Libguides: 387-701-MS: Dynamics of Social Change (Hsu): Selected Library databases

Finding journal articles

The following databases can be used to find academic studies on the social impact of projects undertaken by the Big 5. You are more likely to find what you need when using the journal databases if you look for the effects of a specific topic (e.g. Google's development of self-driving cars instead of simply looking for articles about Googles).

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. We recommend using the following databases for this project:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce NOTE: This databases also contains searchable company profiles, including full profiles for all of the Big 5.
- SocINDEX - Sociology
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed.".
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).
Érudit This link opens in a new window
Érudit est un projet de l’Université de Montréal, l’Université Laval, l’UQAM, et d’autres partenaires. Il contient plus de 300 revues scientifiques et culturelles canadiennes en français et en anglais, incluant un grand nombre de ressources en libre accès.

Finding newspaper articles

Searching newspaper articles can be very useful in finding out what highly-publicized projects the Big 5 might be undertaking at any given time.

ProQuest: Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies contains articles from all of the major English-language Canadian newspapers. Coverage includes the latest issue and, in many cases, goes back to the late 1970s/early 1980s.

387-701-MS: Dynamics of Social Change (Hsu): Selected Library databases

The Library's databases

Logging in

Finding journal articles

Finding newspaper articles