This page lists selected reference sources (dictionaries & encyclopedias) that are available in print and online formats.
The items listed below are selected reference books that contain information that's relevant to ancient art. When using them, there are a few things to remember:
Atlas of the Greek World by 
Chronicle of the Roman Emperors: The Reign-by Reign Record of the Rulers of Imperial Rome by 
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome by 
Dictionary of Classical Antiquities, Mythology, Religion, Literature, and Art by 
The Dictionary of Classical Mythology by 
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations of the Near East and Mediterranean by 
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture by 
Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology by 
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Revised edition by 
Encyclopedia of World Art by 
From Achilles' Heel to Zeus' Shield by 
A Global History of Architecture by 
Goddesses in World Mythology by 
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by 
Handbook of Classical Mythology by 
The Hellenistic World, Second edition by Man, Myth and Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion and the Unknown by 
The Mythical Zoo: An Encyclopedia of Animals in World Myth, Legend, and Literature by 
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome by 
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology by 
The Oxford History of the Classical World by 
The Oxford Illustrated History of the Roman World by 
The Penguin Dictionary of Classical Mythology by 
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece by The Sculpture and Sculptors of the Greeks, Fourth edition by The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Ancient Egypt by 
Warfare in the Classical World: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Weapons, Warriors, and Warfare in the Ancient Civilizations of Greece and Rome by The Library databases listed on this page have been selected as the most relevant databases for this course. You can access these or any other of the Library's 25+ databases from the Library Website or through our A-Z list of databases.
Logging in
When logging in to the Library’s online databases, students will be asked to enter their username and password.
Your username is your student number, followed by @marianopolis.com (e.g. 1234567@marianopolis.com).
Your password is the one you use to log in to the College computers; it is not your Omnivox password.
To learn how to set up your username and password, please see the "Logging into the College computers" section of the "Logging into accounts" page of the Library Orientation LibGuide.
You can access these or any other of the Library's databases from the Library Page on the Marianopolis Website or through our A-Z list of databases.
To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.
All original content in the Marianopolis College Library LibGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
