Skip to Main Content
Main Database (has the most articles on ancient art):
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that covers a wide range of arts and science topics. It is an archival database, which means that all content in JSTOR is at least 5 years old. This also means that many of its resources go back decades, which makes it an excellent source for background information on a topic.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. Choose as many or as few as you want, but always include Academic Search Complete since it is multidisciplinary. When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed".
Erudit This link opens in a new window
A joint project of the Université de Montréal, Université de Laval, UQAM, and several other partners, Érudit contains several Canadian research journals in French and English, including a large amount of Open Access content. You can select a language in the top right corner, with the option for an advanced search below the search box.
ProQuest: Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Reference (CBCA) Complete is a multidisciplinary database. It includes Canadian magazines and scholarly journals that cover a wide range of subjects in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. When searching CBCA Complete, click beside "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" below the search boxes to make sure you're getting the scholarly articles you need.
The links to articles below will only work on campus with college computers. If you are accessing these from home or on your own computer please log in to the appropriate database first, then search for the article by its title.