The Library occupies the entire C-Wing of the Marianopolis building. It spans three floors:
There are two entrances to the Library, one on the C-200 level that opens onto the Main Floor, and a second entrance on the C-100 level that opens onto the Ground Floor (Please note: The Ground Floor is currently unavailable due to renovations). The Organ Loft also has its own entrance on the C-300 level. For more details about what can be found on each floor, read more below.
For Fall 2023 and Winter 2024, the Library will be open from Monday to Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. There are occasionally exceptions to this schedule. For a list of the exceptions, see the Contact information and opening hours section of the Library page on the Marianopolis website.
For the benefit of all students, the Library is a quiet study space. This means that there is no talking allowed in most parts the Library. The only exceptions to this are the Reference Desk and the Circulation Desk, where you communicate with the Library staff.
Food and drinks are is not permitted anywhere in the Library. Water is permitted, but should be in a spill-proof container.
Please note that students who do not adhere to these rules may be asked to leave the Library.
Thank you for your cooperation.
The Ground floor level of the library contains the Library's main Circulating collection, a variety of study spaces, the Library's Reference Desk, and washrooms. It can be accessed by the stairwell at the far end of the Main Floor, or by its own entrance on the 100 level of thr College, between the A and D Wings.
Throughout the Library's Ground Floor, you will find the Library's Circulating Collection. This is the main print book collection for the Library, and it is tailored specifically to serve your research needs for all of the projects in your classes.
To learn more about the contents of the Library's Circulating Collection, please consult the Physical Collections page on this guide.
The Library's Ground Floor offers over 100 spaces for student study in various configurations throughout the floor. This includes comfortable lounge spaces, individual study spaces, and collaborative spaces. Please note that, no matter what space you are using, the Library's quiet study rules still apply.
Immediately to the left of the Ground Floor entrance, you well find the Reference Desk. You can come here for help with research, citations, technical issues, or general questions.
The Library's online live LibChat service, where you can chat live online with a librarian, is available Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
You can also send us your question anytime through the LibAnswers question form.
The Main Floor level of the Library can be accessed through the 200 level of the College, between the A and D wings. It contains the Library's Circulation Desk, Computers, our Reference, Periodicals, and Reserve Collections, and quiet study areas.
The Library's Main Floor lobby area contains issues of some of our latest print magazines, as well as student seating and a table with staplers, a pencil sharpener, and scrap paper. We also occasionally put out puzzles for students to work on!
As you pass through the lobby area into the Main Floor proper, you will notice a long counter and two long tables with 28 desktop computers on them. These computers are free for student use on a first-come, first-served basis.
To learn more about the Library's computers, please see the Technology section of this guide.
As with all other study areas on the Main Floor, this area is a quiet study area. Please refrain from talking whenever possible. As per the College's Information Technology Services rules regarding College computers, no food or drink is allowed while at the Library computers.
Past the computer area on the Main Floor, you will find four long tables with 12 chairs each. The tables are in two grounds, and are bounded on three sides by the low L-shaped shelves. These tables make up the Main Floor's study area. Each of these tables have power outlets that allow you to plug in a laptop, tablet, phone, or other device while studying.
This area is intended for quiet, individual study. Please refrain from talking whenever possible. No food or drinks are allowed.
The Circulation Desk is a long counter that stretches across the far end of the Main Floor opposite the main doors. The Circulation Desk is where you go to check in or return any item from the Library, including books, films, CDs and more. The Circulation Desk is also the home to the Library's popular Reserve Collection. To learn more about all of the Library's physical collections, please see the Physical Collections section of this LibGuide.
The Organ Loft, named as such because it used to house the organ when the Library was a chapel, is an individual, silent study space on the 300-level of the C-Wing. It can be accessed by the door on the third floor of the College, situated in the short hallway between the A-Wing and the D-Wing. It is open Monday to Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m., and Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.
The Organ Loft is an open area with individual study carrels available to students on a first-come, first served basis. It is an ideal area for when you want to get some work done with a minimum of distractions.
Please note that the Organ Loft is a silent study space. Please refrain from talking whenever possible. No food or drinks are allowed.
The Altar Loft (named as such because it surrounds the altar area from when the Library was a chapel) is an individual, silent study space on the 300-level. It can be accessed by the stairwell beside the Circulation Desk. It is open Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
The Altar Loft is an open area with individual study carrels available to students on a first-come, first-served basis. It is an ideal area for when you want to get some work done and with a minimum of distractions.
Please note that the Altar Loft is a silent study space. Please refrain from talking whenever possible. No food or drinks are allowed.
All original content in the Marianopolis College Library LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.