the Ballads Tell Us?” Oral Tradition 9, no. 2 (1994): 441, http://journal.oraltradition.org/files/articles/9ii/13_niles.pdf.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Niles, "Editing Beowulf," 444.

A journal article (electronic, no DOI, from a library subscription database)

If you use an article from one of the Library's subscription journal databases and that article does not have a DOI, Chicago recommends including the name of the database instead of a stable URL link to the article. This is because a link to an article in a database will only work for anyone that has access to that specific database, and usually only after they have logged in to the database. Listing the name of the database instead makes it easier for your reader to figure out where to go to find the article. The title of the database is not placed in italics, and is not included in the shortened version of the note.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): Page number, Name of Database.

Full note example:

1. Anne Larsen, "'[Dieu] se Servit de Jeanne d'Arc': The Textual Public Identity of Mining Engineer Martine de Bertereau, Baronne de Beausoleil (ca. 1590-1643)," Michigan Academician 48, no. 1 (2021): 42, EBSCOhost.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Larsen, "''[Dieu] se Servit,''" 41.

A journal article (electronic, published using a continuous publishing model)

Some journals, such as the well-known Public Library of Science One (PLoS One), have adopted what is called a "continuous publishing model," which is a format in which each article is assigned a unique ID and is considered final the moment it is published online. These articles are often given their own internal page numbering, restarting at 1 with each article. As a result, Chicago recommends including the ID in the footnote and bibliographic entry whenever possible.
To find the article ID, check the first page of the PDF of the article. These IDs are only standardized within the journal itself, and can look completely different from journal to journal, but are often labeled clearly on the page. You do not need to include a DOI or hyperlink in the note, although it is included in the bibliography. It is also not necessary to include an article ID in the shortened note.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name(s), “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume number, no. Issue number (Year of publication): Page number, Article ID.

Full note example:

1. Fatema Binte Alam et al., “'RVCNet: A Hybrid Deep Neural Network Framework for the Diagnosis of Lung Diseases,” PLoS ONE 18, no. 12 (2023): 2, e0293125.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Alam et al., "'RVCNet,'" 7.

A magazine article

when citing articles from popular, non-academic magazines, you use a very similar format to academic journal articles. The only exception is that weekly, monthly, or bimonthly magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only.

For magazine articles found on subscription databases, use the format below, with the addition of the title of the database at the end of the full note citation.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Magazine Title, Date of publication, Year of publication, Page number.

Full note example:

1. David Fears, “An A-List Sister Act Reunites,” Rolling Stone, October 2024, 14.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Fears, "'A-List Sister Act,'" 16.

Newspapers and news websites are covered in sections 14.89 to 14.98 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

A newspaper article (in print)

Use the following format for any newspaper article you find in print.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Newspaper Title, Date of publication, Year of publication, Page number.

Full note example:

1. Andrea Woo, “How Sam Benastick Survived 50 Days in the Northern B.C. Wilderness,” The Globe and Mail, December 19, 2024, A8.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Woo, "How Sam Benastick Survived," A9.

A newspaper article (from a subscription database)

Use the following format for a newspaper article found in a subscription database, such as the Library's Canadian Major Dailies, or Eureka databases. As with a subscription journal database, Chicago recommends including the name of the database as the end of the full note instead of a URL. Do not include the name of the database in the shortened note.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Newspaper Title, Date of publication, Year of publication, Page number (if available), Name of Database.

Full note example:

1. Dan Fumano, “Cash, Canucks Help City Land 'Tech Olympics,'” The Vancouver Sun, June 15, 2024, A12, ProQuest: Canadian Major Dailies.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article," Page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Fumano, "Cash, Canucks," A12.

An online news article (from a free, online website)

Use the following format for a news article found on a free online website, whether it is the website for a newspaper (e.g. The Globe and Mail, or The Gazette), television or radio news sources (e.e. the CBC News or Radio-Canada websites) or an online-only news source (e.g. The Huffington Post). As news sites may update certain stories as they develop, it can be useful to include a time stamp for an article if it includes one. Also include a URL link to the article whenever possible.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Newspaper Title, Date of publication, Year of publication, Time Stamp with Time Zone (whenever possible), URL.

Full note example:

1. Aura Carreno Rosas, “Theodore Tugboat Replica 'Safely Righted and Refloated' in Ontario Port, Says Owner,'” CBC News, December 19, 2024, 5:49 p.m. EST, https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/hamilton/theodore-tugboat-safely-righted-1.7415557.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article."

Shortened note example:

1. Rosas, "Theodore Tugboat."

Websites, blogs, and social media are covered in sections 14.103 to 14.106 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

A page from a website

Use the following format when citing any page from a website. Even if you are using multiple pages from a single website, each page used should be cited separately in your notes in order to make it clear to your reader exactly where your information came from.

When citing a website, a specific published, updated, or last modified date is preferred. If only a copyright date is available on the page, included instead the date when you last accessed the website.

Note: Names of websites, unlike other types of resources are NOT italicized.

Note: Blogs or articles from online news sources are cited differently from pages on general websites. See below for details.

Full note format:

1.“Title or Description of Specific Web Page,” Title or Description of Website, Owner or Sponsor of website, updated/last modified/accessed Month Day, Year, URL.

Full note example:

1. "iPhone: Designed to Be Loved," Apple Canada, Apple Inc., accessed December 20, 2024, https://www.apple.com/ca/iphone/.

Shortened note format:

1. "Short Title or Description of Specific Web Page," Short Title or Description of Web Site.

Shortened note example:

1. "iPhone," Apple Canada.

A blog post

A blog is a website consisting of a series of posted entries organized by date or topic. Often entries carry individual titles and are signed by an author. Because the author can be significant when citing an individual blog entry, a blog is treated differently in notes than a page on a general website. In addition, unlike a general website, titles of blogs are italicized. If the blog is part of a larger publication (e.g. The New York Times), you should also include the name of that publication, in italics.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) of Blog Post First Name Last Name, “Title or Blog Post,” Title of Blog, Title of Larger Publication (if relevant), Month Day, Year Posted, URL.

Full note example:

1. Allan Metcalf, "Appalachian English," Lingua Franca, The Chronicle of Higher Education, October 16, 2017, http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2017/10/16/appalachian-english/.

Shortened note format:

1. Blog Author(s) Last Name, "Short Title of Blog Post."

Shortened note example:

1. Metcalf, "Appalachian English."

A social media post

You can cite publicly available content shared via any social media platform according to the following guidelines. You should prefer the real name of a poster whenever possible, followed by the screen name in parentheses. However, if a real name is not available, the screen name may be used in place of a real name. Since social media posts rarely have formal titles, provide enough text of the original post as the title to identify it (up to 280 characters, including spaces, and retaining emojis).

Private content, including direct messages not visible to anyone outside of the immediate conversation, is instead considered to be personal communication, and should be cited as such. See below for details.

Note: Chicago instructs that Twitter content posted before the company's 2023 rebranding as X does not need to be updated to refer to the new name, although the information may be provided parenthetically.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) of Post's First Name Last Name (Screen Name), "Text of the post (up to 280 characters, including spaces)," Name of Social Media Platform and descriptor of post type (if necessary), Month Day, Year posted, URL.

Full note example:

1. Craig Ferguson (@CraigyFerg), "Ack! Accidentally swallowed a fly. Looking for spider & hoping this doesn’t lead to crazy run of binge eating," Twitter (now X), October 18, 2017, https://twitter.com/CraigyFerg/status/920734804957569024.

Shortened note format:

1. Author(s) of Post's Last Name, "Short version of tweet."

Shortened note example:

1. Ferguson, "Ack! Accidentally swallowed."

Reference articles are covered in sections 14.130 to 14.132 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

Unsigned reference articles

Many reference articles, especially shorter articles, will not have an author attributed to them. These are normally called "unsigned articles." When creating a note for an unsigned reference article, you usually reference the title of the entire work first, and then list "under" and the title of the specific article that was consulted. In previous editions, Chicago recommended the use of the Latin abbreviation "s.v." for "sub verbo" = "under the word." This is no longer recommended.

An unsigned reference article (print)

For unsigned reference articles in print, use the following format for notes.

Full note format:

1.Title of Reference Work, ed. Editor(s) First Name Last Name, edition if not the first (Publisher, Year of publication), under “Title of Article.”

Full note example:

1. Dictionary of the Middle Ages, ed. Joseph R. Strayer (Scribner, 1983), under “Church, Early.”

Shortened note format:

1. Shortened Title of Reference Work, under "Title of Article."

Shortened note example:

1. Dictionary of the Middle Ages, under "Church, Early."

An unsigned reference article (online)

For an unsigned reference article, include a last modified date for the particular article. If this is not available, include the date you last accessed the article. Edition numbers are usually unnecessary for continuously updated resources. The facts of publication (publisher, editor, etc. . . ) is ofter omitted. Always include a stable URL to the specific entry referenced in the full note. A shortened note, used only for repeated reference to a reference work, does not need the URL.

Note format:

1. Title of Reference Work, “Title of Article,” last modified Month Day, Year modified OR accessed Month Day, Year accessed, URL for entry.

Note example:

1. A Dictionary of World History, “French Revolution (1789),” last modified 2015, http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199685691.001.0001/acref-9780199685691-e-1383.

Shortened note format:

1. Title of Reference Work, "Shortened Title of Article."

Shortened note example:

1. A Dictionary of World History, "French Revolution (1789)."

Signed reference articles

Unlike unsigned reference articles, signed reference articles (detailed articles with specific, named authors) start their notes with the author of the article, as with most other references in Chicago.

A signed reference article (print)

A signed reference article is any article from a reference work that is signed by an individual author. Usually the author will be listed at the very end of the article, and you will usually only see signed articles in reference works that have long, detailed entries that include interpretation. A signed reference article is cited much in the same way as a chapter in an edited book. Unlike a chapter in an edited book, however, since reference articles are usually arranged alphabetically according the the title of the article in the book itself, it is not necessary to include page numbers.

Full note format:

1. Reference Article Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Reference Article Title,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor(s) First Name Last Name, edition if not the first (Publisher, Year of publication).

Full note example:

1. Angela D. Hickey, “The Great Gatsby,” in Masterplots, ed. Laurence W. Mazzeno, 4th ed. (Salem Press, 2011).

Shortened note format:

1. Reference Article Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Reference Article Title."

Shortened note example:

1. Hickey, "The Great Gatsby."

A signed reference article (online)

A signed article from an online reference source should also include a "last modified" date for the article in addition to any publication date for the general work, if available. If a last modified date is available, it is not necessary to include a date accessed. This should be followed by a stable URL link to the article. The shortened note, used only for repeated reference to that particular signed article in the reference work, does not need the URL.

Note format:

1. Reference Article Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Reference Article Title,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor(s) First Name Last Name, edition if not the first (Publisher, Year of publication), last modified Month Day, Year modified, URL for entry.

Note example:

1. John Baffes, "Coffee Industry," in International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, ed.  William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2008), http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=west99811&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CCX3045300372&it=r&asid=8303a5ab0320e6bde754fd9b84a12c51.

Shortened note format:

1. Reference Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Article."

Shortened note example:

1. Baffes, "Coffee Industry."

Films, television series and episodes, and other types of videorecordings are covered in sections 14.165 and 14.167 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

A feature film or documentary (Blu-ray, DVD, or VHS)

Unlike when citing a film or documentary in a bibliography, where you begin a film entry with the name(s) of the director(s), you begin a note for a feature film or documentary with the title of the film. Include both the original release date of the film as well as the release date of the version of the film that you used. This is to distinguish between different releases of the film that may have included different special features. Also include the format on which you viewed the film.

Full note format:

1. Title of Film or Documentary, directed by Director First Name(s) Last Name(s) (Original Release Date of the film; Distributor, Release Date of the copy you viewed), Format.

Full note example:

1. Breathless, directed by Jean-Luc Godard (1960; Criterion, 2007), DVD.

Shortened note format:

1. Shortened Title of Film or Documentary.

Shortened note example:

1. Breathless.

A feature film or documentary (electronic file or streamed from an online database)

For a film or documentary that was either purchased as an electronic file from a source such as iTunes or Google Play, or streamed from an online database such as Netflix, Films on Demand or Criterion On-Demand, the citation format is relatively similar to the one used for a film on DVD or Blu-ray. For the format, include the name of the database or online store, in italics, along with the word "video." Then include a URL link to where you viewed or purchased the film.

Full note format:

1. Title of Film or Documentary, directed by Director First Name(s) Last Name(s) (Distributor, Original Release Date of Film), URL for film on streaming database.

Full note example:

1. The NeverEnding Story, directed by Wolfgang Petersen (Warner Brothers, 1984), https://media3.criterionpic.com/htbin/wwform/006?T=W84319.

Shortened note format:

1. Shortened Title of Film or Documentary.

Shortened note example:

1. The NeverEnding Story.

A single chapter from a feature film or documentary

If you are citing a specific named or numbered scene from a film or documentary, you may treat it in the same way that you would treat a chapter from a book.

Note: The example below is for a film on DVD. For a film purchased electronically or streamed from an online database, use the same basic format, a URL link to the film in your note, just as you would if you were citing the entire film.

Full note format:

1. "Title of Chapter," Title of Film or Documentary, directed by Director(s) First Name Last Name (Original Release Date of the film; Distributor, Release Date of Blu-ray or DVD copy), Format.

Full note example:

1. "Ham and Eggs," Breathless, directed by Jean-Luc Godard (1960; Criterion, 2007), DVD.

Shortened note format:

1. "Shortened Title of Chapter."

Shortened note example:

1. "Ham and Eggs."

A television episode (Blu-ray, DVD or VHS)

When citing an episode of a television series, cite the series first, then the season or series number and episode number, followed by the name of the episode.

Whenever possible, the original air date of the episode as well as the television channel where it originally aired is also included in the note.

Full note format:

1. Title of Series, season or series number, episode number, "Title of Episode," directed by Episode Director First Name(s) Last Name(s), aired Month Day, Year aired, on Channel Where Episode Aired (Distributor, Release Date of Blu-ray, DVD or VHS copy), Format.

Full note example:

1. The Mighty Boosh, series 2, episode 1, "Call of the Yeti," directed by Paul King, aired July 25, 2005, on BBC Two (BBC, 2006), DVD.

Shortened note format:

1. Shortened Series Title, "Shortened Episode Title."

Shortened note example:

1. The Mighty Boosh, "The Call of the Yeti."

A television episode (electronic file or streamed from an online database)

Episodes that are purchased from an online source such as iTunes or Google Play or streamed from an online database such as Netflix are treated the same way as an episode from television series on DVD, with a few changes. For the format, include the name of the online store or database, in italics, followed by the word "video." Include a URL at the end of the citation.

Note: For television episodes that originated on an online streaming database such as Netflix, there is no need to include an "aired date." Instead, simply include the year of release.

Full note format:

1. Title of Series, season or series number, episode number, "Title of Episode," directed by Episode Director(s) First Name Last Name, aired date (Distributor, Year of Release on online store or streaming database), Title of Database or Online Store video, URL.

Full note example:

1. Stranger Things, season 1, episode 3, "Chapter Three: Holly, Jolly," directed by Shawn Levy (Netflix, 2016), Netflix Canada video, https://www.netflix.com/ca/title/80057281.

Shortened note format:

1. Shortened Series Title, "Shortened Episode Title."

Shortened note example:

1. Stranger Things, "Chapter Three: Holly Jolly."

A video clip (YouTube)

Use this for any video clip found on YouTube or a a similar video hosting site online.

Full note format:

1. “Clip Title,” media type, posted Month Day, Year posted, by person or organization who posted content, Hosting Website Title, playing time, URL.

Full note example:

1. “Like Pale Gold - The Great Gatsby Part 1: Crash Course English Literature #4," video, posted December 13, 2012, by CrashCourse, YouTube, 11 min., 42 sec., https://youtu.be/xw9Au9OoN88?si=ViIUS9g3yBzW9lQE.

Shortened note format:

1. "Shortened Clip Title."

Shortened note example:

1. "Like Pale Gold."

Course materials, including course packs, handouts, and lectures, are covered in sections 14.9, 14.22, and 14.115 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

A work in a coursepack

Treat a work in a coursepack the same as if it was a chapter in an edited book. For coursepacks, the editor will always be the teacher for that course, as they are the ones who have selected and arranged the works in the coursepack.

Full note format:

1. Chapter Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Coursepack, ed. Teacher First Name Last Name (Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Full note example:

1. Tobias Wolff, “Bullet in the Brain,” in ENG-101-MQ: Introduction to College English, ed. Nicolas Carrier (Eastman, 2024), 6.

Shortened note format:

1. Chapter Author Last Name, "Shortened Chapter Title," page number.

Shortened note example:

1. Wolff, "Bullet in the Brain," 5.

A class handout

Use this format for handouts distributed in class or through Omnivox. For any handout that cites an original source (e.g. a short story from a book), cite it as if it was read in the original source instead.

Full note format:

1. Author(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Handout,” Class handout, Date Distributed, file format (for electronic files only).

Note example:

1. Amy MacLean, "Preparing a Bibliography, Chicago Style," Class handout, September 23, 2013, PDF.

Shortened note format

1. Author(s) Last Name, "Shortened Title of Handout."

Shortened note example

1. MacLean, "Preparing a Bibliography."

A class lecture

This format may be used when citing a live lecture. If you are citing a recording of a lecture, cite it as a video.

Full note format:

1. Lecturer(s) First Name Last Name, “Title of Lecture,” Format of Lecture, Location of Lecture, City of Lecture, Abbreviated Province or State of Lecture, Date of Lecture.

Full note example:

1. Matthew Flanagan, "Academic Integrity and Citation: Taking Responsibility for Your Work," PowerPoint Presentation, Marianopolis College, Westmount, QC, August 28, 2024.

Shortened note format:

1. Lecturer(s) Last Name, “Title of Lecture.”

Shortened note example:

1. Flanagan, "Academic Integrity."

Any kind of artwork or still images are covered in section 14.133 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

An image or work of art that exists on its own

This includes any painting, photo, sculpture, etc. . . that you saw in its original form (e.g. on display in a museum or art gallery).

Full note format:

1. Artist(s) First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork, Year Created, Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable), Museum or Gallery that owns the piece, collection object or reference number (if available).

Full note example:

1. Auguste Rodin, The Sirens, 1887-1888, Marble, 44.5 x 45.7 x 27 cm, Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Montreal, inv. no. 1958.1192.

Shortened note format:

1. Artist(s) Last Name, Shortened Artwork Title.

Shortened note example:

1. Rodin, The Sirens.

An image or work of art found in a book

Any reproduction of an image or a work of art that you are referencing from a book can be treated as if it were a chapter in the book. Include the work's actual dimensions if they are available in the book.

Full note format:

1. Artist(s) First Name Last Name, Artwork Title, Year Artwork Created, Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable), in Title of Book, ed. Editor First Name Last Name, Edition information (Publisher, Year of publication), figure number (if a figure number is not available, use the page number).

Full note example:

1. Auguste Rodin, The Gates of Hell (entire structure), 1880-1900, Plaster, 18'1" x 13'1' x 3'1", in Janson's History of Art: The Western tradition, eds. Penelope J. E. Davis et al., Reissued 8th ed. (Pearson, 2016), Fig. 26.24.

Shortened note format:

1. Artist(s) Last Name, Shortened Artwork Title, Figure number (if a figure number is not available, use the page number).

Shortened note example:

1. Rodin, The Gates of Hell, Fig. 26.24.

An image or work of art found in a database (e.g. Artstor)

As with journal articles in specific subscription databases, Chicago recommends including the name of the database instead of a URL link. Listing the name of the database makes it easier for your reader to figure out where to go to find the image.

Full note format:

1. Artist(s) First Name Last Name, Artwork Title, Year Created, Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable), Museum or Gallery that owns the piece, City, collection object or reference number (if available), Name of Source Database.

Full note example:

1. Auguste Rodin, The Sirens, 1889, Bronze, 43.2 x 41.6 x 30.5 cm, The Cleveland Museum of Art, Cleveland, acc. no. 1946.350, Artstor.

Shortened note format:

1. Artist(s) Last Name, Shortened Artwork Title.

Shortened note example:

1. Rodin, The Sirens.

An image or work of art found on a website (e.g. through Google Images)

When using an image or work of art that you found on a freely-accessible website, include a URL link to the image at the end of the note.

Note: DO NOT link to an image on Google image search. Google image search is not hosting these images. It is only pulling them from other websites. Instead, visit the source page for the image and link to that page.

Full note format:

1. Artist(s) First Name Last Name, Artwork Title, Year Created, Medium used, Height x Width (x Depth if applicable), Museum or Gallery that owns the piece, City, collection object or reference number (if available), URL.

Full note example:

1. Auguste Rodin, The Thinker, 1903, Bronze, 189 x 98 x 140 cm, Rodin Museum, Paris, inv. no. S.01295, http://www.musee-rodin.fr/en/collections/sculptures/thinker.

Shortened note format:

1. Artist(s) Last Name, Shortened Artwork Title.

Shortened note example:

1. Rodin, The Thinker.

Religious texts are covered in sections 14.38 to 14.141 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

A Biblical or other religious text (includes Bible, Quran, Pseudepigrapha, etc.)

References to the Jewish or Christian scriptures usually appear in notes, but not in bibliographies. However, if your professor wants you to include an entry for the Bible or other religious text in your bibliography, cite the specific version of the text that you used. See the Bibliography section of this guide for details.

A note should include the title of the Book (abbreviated, see sections 10.50-10.54 of The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition for a full list), chapter, and verse. You can include the specific version of the Bible used in parentheses after the verse, since specific translations can differ. For other religious texts, include the title of the work (Quran, Upanishads) and any part, chapter, or verse indicators. Again, specific versions can appear in parentheses after the verse information.

Note Format:

1. Book Chapter:Verse (Version).

Note Example:

1. Heb. 13:8 (New Revised Standard Version).

2. Quran 19:17-21 (The Study Quran).

Treat sacred and revered works of other religions be treated in a manner similar to Biblical works.

Indigenous sources, including interactions with Indigenous Elder or Knowledge Keeper, are covered in sections 14.136 to 14.137 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

Chicago Style citation directs you to treat an interaction with an Indigenous Elder or Knowledge Keeper as a "personal communication." However, as Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers hold a significant role as carriers of knowledge and history for their respective Nations or Communities, the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style have recognized the value of also including reference to the information provided by the Elder or Knowledge Keeper in the Bibliography in addition to a note. They also recognize that it is important to include information such as the nation or community of the Elder or Knowledge Keeper, the associated treaty territory, and where they live.

Note: If you would like to approach an Elder or Knowledge Keeper for teachings, remember to follow protocol. If you are unsure what their protocol is, please ask them ahead of time.

Note: Only use this format for information that comes from direct communication with an Elder or Knowledge Keeper. If you are using audio or video recordings of interviews with Indigenous Elders or Knowledge Keepers, instead use the format for citing audiovisual materials. If you are using print transcriptions of interviews with an Elder or Knowledge Keeper, treat this transcription as a chapter, book, or article, as applicable.

Full note format:

1. Indigenous Elder or Knowledge Keeper First Name Last Name (Traditional Name [if applicable]), nation/community, treaty territory [if applicable], where they live [if applicable]  topic/subject of communication [if not mentioned in the text], interview [specify only if not clear from the text], Month Date, Year.

Full note example:

1. Lekeyten, Kwantlen First Nation, Unceded territory of the Kwantlen, Musqueam, Katzie, Smeiahoo, Tsawwassen, Qayquat, and Kwikwetlem Peoples, community justice, interview, April 9, 2019.

Shortened note format:

1. Elder Last Name, Shortened Topic/subject of communication.

Shortened note example:

1. Lekeyten, community justice.

Generative artificial intelligence tools are covered in section 14.112 of the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition.

You must first have express permission from your teacher to use a generative AI tool (ChatGPT, Google Bard, etc. . .) in your work at the College. This permission can be given on a course-by-course or even assignment-by-assignment basis. If you are not sure whether you are allowed to use generative AI in an assignment or course, please consult your teacher. Do not assume that, if permission was given by the teacher to use generative AI in one assignment or course, that this permission extends to all work assigned by that teacher in any of their courses.

Whenever you do you generative AI for an assignment, it is your responsibility to use it ethically and within the parameters set by the course. To help you with this, the Office of the Academic Dean has put together to following guide on Artificial Intelligence Tools. Note that this also includes respecting the rules regarding cheating and plagiarism as set out by the Marianopolis IPESA.

This ethical use also includes citing generative AI content and making it clear in your work which content is your own and what is the result of gnerative AI output.

Using generative AI in informal contexts

For many types or informal writing, The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition states that it is sufficient to acknowledge the AI Tool in your text. In these contexts, neither a note or a bibliography entry are necessary. The acknowledgement should include the version of the tool used, as well as the date the content was generated.

Example:

The following recipe was generated using ChatGPT-3.5, on March 5, 2023:

Using generative AI in research papers and other formal contexts

For formal writing, such as research papers, Chicago instructs you to use a numbered footnote or endnote for the content, in the following formats, depending on whether you have included the prompt for the generated text in the body of your work or not. When providing a URL, make sure that it points to an archived copy of the conversation. Many generative AI programs will require you to create an account in order to share archived conversations.

If you have provided the prompt in the body of your work:

Full note format:

1. Text Generated by Name of Generative AI with version number, Publisher, Month Day, Year Generated, URL.

Full note example:

1. Text Generated by ChatGPT-4o, OpenAI, December 19, 2024, https://chatgpt.com/share/676984a6-b7d0-8013-a832-93b913fe0aac.

Shortened note format:

1. Text Generated by Name of Generative AI.

Shortened note example:

1. Text Generated by ChatGPT.

If you have not provided the prompt in the body of your work

Full note format:

1. Response to "Prompt given to program," Name of Generative AI with version, Publisher, Month Day, Year Generated, URL.

Full note example:

1. Response to "Create a Dungeons and Dragons wizard character using the 2024 revision of the 5th edition ruleset." ChatGPT-4o, OpenAI, December 23, 2024, https://chatgpt.com/share/676984a6-b7d0-8013-a832-93b913fe0aac.

Shortened note format:
1. Response to "Shortened version of Prompt," Name if Generative AI with version.

Shortened note example:
1. Response to "Create a Dungeons and Dragons wizard," Chat GPT-4o.

Note: When creating a note for an output that was generated using a particularly long prompt, you may shorten the prompt to the first 280 characters in your note. This follows the same rules for titles set out for social media posts (14.106). When doing this, it is important to make sure that the sense of the original prompt is retained. For the shortened note format, you may shorten the title further, so long a it is still identifiable as the same prompt used in the previous long format note, and distinguishable from other notes for AI-generated content.

Note: The shortened note format can only be used when you are citing the same output from a single session with a generative AI. If you are using content that is the result of different prompts or sessions, each result of an individual prompt will need to be cited separately using the full note format.

Citing generative AI: Editing content

If you have edited the output created by generative AI, you should include "edited for style and accuracy" in the note. This does not include simple edits such as adjusting the font or applied smart quotes.

Full Note Example:

1. Response to "Create a Dungeons and Dragons wizard character using the 2024 revision of the 5th edition ruleset." ChatGPT-4o, OpenAI, December 23, 2024, edited for style and and accuracy, https://chatgpt.com/share/676984a6-b7d0-8013-a832-93b913fe0aac.

Shortened Note Example:

1. Response to "Create a Dungeons and Dragons wizard," Chat GPT-4o, edited for style and accuracy.

Source URLs and generative AI programs

While sourcing for many generative AI programs has recently greatly improved, some programs do not provide you with the ability to link individual conversations in your text. If that is the case for the program you are using, you may be able to use one of the following plug-ins instead, which will archive your AI conversations, and provide you with sharable links.