Skip to Main Content
Websites on this page
Below is a list of selected reputable websites with a variety of resources related to Indigenous studies.
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada - CIRNAC (Website)
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) continues to renew the nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis; modernize Government of Canada structures to enable Indigenous peoples to build capacity and support their vision of self-determination; and lead the Government of Canada's work in the North.
Canadian Museum for Human Rights - CMHR (Website)
"The Canadian Museum for Human Rights is located on Indigenous ancestral lands on Treaty One Territory. The Red River Valley is also the birthplace of the Métis. We acknowledge that the water in the Museum comes from Shoal Lake and are grateful to the First Nations that care for that water." Browse this website for exhibitions related to the Indigenous Peoples of Canada, including the permanent "Truth and Reconciliation" exhibition.
First Nations Education Steering Committee - FNESC (Website)
The First Nations Education Steering Committee (FNESC) is a policy and advocacy organization that represents and works on behalf of First Nations in British Columbia. FNESC has a mandate to support First Nations students and advance First Nations education in BC.
First Peoples’ Postsecondary Storytelling Exchange - FPPSE (Website)
The FPPSE Project shares stories from Indigenous students with the goal of improving the postsecondary experience for future generations.
Indigenous Arts Collective of Canada - IACC (Wesbite)
In taking inspiration from the Haudenosaunee Seventh Generation Principle, the Indigenous Arts Collective of Canada was founded in 2012 to preserve and revitalize endangered Indigenous art forms and enrich lives through Indigenous arts and culture. In using our knowledge from Ancestors and Elders, we are actively practicing and teaching in safe and inclusive spaces. The IACC engages, [re]connects and empowers Indigenous women by promoting the transfer and conservation of cultural knowledge; securing the capacity for the next generations to retain and cultivate intrinsic cultural connections and world views.
Library and Archives Canada: Indigenous History (Website)
Library and Archives Canada (LAC) acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and archival heritage material that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. This includes text, photographs, maps, and audio-visual material. Explore the collection through our online databases, digitized documents and thematic guides.
Legacy of Hope Foundation - LHF (Website)
The Legacy of Hope Foundation (LHF) is a national, Indigenous-led, charitable organization that has been working to promote healing and Reconciliation in Canada for more than 19 years. The LHF’s goal is to educate and raise awareness about the history and existing intergenerational impacts of the Residential School System (RSS) and subsequent Sixties Scoop (SS) on Indigenous (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis) Survivors, their descendants, and their communities to promote healing and Reconciliation.
Native Women’s Association of Canada - NWAC (Website)
The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is a national Indigenous organization representing political voices of Indigenous Women, Girls, Two-Spirit, Transgender, and Gender-Diverse+ (WG2STGD+) People in Canada. NWAC is inclusive of First Nations—on- and off-reserve, status, non-status, and disenfranchised—Inuit, and Métis. An aggregate of Indigenous women’s organizations from across the country, NWAC was founded on a collective goal to enhance, promote, and foster social, economic, cultural, and political well-being of IndigenousWG2STGD+ People in their respective communities and Canadian societies.
Apihtawikosisan: Law. Language. Culture. (Website)
A website and blog run by Chelsea Vowel (Métis). Chelsea is a public intellectual, writer, and educator whose work intersects language, gender, Métis self-determination, and resurgence.
Collection: Indigenous Peoples - The Canadian Encyclopedia (Article)
Indigenous Peoples are the original inhabitants of the land that is now Canada. Inuit and First Nations history extends well before the arrival of Europeans in Canada, while Métis emerged as a distinct culture after intermarriage between European settlers and First Nations people. Indigenous people were essential to the development of early Canada, but suffered massive population declines due to the arrival of European disease. In addition, though they were often military allies, they faced persecution at the hands of colonial governments in the form of displacement, starvation, land seizure and cultural genocide through residential schools and destructive legislation. Indigenous people live throughout Canada and continue to strive to reinvigorate traditional culture and ways of life.
CBC News - Indigenous (Website)
This section of the CBC News website is dedicated to news about Indigenous Peoples living in what is now called Canada.
Circles for Reconciliation (Website)
The aim of Circles for Reconciliation is to establish trusting, meaningful relationships between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples as part of the 94 Calls to Action from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC). The means to achieve this is the creation of small gatherings of an equal number of Indigenous and non-Indigenous people in discussion circles. Every Circle needs five Indigenous and five non-Indigenous participants. Relationships are built by equal voices.
The Eastern Door (Website)
The Eastern Door is a community-based newspaper serving the community of Kahnawake since 1992, regardless of birth, gender, age, language, politics or religion. The paper strives to be a factual, balanced, authoritative source of information with access to all segments of the community.
First Nations Gazette (Website)
The First Nations Gazette publishes First Nation legislation and provides public notification service for First Nations, other governments, corporations and other persons respecting Aboriginal matters. The First Nations Gazette is provided at no cost and serves as a legal research tool for those seeking First Nation laws enacted under the First Nations Fiscal Management Act, by-laws enacted under the Indian Act, or other First Nation enactments that a First Nation chooses to publish in the Gazette.
First Peoples Child & Family Review (Website)
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad.
I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal (Website)
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
Indigenous Arts & Stories (Website)
The largest and most recognized art & creative writing competition in Canada for Indigenous youth.
Indspire is an Indigenous national charity that invests in the education of First Nations, Inuit and Métis people for the long-term benefit of these individuals, their families and communities, and Canada.
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (Website)
The National Representational Organization Protecting and Advancing the Rights and Interests of Inuit in Canada.
Nation Magazine (Website)
The Nation Magazine is the only independent Indigenous news source serving the Cree of James Bay. For over 25 years we have acted as the sole and most-trusted provider of Cree and James Bay-related print content in northern Quebec and Ontario.
Native Land Digital (Website)
Native Land Digital strives to create and foster conversations about the history of colonialism, Indigenous ways of knowing, and settler-Indigenous relations, through educational resources such as our map and Territory Acknowledgement Guide. We strive to go beyond old ways of talking about Indigenous people and to develop a platform where Indigenous communities can represent themselves and their histories on their own terms. In doing so, Native Land Digital creates spaces where non-Indigenous people can be invited and challenged to learn more about the lands they inhabit, the history of those lands, and how to actively be part of a better future going forward together.
The Orange Path (Website)
The Athabasca Tribal Council created The Orange Path to spark others to support changes to the Indian Act. The Orange Path is a movement that helps each person shape their path toward reconciliation and demonstrate support for reconciliation efforts. We identify key actions and provide the resources you need to take those crucial steps.
Orange Shirt Day (Website)
The Orange Shirt Society was formed in Williams Lake by the founders of Orange Shirt Day to encourage and support communities to recognize Orange Shirt Day and to support reconciliation events and activities. Our goal is to create awareness of the individual, family and community inter-generational impacts of Indian Residential Schools through Orange Shirt Day activities, and to promote the concept of "Every Child Matters".
Statistics Canada: Indigenous Peoples (Website)
As a part of the Canadian government website, this page links to various Statistics Canada documents related to the Indigenous Peoples of Canada.
The University of British Columbia: Indigenous Foundations (Website)
Welcome to Indigenous Foundations, an information resource on key topics relating to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. This website was developed to support students in their studies, and to provide instructors, researchers and the broader public with a place to begin exploring topics that relate to Aboriginal peoples, cultures, and histories. Indigenous Foundations was developed by the First Nations Studies Program at the University of British Columbia, located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Musqueam people.
The Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture (Website)
This website is the most comprehensive attempt to chronicle traditional Métis history and culture on the World Wide Web and contains a wealth of primary documents – oral history interviews, photographs and various archival documents – in visual, audio and video files.
Yellowhead Institute (Website)
The Yellowhead Institute is a First Nation-led research centre based in the Faculty of Arts at Ryerson University in Toronto, Ontario. Privileging First Nation philosophy and rooted in community networks, Yellowhead is focused on policies related to land and governance. The Institute offers critical and accessible resources for communities in their pursuit of self-determination. It also aims to foster education and dialogue on First Nation governance across fields of study, between the University and the wider community, and among Indigenous peoples and Canadians.