Libguides: 345-102-MQ: Utopian Dreamers (Sumner): Selected Library databases

Finding reference articles

Use the following databases to find definitions of important terms and scholarly introductions to subjects.

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The premier dictionary of the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary, or OED for short, includes the modern definitions of words as well as details on their historical origins.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

Finding eBooks

Use the following eBook database to find additional books on your topic. Please note that the contents of this databases are linked directly through the Library Catalogue, so you can search for eBooks directly through the Catalogue. However, when you are off campus, or when you want to access a book that you already know is in one of our eBook databases, you will need to log in to the database directly. This databases can also be found on the Find books and eBooks page of the Library website.

ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the Humanities and related Social Sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With more than 60,000 items in a wide range of academic subjects, Ebook Central is the Library's largest collection of eBooks. Every book in this collection can be viewed by an unlimited number of users, so none of the books are ever unavailable.

Finding journal articles

Use the following databases to find scholarly articles discussing specific aspects of your subject.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. The following EBSCO databases are ones that should be useful for research into Utopias:
- Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed".
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).

345-102-MQ: Utopian Dreamers (Sumner): Selected Library databases

The Library's databases

Logging in

Finding reference articles

Finding eBooks

Finding journal articles