Skip to Main Content
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed".
Relevant EBSCO database search terms include:- Holocaust- World War II
Erudit This link opens in a new window
A joint project of the Université de Montréal, Université de Laval, UQAM, and other partners, Érudit contains several Canadian research journals in French and English, including a large amount of Open Access content.
When using Érudit, remember that you will need to use French keywords to find French articles on your topic. Using English keywords will only find English materials.
Relevant Érudit database search terms in French:
- La Shoah
- Seconde Guerre mondiale
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes temporary access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts&Sciences IV-XV, Business IV, Ecology and Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, and Life Sciences. This expanded access is available through June 30, 2023.
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that covers a wide range of arts and science topics. It is an archival database, which means that all content in JSTOR is at least 1-2 years old. This also means that many of its resources go back decades, which makes it an excellent source for background information on a topic.
Relevant JSTOR database search terms include:
- World War II
ProQuest: Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Database is a multidisciplinary database of Canadian content. It includes Canadian magazines and scholarly journals that cover a wide range of subjects in the Social Sciences, Humanities and Sciences. It is an excellent resource if your topic requires a uniquely Canadian perspective.
When searching CBCA Complete, click beside "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" below the search boxes to make sure you're getting the scholarly articles you need.
Relevant ProQuest database search terms include:
- World War II
Finding Reference Articles (Dictionaries & Encyclopedias)
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Encyclopedia Universalis This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Universalis is a French-language general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics, including World War II and the Holocaust.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. History, Science and Technology, Social Sciences, etc.).