Libguides: Library Orientation (Fall 2024): Databases

eBook databases

The Library has three eBook databases. The contents of these databases are linked directly through the Library Catalogue, so we recommend that you search for eBooks through the Catalogue instead of searching through the databases individually. However, when you are off campus, or when you want to access a book that you already know is in one of our eBook databases, you will need to log in to the databases directly. As a result, we have provided links to the eBook databases below. These databases can also be found in the Books and eBooks section of the Library page on the Marianopolis website.

ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the Humanities and related Social Sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Cairn - Collection ouvrages This link opens in a new window
Cairn - Collection ouvrages comprend plus de 21 000 ouvrages académiques en science humaines et sciences sociales.

Veuillez noter : Pour accédez seulement les ouvrages du Cairn, tu dois faire une recherche et après sélectionner « Ouvrages » sous « Filtrer par – Types de publications » dans le menu à gauche de l’écran.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With more than 60,000 items in a wide range of academic subjects, Ebook Central is the Library's largest collection of eBooks. Every book in this collection can be viewed by an unlimited number of users, so none of the books are ever unavailable.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks comprises a small but excellent collection of eBooks, aimed primarily at Commerce students. It uses the same interface as the EBSCO journal articles databases.

Journal databases

These databases contain articles from both academic journals (journals that are written, edited and published by experts in academic fields) and some popular magazines (written by journalists or other professional authors). They cover a wide range of subjects, including the Sciences, Social Sciences, Humanities, Literature, Fine Arts, and more. These databases can also be found in the Journal and newspaper articles section of the Library page on the Marianopolis website.

Cairn - Collection revues This link opens in a new window
Cairn - Collection revues comprend 634 revues académiques en science humaines et science sociales.
Veuillez noter : Pour accédez seulement les revues académiques du Cairn, tu dois faire une recherche et après sélectionner « Revues » sous « Filtrer par – Types de publications » dans le menu à gauche de l’écran.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).
ProQuest: Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Database is a multidisciplinary database of Canadian content. It includes Canadian magazines and scholarly journals that cover a wide range of subjects in the Social Sciences, Humanities and Sciences. It is an excellent resource if your topic requires a uniquely Canadian perspective.
When searching CBCA Complete, click beside "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" below the search boxes to make sure you're getting the scholarly articles you need.
Érudit This link opens in a new window
Érudit est un projet de l’Université de Montréal, l’Université Laval, l’UQAM, et d’autres partenaires. Il contient plus de 300 revues scientifiques et culturelles canadiennes en français et en anglais, incluant un grand nombre de ressources en libre accès.

Newspaper databases

These databases contain articles from Canadian and some international newspapers, as well as a selection of other news sources. These databases can also be found in the Journal and newspaper articles section of the Library page on the Marianopolis website.

The Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1966, The Chronicle of Higher Education is North America’s largest newsroom dedicated to reporting on colleges and universities. The online version of the Chronicle offers all current articles available in the print edition, as well as an archive dating back to 1989. The are also special yearly reports, curated focus collecitons, daily and weekly newsletters, trend data and more.
Eureka This link opens in a new window
Eureka contient plus que 35,612 ressources, incluant des sources provenant de la presse, du télévision et radio, des médias sociaux, et des sites web. La plupart des sources sont en français d’origine québécoise ou canadienne, mais il y a aussi des ressources françaises de la France, ainsi que des ressources en anglais, espagnol, portugais, et allemand.
ProQuest: Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies contains articles from all of the major English-language Canadian newspapers. Coverage includes the latest issue and, in many cases, goes back to the late 1970s/early 1980s.

Art databases

The following image database is especially useful for art history students, although students in other disciplines can find some interesting uses for it as well. These databases can also be found in the Art and images section of the Library page on the Marianopolis website.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is an extensive image library for the Arts and Sciences. It contains digital images from major museum collections around the world, archival images, and images of important works of architecture. It is useful for all disciplines, but especially for students of Art History.

Note: As of August 2024, Artstor has been fully migrated to the JSTOR platform. The Artstor content and functionality are still available through the JSTOR platform. Searches may be performed through the JSTOR image search.

Film databases

The Library subscribes to the following film-streaming databases. Your teachers may, from time-to-time, show films from any of these databases or ask you to view a film on your own time. These databases can also be found in the Films and music section of the Library page Marianopolis website.

Audio Ciné Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Ciné Films is a streaming database of more than 800 major feature films from Walt Disney Studios, Universal Pictures, Sony Pictures, MGM Studios, HBO, and more. It includes classic as well as modern films.

Please note: film playback for ACF is currently not supported on iOS devices, including all Apple phones and tablets.
Criterion On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion On-Demand is a streaming video database of over 3000 major feature films from Warner Brothers Studios, Paramount Pictures, Lionsgate Studios, Miramax Studios, and more. It includes classic films as well as modern-day films.
Curio This link opens in a new window
Curio is an online database of television series and documentaries created and maintained by the CBC/Radio Canada. It features a wide range of streaming video content in both English and French.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video database of documentary and feature films from a wide range of sources, including the BBC, PBS, TED, National Geographic, and more.
National Film Board of Canada / Office National du film du Canada: CAMPUS This link opens in a new window
The National Film Board of Canada's / Office National du film du Canada CAMPUS website offers you access to thousands of NFB-produced streaming films, including Canadian documentaries, experimental films, and more.

Music databases

For all of your music research needs, the Library has compiled the following LibGuide of reliable Music resources. It is intended primarily for students of music and music history, but the resources in the guide could be useful to anyone that is exploring a music-related subject:

Music resources

Dictionary and encyclopedia databases

The Library's dictionary and encyclopedia databases are a great source for quick information or for getting background information on a topic when you're beginning your research. They cover a wide range of subjects, so it is likely that you will find useful information on your research topics in one or more of the following databases. These databases can also be found in the Dictionaries and encyclopedias section of the Library page on the Marianopolis website.

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Encyclopedia Universalis This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Universalis est la plus importante encyclopédie généraliste de langue française. Elle est dédiée à la recherche documentaire, la culture générale, et l’enseignement.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research contains hundreds of continuously updated industry profiles, including everything from profiles of the automobile industry to the vending machine industry. It also has economic profiles for all of the Canadian provinces, as well as all of the American states. An indispensible resource for business and commerce research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Le Grand Robert & Collins This link opens in a new window
Le Grand Robert & Collins est le plus grand dictionnaire bilingue français / anglais, incluant des traductions des mots et des expressions, avec les traductions appropriées en contexte.
Le Petit Robert This link opens in a new window
Le Petit Robert est une dictionnaire française comprenant 60 000 mots, 300 000 sens, 185 000 exemples d’emploi, l’étymologie, la phonétique, les synonymes, et les contraires. Contient également 35 000 citations littéraires.
Multidictionnaire de la langue française en ligne This link opens in a new window
Multidictionnaire de la langue française en ligne est une dictionnaire française qui intègre dans un seul outil tous les renseignements utiles sur l’orthographe, la grammaire, les difficultés, la conjugaison, la syntaxe, les anglicismes, la typographie, les québécismes, les abréviations, les interférences entre le français et l’anglais, et la correspondance.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains the entire Grove Art Encyclopedia, with peer-reviewed articles by nearly 7000 scholars around the world, including images, biographies, and links to additional resources.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The premier dictionary of the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary, or OED for short, includes the modern definitions of words as well as details on their historical origins.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).
Qurʾānic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Qurʾānic Studies Online is a collection of valuable resources for close readings of the Qur’ān. It contains:
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online
- Early Western Korans Online
- Qurʾān Concordance
- Dictionary of Qurʾānic Usage
- Encyclopedia of Canonical Ḥadīth Online
- Concordance et indices de la Tradition Musulmane Online
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Online a platform for specialized reference works from Salem Press and Grey House Publishing. Our current Salem Press holdings include:
- Magill’s Medical Guide, 9th & 8th editions, which covers disease, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and medical issues. Includes sidebars that address recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders for quick reference.
- Masterplots, 4th edition, with 2010-2018 supplement, a collection of 2,407 essays about English-language and world literature. Each essay examines a literary work in detail, giving plot synopses, critical theories about the work, and resources for further reading.
- Notable African American Writers, 2nd edition, includes 500 detailed author biographies, topical entries on their works, primary documents, and more.
- Digital Literacy: Skills and Strategies, which provides a comprehensive collection of essays to help students, educators, and researchers understand the key and fundamental terms associated with digital literacy.

Library Orientation (Fall 2024): Databases

The Library's databases

Logging in