Skip to Main Content

603-LPE-MQ: Writings and Writing About Food (Khoo): Selected Library books

This guide contains Library resources for research in the history of specific types of food. It has been created to support Professor Jun Ling Khoo's Writings and Writing About Food course.

Books on this page

The items listed on this page are a mixture of books and eBooks. When using each, there are a few things to remember:

  • Books - Note the Call Number listed with each book. You will need this number to find the book on the shelf. Physical books can be kept in several different collections in the Library. To find out which collection each book is in, click on the title to go to the Library catalogue. In the catalogue, look at the bottom right corner of the screen, where it says "location." Under ‘location’, you will see one of these options:
    • C-102 Ground Floor - These books are part of the Library's Circulating Collection, and are housed on the Ground Floor (C-102) level of the Library. Use the Call Number listed on each book, then take it to the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor (C-202) to check it out.
    • Reserve Collection: These books have been placed in the Reserve Collection by professors for specific courses. Ask for them at the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor (C-202).
    • New Book Section: These are recent additions to our collections. Find them on the Main Floor (C-202), on the shelves near the Circulation Desk.
    • Graphic Novel Section: These books are part of our Graphic Novel Collection. Find them on the Ground Floor (C-102) on the three sets of shelves near the top of the accessibility ramp.
    • Main Floor: These books are part of the Reference Collection on the L-shaped shelves on the Main Floor (C-202).
    • eBook: These books are part of our online eBook collections. Click on the title of the book, then on the small link labeled "URL" in the Library catalogue to access the eBook. You will be asked to log in to the database. To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.
    • In Cataloguing OR In Processing: These books are currently being catalogued or processed for addition to the Library's collections. If you see a book with this status that interests you, ask about the book at the Circulation Desk.
    • Material at the bindery: These books are currently out for rebinding, and will be returned to the Library soon. Until they return, the books are unavailable.

Staple foods: General history - Print books

The following books contain reference articles on the history and uses of different types of food, as well as different types of cuisine. When researching your selected type of food, look first in each resource for an article about that type of food (e.g. Look for the "Noodles" article, or the "Beef" article).

The following is a list of books about the history of food in general. Sections of these books may touch on the specific foods you've been asked to look into. Use the table of contents and the index in each book to find the sections pertain to your topic.

Staple foods: General history - eBooks

We recommend the following Reference databases:

The following is a list of books about the history of food in general. Sections of these books may touch on the specific foods you've been asked to look into. Use the table of contents and the index in each book to find the sections pertain to your topic.

Specific staple foods - Print books

Specific staple foods - eBooks

Creative Commons License All original content in the Marianopolis College Library LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.