Skip to Main Content

Canada Reads / Le Combat des livres - Library Collection: The Library's Canada Reads collection

This guide covers the Library's collections of books from Canada Reads / Le Combat des livres, CBC/Radio-Canada's long-running events.

Books on this page

The items listed on this page are a mixture of books and eBooks. When using each, there are a few things to remember:

  • Books - Note the Call Number listed with each book. You will need this number to find the book on the shelf. Physical books can be kept in several different collections in the Library. To find out which collection each book is in, click on the title to go to the Library catalogue. In the catalogue, look at the bottom right corner of the screen, where it says "location." Under ‘location’, you will see one of these options:
    • C-102 Ground Floor - These books are part of the Library's Circulating Collection, and are housed on the Ground Floor (C-102) level of the Library. Use the Call Number listed on each book, then take it to the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor (C-202) to check it out.
    • Reserve Collection: These books have been placed in the Reserve Collection by professors for specific courses. Ask for them at the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor (C-202).
    • New Book Section: These are recent additions to our collections. Find them on the Main Floor (C-202), on the shelves near the Circulation Desk.
    • Graphic Novel Section: These books are part of our Graphic Novel Collection. Find them on the Ground Floor (C-102) on the three sets of shelves near the top of the accessibility ramp.
    • Main Floor: These books are part of the Reference Collection on the L-shaped shelves on the Main Floor (C-202).
    • eBook: These books are part of our online eBook collections. Click on the title of the book, then on the small link labeled "URL" in the Library catalogue to access the eBook. You will be asked to log in to the database. To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.
    • In Cataloguing OR In Processing: These books are currently being catalogued or processed for addition to the Library's collections. If you see a book with this status that interests you, ask about the book at the Circulation Desk.
    • Material at the bindery: These books are currently out for rebinding, and will be returned to the Library soon. Until they return, the books are unavailable.

Canada Reads winning titles in the Library collection

The inaugural Canada Reads competition aired from April 16-19, 2002. It was moderated by Mary Walsh. The winning title was announced on April 23, 2002.

Aired from April 21 to 25, 2003. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from February 16 to 20, 2004. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from February 21 to 25, 2005. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from April 17 to 21, 2006. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from February 26 to March 2, 2007. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired February 25 to 29, 2008. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi.

Aired from March 2 to 6, 2009. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi.

Aired from March 8 to 12, 2010. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi.

Aired from February 7 to 10, 2011. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. This year marked a new format for the 2011 contest. Throughout October 2010, an online vote was held to determine what listeners of the program considered the 40 "most essential" Canadian novels from the previous decade. The five panelists then made their choices from that list.

Aired from February 6 to 9, 2012. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. All books for this edition were non-fiction. A list of 40 non-fiction books was released in October 2011, and listeners could vote on up to five books they wanted to be shortlisted. The shortlist was then selected as a result of that vote.

Aired from February 11 to 14, 2013. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. This year's theme was "Turf Wars," with one title representing one of the following five major geographic regions of Canada: British Columbia, the Prairies, Ontario, Quebec, and the Atlantic Provinces.

Aired from Marc 3 to 6, 2014. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. This year's theme was "A Novel to Change Our Nation."

Aired from March 16 to 19, 2015. Moderated by Wab Kinew. This year's theme was "One Book to Break Barriers."

Aired from March 21 to 24, 2016. Moderated by Gill Deacon. This year's theme was "Starting Over."

Aired from March 27 to 30, 2017. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "The Book Canadians Need Now."

Aired from March 26 to 29, 2018. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Open Your Eyes."

Aired from March 25 to 28, 2019. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book To Move You."

Originally slated to air from March 16 to 19, 2020. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the debates were postponed until the week of July 20 to 23, 2020. In the interim, CBC produced a series of five specials, one for each of the five books in the contest. The debates were moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Bring Canada Into Focus."

Aired from March 8 to 11, 2021. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Transport Us."

Aired from March 28 to 31, 2022. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Connect Us."

Aired from March 27 to 30, 2023. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme is "One Book to Shift Your Perspective."

Aired from March 4 to 7, 2024. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme is "One Book to Carry Us Forward."

Canada Reads shortlisted titles in the Library collection

The inaugural Canada Reads competition aired from April 16-19, 2002. It was moderated by Mary Walsh. The winning title was announced on April 23, 2002.

Aired from April 21 to 25, 2003. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from February 16 to 20, 2004. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from February 21 to 25, 2005. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from April 17 to 21, 2006. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired from February 26 to March 2, 2007. Moderated by Bill Richardson.

Aired February 25 to 29, 2008. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi.

Aired from March 2 to 6, 2009. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi.

Aired from March 8 to 12, 2010. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi.

Aired from February 7 to 10, 2011. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. This year marked a new format for the 2011 contest. Throughout October 2010, an online vote was held to determine what listeners of the program considered the 40 "most essential" Canadian novels from the previous decade. The five panelists then made their choices from that list.

Aired from February 6 to 9, 2012. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. All books for this edition were non-fiction. A list of 40 non-fiction books was released in October 2011, and listeners could vote on up to five books they wanted to be shortlisted. The shortlist was then selected as a result of that vote.

Aired from February 11 to 14, 2013. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. This year's theme was "Turf Wars," with one title representing one of the following five major geographic regions of Canada: British Columbia, the Prairies, Ontario, Quebec, and the Atlantic Provinces.

Aired from Marc 3 to 6, 2014. Moderated by Jian Ghomeshi. This year's theme was "A Novel to Change Our Nation."

Aired from March 16 to 19, 2015. Moderated by Wab Kinew. This year's theme was "One Book to Break Barriers."

Aired from March 21 to 24, 2016. Moderated by Gill Deacon. This year's theme was "Starting Over."

Aired from March 27 to 30, 2017. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "The Book Canadians Need Now."

Aired from March 26 to 29, 2018. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Open Your Eyes."

Aired from March 25 to 28, 2019. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One book to Move You."

Originally slated to air from March 16 to 19, 2020. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the debates were postponed until the week of July 20 to 23, 2020. In the interim, CBC produced a series of five specials, one for each of the five books in the contest. The debates were moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Bring Canada Into Focus."

Aired from March 8 to 11, 2021. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Transport Us."

Aired from March 28 to 31, 2022. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme was "One Book to Connect Us."

Aired  from March 27 to 30, 2023. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme is "One Book to Shift Your Perspective."

Aired from March 4 to 7, 2024. Moderated by Ali Hassan. This year's theme is "One Book to Carry Us Forward."

Creative Commons License All original content in the Marianopolis College Library LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.