The items listed on this page are a mixture of books and eBooks. When using each, there are a few things to remember:
All books in the Library are organized according to Dewey Decimal classification system. A book's number in the Dewey system is referred to as a "call number." Each number usually begins with three digits, followed by a period and series of numbers and letters. The only exception to this is for Canadian literature, which has a C before the initial three digits of the call number (see the picture on the right for an example). The three digit number groups books according to a broad subject area, and the remaining numbers and letters situate each book within a more specific topic within that broad subject area. There are eleven broad subject areas, arranged as follows:
000 General and miscellaneous subjects
100 Philosophy & psychology
300 Social sciences
500 Natural sciences & mathematics
600 Technology (Applied sciences)
700 The arts (Includes art, architecture, music, film, photography, television, and more)
800 Literature & rhetoric
C800 Canadian Literature & rhetoric
900 Geography & history
To find a book, start by searching the Library Catalogue. We recommend using the Advanced Search for your work, as it will give you more options to work with.
Once you've found the book you're looking for, note its location and the call number that has been assigned to that particular book. Then go to where the book is held in the Library and browse the shelves for the book with the call number that you want. Remember that all books are arranged sequentially by call number, so that a book with the call number 101.112 will be shelved after a book with the call number 101.111, and so on.
For collections that are kept at the Circulation Desk, such as the Reserve Collection and the Film Collection, just ask a member of Circulation staff for the book or film you need.
If a the book's location says "Available - See a librarian for assistance," it is part of the Library's Circulating Collection. These books are currently housed on the C-100 level of the library, which is closed to students. To use any of these books, please ask for them at the Circulation Desk. It will take approximately 24 hours to retrieve the book, and we will MIO you when it is available for pickup.
Use the following eBook database to find books on your topic. Please note that the contents of this databases are linked directly through the Library Catalogue, so you can search for eBooks directly through the Catalogue. However, when you are off campus, or when you want to access a book that you already know is in one of our eBook databases, you will need to log in to the database directly. This databases can also be found on the Find books and eBooks page of the Library website.