Skip to Main Content
Below is a list of selected reputable websites with a variety of resources about the Second World War (1939-1945), organized by location.
Canada and the Holocaust - The Canadian Encyclopedia (Article)
The full-length entry about Canada's involvement with the Holocaust in The Canadian Encyclopedia.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada - DCB/DBC (Website)
Welcome to the online version of the Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada (DCB/DBC), a major research and publishing project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval that was launched in 1959. Its purpose was and is to provide a reference work of Canadian biography to “compete with or even surpass works of a similar character produced elsewhere.”
Government of Canada: Second World War (1939-1945) (Website)
Canada’s role in the Second World War (WW2). Timelines, remembrance and archival records, as well as the people who fought.
Library and Archives Canada: Second World War (Website)
This page of the LAC website links to a variety of resources (archival records, databases, research guides, publications, exhibitions, etc.) focused on Canada's involvement in the Second World War.
The Montreal Holocaust Museum (Website)
The Montreal Holocaust Museum educates people of all ages and backgrounds about the Holocaust, while sensitising the public to the universal perils of antisemitism, racism, hate and indifference. Through its Museum, its commemorative programs and educational initiatives, the Montreal Holocaust Museum promotes respect for diversity and the sanctity of human life.
Second World War (WWII) - The Canadian Encyclopedia (Article)
The full-length entry about the Second World War in The Canadian Encyclopedia.
United States of America:
The National Archives and Records Administration - NARA: Holocaust-Related Records at the National Archives (Website)
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an international epicenter of Holocaust-related research. NARA holds millions of records created or received by the U.S. Government during and after World War II that document Nazi war crimes, wartime refugee issues, and activities and investigations of U.S. Government agencies involved in the identification and recovery of looted assets (including gold, art, and cultural property)-as well as captured German records used as evidence at the International Military Tribunal (IMT) at Nuremberg, U.S. military tribunals at Nuremberg, and U.S. Army courts.
The National Archives and Records Administration - NARA: World War II Records (Website)
This page lists collections of records (documents, images, sound & video recordings) related to World War II, held by the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Holocaust Museum Houston (Website)
Holocaust Museum Houston is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors’ legacy. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other genocides, we teach the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy.
The National WWII Museum (Website)
The National WWII Museum tells the story of the American experience in the war that changed the world—why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today—so that all generations will understand the price of freedom and be inspired by what they learn.
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (Website)
A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity.
International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance - IHRA (Website)
The International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance unites governments and experts to strengthen, advance and promote Holocaust education, research and remembrance and to uphold the commitments to the 2000 Stockholm Declaration.
The Jewish Virtual Library - JVL: The Holocaust Wing (Website)
This page of the JVL links to all Holocaust related materials available in this digital library.
The New World Encyclopedia - NWE: World War II (Website)
New World Encyclopedia is a wiki-based encyclopedia which contains carefully selected articles that are rewritten and supervised by a team of editors with academic and literary qualifications.
The History Press: World War II (Website)
This page of The History Press website links to articles on various topics related to World War II.
The National Holocaust Centre and Museum (Website)
The National Holocaust Centre and Museum promotes an understanding of the roots of discrimination and prejudice, and the development of ethical values, leading to a greater understanding within society. The Centre uses the history of genocide as a model of how society can break down, and emphasises how current and future generations must carefully examine and learn from these tragedies. The Centre promotes respect for human rights, equal opportunities and good citizenship, which has greater resonance than ever in our culturally diverse society.
The Second World War in 100 Objects (Website)
The Second World War in 100 Objects was a once-in-a-lifetime exhibition made possible through the cooperation of twenty-five Dutch war and Resistance museums. The museums involved in this unique collaboration provided exceptional objects from their collections, which are being presented together for the first time at one location. These 100 objects tell the story of the Second Word War in an original way. Every object has a moving, disturbing or remarkable history.
The Wiener Holocaust Library (Website)
The Wiener Holocaust Library is one of the world’s leading and most extensive archives on the Holocaust, the Nazi era and genocide. The Library’s unique collection of over one million items includes published and unpublished works, press cuttings, photographs and eyewitness testimony.
Yad Vashem: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center (Website)
Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is the ultimate source for Holocaust education, documentation and research.