Skip to Main Content
These reference sources will help you get initial background information on your primary source and its author(s). Note that, while reference articles can be extremely useful for learning background information about your topic and can be indispensable as additional resources, they do not count as peer-reviewed secondary sources for the purposes of fulfilling the requirements of your assignment.
Books on this page
The items listed on this page are a mixture of books and eBooks. When using each, there are a few things to remember:
- Books - Note the Call Number listed with each book. You will need this number to find the book on the shelf. Physical books can be kept in several different collections in the Library. To find out which collection each book is in, click on the title to go to the Library catalogue. In the catalogue, look at the bottom right corner of the screen, where it says "location." Under ‘location’, you will see one of these options:
- Available - See a Librarian for Assistance: These books are part of the Library's Circulating Collection. They are currently housed on the C-100 level of the library, which is closed to students. To use any of these books, please ask for them at the Circulation Desk. It will take approximately 24 hours to retrieve the book, and we will MIO you when it is available for pickup.
- Reserve Collection: These books have been placed in the Reserve Collection by professors for specific courses. Ask for them at the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor.
- New Book Section: These are recent additions to our collections. Find them on the Main Floor, on the shelves near the Circulation Desk.
- Graphic Novel Section: These books are part of our Graphic Novel Collection. Find them on the Main Floor, beside the New Books section.
- Main Floor: These books are part of the Reference Collection on the Main Floor.
- eBook: These books are part of our online eBook collections. Click on the title of the book, then on the small link labeled "URL" in the Library catalogue to access the eBook. You will be asked to log in to the database. To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.
- In Cataloguing OR In Processing: These books are currently being catalogued or processed for addition to the Library's collections. If you see a book with this status that interests you, ask about the book at the Circulation Desk.
- Material at the bindery: These books are currently out for rebinding, and will be returned to the Library soon. Until they return, the books are unavailable.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
Call Number: 305.403 O98S 2008 V. 1-4
Publication Date: 2008
While this encyclopedia doesn't specifically focus on women in the Renaissance and Early Modern periods, it has several entries on important women from those eras, as well as a detailed general articles about women's lives in different time periods.
Finding reference articles
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).