Libguides: 345-101-MQ: The Mestizo Mind: Latin American Worldviews (Koutsoyannis): Reference and journal databases

Finding reference articles

Use the following databases to find definitions of important terms and scholarly introductions to subjects.

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

Use the following databases to find scholarly articles discussing specific aspects of your subject.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."