Skip to Main Content
Online streaming video databases
CAN-CORE Academic Video This link opens in a new window
CAN-CORE Academic Video is a growing collection 100% Canadian produced educational videos, including documentaries from major producers such as CTV and McIntyre Media. The database includes a strong focus on content created by and about indigenous peoples of Canada.
Selection of videos from this database:
Angels of Mercy (Streaming Video)
Canada's Nursing Sisters were the first women to be fully accepted into a military force in Word Wars I and II, and in doing so they advanced the cause of women. "Angels of Mercy" tells the story of these brave women and pays homage to their actions. Featuring interviews with several Nursing Sisters from the two wars, this program documents the hardship, sacrifice, and terror these women faced in caring for the soldiers and serving their country, as well as the camaraderie and relationships they developed.
Arthur Currie - Master of War: The Great War Tour (Streaming Video)
"General Sir Arthur Currie led the Canadian Corps to a series of spectacular victories hastening the end of the Great War. Norm Christie retraces Currie's rise from amateur soldier to the most successful Allied general. He asks why Currie was feted throughout Europe and the Empire yet maligned by enemies and forgotten at home."
Beaumont Hamel, France (Streaming Video)
"On July 1st, 1916, the men of Newfoundland stormed into battle in a small field outside the village of Beaumont Hamel, northern France. The 801 men of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment advanced point blank into the German machine guns. After just 30 minutes of fighting, there were only 68 men left to answer the regimental roll call. Almost every outport, village and town in Newfoundland lost men in the battle. An entire generation wiped out in one day. Today the battle site is one of only two national historic sites outside Canada."
Canvas of Conflict (Streaming Video)
"Art deals with creation; war deals with destruction. 'Canvas of Conflict' deals with this contradiction. Throughout World War I, thousands of paintings and sketches were commissioned by the Canadian Government to create a permanent record of our role in the conflict. This War Art Program was inspired by Canadian born Lord Beaverbrook, but it was 1917 before they hired Canadian artists. Future members of the Group of Seven were determined to develop a unique Canadian war art style. A. Y. Jackson, Fred Varley and David Milne all recorded aspects of the war. Arthur Nantel was captured at the second battle of Ypres, and painted while he was a prisoner of war. Other artists like Arthur Lismer and Franz Johnston stayed at home and recorded the work of women in factories and the development of aviation. The art of World War I and its creators varied greatly in style and perspective."
Drawn to Victory: A Nation Soars Series (Streaming Video)
"Tells the story of how aerial photography (with some clever Canadian innovations) led to the development of the greatest tactical weapon of the First World War - accurate battlefield maps. It also shows how in the post-war years, the new technology was applied to Canada's vast swaths of unmapped land, and the first detailed maps of the country's interior were created."
Finding Private Foster: W5 (Streaming Video)
"A high school teacher tries to bring new life to memories of the First World War. Teacher Blake Seward and 23 of his history students explore many battlefields and cemeteries of the two World Wars as they search for the grave sites of soldiers from the Smiths Falls, Ontario area."
The First World War: The People's Story (Streaming Video)
"The First World War: The People's Story draws on an extraordinary and little known archive of two hundred interviews with the last survivors from the battlefields and the home front, filmed over the past twenty-five years. Vivid and heart breaking accounts are told from the main theatres of war – such as Passchendaele and the Somme – as well as on the home front where families were devastated by the loss of loved ones. One of the most catastrophic wars in human history is seen and heard as never before, as emotional testimonies are combined with digitally restored WWI footage to tell The People's Story."
The Frozen Goose (Streaming Video)
"Based on the short story, The Frozen Goose from award-winning Canadian author, artist and photographer Margaret Lindsay Holton. A rural family cope in the aftermath of WWI. Classic Canadiana!
Margaret Lindsay Holton has brought her short story to life in this new production. World War One has ended. The men are coming home from the Great War: tired and worn out. A shell-shocked soldier returns to the farm of his best friend (who died heroically at Vimy Ridge). By virtue of a promise, he tries to 'fill the boots' of Father, Husband and Provider. He fails miserably. The widow is luke-warm, the children are unruly, and he just cannot find work. As his depression prevails, the two young children decide to take matters into their own hands. Bella announces she will work at her Uncle's store, some five miles away. She sets off, with Charlie trailing. All goes well enough. Uncle Harry lends a sympathetic ear to their troubles on the homefront and tops off their visit with a generous gift of a BIG FAT FROZEN GOOSE."
Last Stop to Armageddon: The Camp Hughes Story (Streaming Video)
Last Stop to Armageddon: The Camp Hughes Story is a documentary that examines the First World War through the eyes of a young person exploring the former military training grounds known as Camp Hughes, located near Brandon, Manitoba. It is here that a tangible connection is found to a war fought long ago, and an ocean away.
It is a documentary about creating a connection between today’s young generation and the First World War through Camp Hughes. Even though the actual battlefields are an ocean away and the events were over a hundred years ago, right here in Canada a young Canadian can begin to start to understand by walking the same trenches that the soldiers did. Camp Hughes is more than just a physical connection but a haunting symbol of a tragic conflict and a reminder of the ultimate sacrifice that those who never returned to Canada gave.
The Long Shadow: The Legacies of the Great War in the Twentieth Century Series (Streaming Video)
"Tracing the legacy of the Great War through a hundred years and ten different countries, David Reynolds, historian and professor of International History at Cambridge University, examines how the war that haunted the generation who lived through it and shaped the peace that followed. There is a strange paradox about the Great War. For us now it’s a static, futile and inconclusive conflict. Yet David Reynolds shows how this deadlocked war unleashed huge dynamic forces that have pummeled the whole century since 1914. Over three parts, examining the conflict's impact on politics, identity and national memory, Reynolds builds a powerful argument about the shadow cast by the Great War and the forces it unleashed which we still grapple with today."
The Missing: The Great War Tour (Streaming Video)
"Few Canadians know that 20,000 Canadian soldiers killed in the Great War are still missing. Some lie in unnamed graves others vanished on battlefields in France and Belgium. Norm Christie reveals why so many men disappeared. He solves a 90 year old mystery finding 44 men lost at the Battle of Vimy Ridge."
One Hundred Years of Tragedy Begins, Episode 1 (Streaming Video)
"World War I was the first war in which the newly invented movie camera was used on a wide scale. A terrorist attack on the Balkan Peninsula triggered a war that spread instantly, strewing seeds of misery that still plagues the world today: Science and technology that serve the war, regimes of terror, the conflict in the Middle East. The world we live in is in itself a product of World War I."
Sacred Places: The Great War Tour (Streaming Video)
"Norm Christie takes us to the Western Front battlefields - where 'the real war is in the cemeteries' - to discover how these faraway, exquisitely designed and little visited burial grounds, with their thousands of Canadian dead, are truly our 'sacred places'."
Stories of Courage (Streaming Video)
"Learn about stories of courage from those who lived and died in the World Wars that shaped our proud nation's course."
That Never Happened (Streaming Video)
"That Never Happened reveals the story of Canada's first national internment operations between 1914 - 1920, when over 88,000 people were forced to register and more than 8,500 were wrongfully imprisoned in internment camps across Canada, not for anything they had done but because of where they came from."
Vimy: Flight Path of Heroes: A Nation Soars Series (Streaming Video)
"The past and present come together during a flying celebratory road show that spans two nations and two treasured anniversaries of nationhood. 'Vimy: Flight Path of Heroes' adds to the visceral and visual impact of two significant dates in Canadian history - our 150th anniversary of nationhood and the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge."
The Vimy Pilgrimage: The Great War Tour (Streaming Video)
"Norm Christie reveals the extraordinary story of the largest peacetime armada in Canadian history - the spectacular 1936 Vimy Pilgrimage to Europe - to honor the 60,000 dead of the Great War - and to unveil Canada's magnificent war memorial at Vimy Ridge."
Vimy Ridge - The Soldiers' Story, France (Streaming Video)
"In the cold dawn of Easter Monday on April 9, 1917 the Canadian trenches facing Vimy Ridge erupt with fire as 1,000 artillery pieces launch one of the most devastating barrages of World War I. Vimy Ridge would become the most influential battle of World War I and themodel for the great allied offensive of 1918. It dramatically revealed how innovative tactics combined with iron courage and heroic self-sacrifice enabled Canadian soldiers to transform a field of slaughter into a field of glory. The memorial is one of only two National Historic Sites outside of Canada - the land donated by the French government houses a massive sculpture memorial, preserved underground Trenches, a burial ground for Canadian soldiers and a park created to resemble the woods and forests of Canada."
Where the Poppies Grow: The Lakehead at War (Streaming Video)
"Where the Poppies Grow is a moving short docu-drama about one soldier and his community during the Great War. The film takes its name from John McRae’s poem, In Flanders Fields and includes the story of the meeting in 1921 in Port Arthur, ON, where the poppy was designated an international symbol of remembrance. Alfred Saxberg was a first generation Finnish Canadian who signed up at the beginning of the war and was fortunate to return home in 1919. The film follows Saxberg as he enlists, trains and heads off to battle in Europe. Back in the Lakehead, family and community members send assistance and encouragement as they make their own sacrifices and face their own tragedies. Alfred’s story is but one story of the war, but it is typical of the experience of many thousands of Canadian soldiers and their loved ones at home."
Wings of Courage: A Nation Soars Series (Streaming Video)
"Aviation experiences a massive technological and tactical progression during the course of the First World War that forever changes the nature of warfare. Wings of Courage showcases the various roles Canada's early aviators played through the moving profiles of five notable Canadian pilots."
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video database of documentary and feature films from a wide range of sources, including the BBC, PBS, TED, National Geographic, and more.
Selection of videos from this database:
Civilians at War: Time to Remember (Streaming Video)
"This episode illustrates the impact of two world wars on the UK's civilian population. Here are the war stories from the home front. Included is newsreel footage of circus elephants being used as farm animals during the Great War; a pram protected against gas attack; footage of Londoners bedding down in the Underground during World War Two; and the celebrations at the end of both global conflicts."
Conflict in the Modern World: The Origins of World War I and World War II (Streaming Video)
This program looks at the world prior to World War I, the rise of Hitler, and the tensions leading to World War II to shed light on how major international conflicts begin. Students are provided with a historical outline of the powers of this time, the countries and key people involved, and an unfolding of events as they happened around the world.
Drawn To Victory: A Nation Soars (Streaming Video)
"If it wasn’t for attaching cameras to First World War biplanes the Allies may have not won the war, Canada and the world would have taken much longer to map, and Google Earth might not exist. This documentary surprisingly reveals that the greatest tactile weapon of the First World War was not a “weapon” in the traditional sense. Rather it was made of paper... accurate and reliable maps!"
A Farewell To Arms (Streaming Video)
"This 1932 adaptation of Ernest Hemingway's classic war novel emphasizes the romance between Frederic Henry and Catherine Barkley. Many critics consider it to be the best film version of any of Hemingway's works Starring Gary Cooper and Helen Hayes."
FedFlix: World War I, 1914–1918—Evolution of Modern Warfare, Lesson 8 (Streaming Video)
"This program from the Combat Studies Institute provides an overview World War I, focusing on the way warfare changed drastically during and as a result and through the course of the war. It looks at what happened when war plans such as the Schlieffen Plan and the British naval strategy clashed with reality, and the strategies that developed to try to break the stalemate. It looks at the consequences of unprecedented level of mobilization of society and total war for the course of the war, and the way World War I shaped military history in World War II and beyond. The way technology changes tactics, and the leadership of field commanders to envision the use of new ideas, are other themes. Panelists also discuss the American role and mobilization."
The Harlem Hellfighters' Great War (Streaming Video)
"In 1917, the 15th regiment of the NY National Guard, made up exclusively of black soldiers, was sent to fight the Great War in Europe. They discovered the horrors of the battlefields but also a place where there was no racial segregation. Not only they went to Old Continent to fight liberty and democracy, but also one that was waged in their own country - the war for racial equality. They were the most decorated American soldiers of the First World War as the fought on the front line for the longest time: 191 days. Their hoped was that when they came back home they would finally be considered as full-fledged US citizens. That was not the case. Through interviews of their family members, letters, and archive film, we will discover their story."
I Was There: The Great War Interviews (Streaming Video)
"The Imperial War Museum in London holds an extraordinary treasure trove of First World War eyewitness testimony. Filmed 50 years ago for the BBC's landmark series The Great War, only a tiny fraction of this footage ever made it to air. This program delves into this vault of powerful, personal interviews with soldiers and civilians, so that their voices can be heard for the first time. This poignant film brings the conflict to vivid and shocking new life: from the horrors of artillery bombardment and the anguish of young men forced to become killers, to fleeting outbreaks of peace on the battlefield, and the heartbreaking stories of the women on the home front who lost those closest to them. This is the Great War as visceral, lived experience, with eyewitnesses still spry, alert and passionate. Finally, they are given their chance to speak directly to us across time."
The Last Day of World War I (Streaming Video)
"The final hour and day of World War I - 11 o'clock on November 11, 1918 - were decided upon well in advance. Why, then, were more than 13,000 soldiers killed that last morning of the war? Based on Joseph E. Persico's book 11th Month, 11th Day, 11th Hour, this A&E Special reveals how Allied leaders found outrageous excuses to send thousands of soldiers to their deaths against a defeated enemy. Why did they do it? Rare footage and photos from the conflict's last hours form a chilling indictment of the horror and pointlessness of war."
Modern Marvels: World War I Tech (Streaming Video)
"WWI exposed the dark side of the industrial revolution. Technological achievements that created mass production and new forms of transportation were put to use with devastating efficiency on the battlefield. Learn how tanks, aircraft, trenches, artillery, and chemical weapons were all revolutionized during this global conflict."
A Nation Soars - Flight Path of Heroes (Streaming Video)
"A Nation Soars brings the past and the present together in commemorating the First World War with driven and passionate flyers, breathtaking action sequences, and dynamic visual storytelling to deliver a truly intimate, impactful and exhilarating viewing experience! Narrated by Dan Aykroyd.The past and the present dramatically come together during the 100th Anniversary celebrations of the Battle of Vimy Ridge in Vimy, France. This program presents the epic journey of a squadron of former and active RCAF pilots and their replica FWW biplanes as they travel from British Columbia to France to participate in Canada’s official commemoration event on April 9th, 2017. Experience a gracious and historic homage to the bravery and sacrifices of Canadian pilots and soldiers who fought and died at the site of one of Canada’s greatest First World War victories."
The Pity of War (Streaming Video)
"The First World War was one of the great turning points of modern history. We know - or think we know - where and when it began. In the Bosnian capital of Sarajevo, on 28 June 1914, a Bosnian Serb named Gavrilo Princip murdered the heir to the Austro-Hungarian dual monarchy. But how and why did this crisis in the Balkans escalate into a bloody global conflagration? Did Britain really have to fight a war against Germany? And what did this war say about humankind's propensity for violence? In this fascinating and fresh take on the Great War, Harvard historian Professor Niall Ferguson argues that much of the responsibility for the scale of the conflict lies with the British. He suggests that Britain's decision to enter the war in 1914 was not merely tragic for the those who lost their lives, it was also a catastrophic error that unleashed an era of totalitarianism and genocide around the world."
Remembering The Front: World War I Feature (Streaming Video)
"Three quarters of a century after the great war, debate continues over the political and military leadership, of all countries involved in the conflict. In late July and early August 1914, the great powers of Europe embarked on a course of action that would claim millions of lives, topple empires, reshape the political structure of the continent, and contribute to an even more destructive conflict a generation later. Known at the time as the Great War or simply the World War, the conflict that is today called World War I."
The Unfinished Nation-To End All Wars? (Streaming Video)
"American troops entered World War I when it seemed the Allies could not hold out against the Germans any longer. Trace the steps that led to the end of World War I and secured the position of the United States as a world leader."
The War Poets (Streaming Video)
"The futility and madness of the First World War was the spur for some of the most moving poetry ever written, but the young men who brought the voice of reason to the Great War were themselves part of a long tradition of war poetry. This program traces the development of the art of war poetry from Anglo-Saxon times to the early 20th century and the works of Brooke, Owen, and Sassoon. Using extensive feature film footage as well as contemporary images, the program brings a new vitality to the checkered tales of heroism, cowardice, luck, valor, and misery which together form the experiences of war over the centuries. Jon Stallworthy of Oxford University, one of the world's foremost authorities on war poetry, analyzes the works."
The War to End All Wars… And Its American Veterans (Streaming Video)
"Relying on newly discovered archival footage, memoirs from the fallen and expert commentary from scholars, this documentary tells the story of World War I from the American perspective: it's Ace pilots, mine-laying sailors, heroic doughboys, Harlem Hellfghters, and courageous nurses."
Women of World War One (Streaming Video)
"In 1914, women all over Europe were experiencing the impact of a war that reached into every corner of people’s lives. In Britain, war came to the Home Front and in doing so ushered in a seismic shift in the lives of women far from the front line of battle, and this fascinating program is filled with examples of women from all walks of life, every class and every corner of Britain, and their contributions to the war effort – in the factories, the banks, pulpits and even football pitches. This is their story and shows how, ultimately, victory lay not just in leaving the traditional confines of their lives behind and shouldering responsibility as never before, but culminated in women gaining the vote. The Enfranchisement Bill passed on 6 February 1918 can be attributed to Britain’s wartime women fighting on the Home Front."
World War I (Streaming Video)
"From the Archduke Franz Ferdinand in Sarajevo to the delegates signing the Versailles Treaty, this program covers the events that set off the war and the war itself: the German invasion of Belgium; the Battle of the Marne, of Ypres, Verdun, the Somme, Gallipoli; the naval Battle of Jutland, the sinking of the Blucher, and the German U-boat campaign; airplanes, Zeppelins, and the newly-invented tank; the U.S. entry into the war; the last massive German attack and the Allied counter-attack, while Germany’s allies were crumbling; and the most immediate effects of the war: the downfall of Kaiser Wilhelm of Germany, Kaiser Franz-Josef of Austria, and Tsar Nicholas of Russia; the Russian Revolution and the birth of the Soviet State; and the Treaty of Versailles, which was intended to end the bloodiest war of all time but succeeded instead in starting a bloodier one yet."
World War I: Clash of Empires (Streaming Video)
"Preceded by a rush of naïve optimism, World War I swiftly demonstrated the awful might and unheroic nature of modern warfare, shattering European innocence and pulling America onto the world stage. This ABC News program anchored by Peter Jennings documents the course of the war that blighted a generation—and the punitive peace that ensured future enmity. From the prewar arms race between Germany and Britain to the stalemate on the Western Front, Germany’s last grab for victory, America’s knock-out blow, and the Treaty of Versailles, the program offers an overview of a catastrophic chapter of 20th-century history."
World War I: French Troops (Streaming Video)
"French Troops in trenches and towns near front during World War I."
World War I: Memories Of Armistice Day (Streaming Video)
"A look back at memories of armistice day from the end of world war one. Armistice Day is commemorated every year on 11 November to mark the armistice signed between the Allies of World War I and Germany at Compiègne, France for the cessation of hostilities on the Western Front of World War I, which took effect at eleven in the morning—the "eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month" of 1918. But, according to Thomas R. Gowenlock, an intelligence officer with the U.S. First Division, shelling from both sides continued for the rest of the day, ending only at nightfall.The armistice initially expired after a period of 36 days and had to be extended several times."
World War I: On the Home Front (Streaming Video)
"A part of the series America in the 20th Century. While the doughboys were fighting the war “over there,” Americans at home were busy supporting it. This program looks at the domestic issues facing the United States during its involvement in World War I. Included are discussions of the changing industrial workforce, the growth of the women’s suffrage movement, African-American migration to the North and the racial tensions that followed, erosion of American civil liberties during the war, Wilson’s idealistic Fourteen Points, and the punitive Treaty of Versailles."
World War I: The Death of Glory (Streaming Video)
"After World War I, after the destruction of the old world order, nothing was recognizable - and what was rebuilt was only a shadow of the greatness and history that had been destroyed. Using graphic footage, commentary by leading experts, battlefield tours, archival artifacts, and previously unpublished images from L'Album de la Guerre: 1914 - 1919, this A&E Special argues that the Great War had a more profound effect on civilization than any other war in history, before or since."
World War I: The War in Europe (Streaming Video)
"A part of the series America in the 20th Century. This program illustrates the events of World War I as it was waged in the conflict’s primary theater of operations, Europe. Topics include the root causes of the war and the military alliances that ignited it; the introduction of modern weaponry such as machine guns, poison gas, fighter planes, and U-boats; America’s decisive involvement, including the participation of women and African-Americans; U.S. economic policies; and public support for the war effort."
World War I: The War That Failed to End Wars (Streaming Video)
"In 1914, the participants thought it would be a short war, to be fought on the order of Austerlitz with charging cavalry, the battle lasting an afternoon. But that's not the way it turned out, and when the war was over, so was the world from which it had sprung. Both sides were certain they knew what they were fighting for and that their side was right, but it is hard to see now what World War I achieved other than to destroy a whole generation of men, establish mechanization as a measure of strength in war, destroy the economies of Europe-and set the stage for World War II."
The World’s War (Part 1): Martial Races (Streaming Video)
"In part one of this BBC production, "Martial Races," Military Historian David Olusoga challenges our perceptions of the First World War with the stories of the millions of Indian, African, and Asian troops and ancillaries who fought and died alongside white European troops on the Western front and elsewhere."
The World’s War (Part 2): Foreign Legions (Streaming Video)
"In part two, historian David Olusoga explains how the First World War spread far beyond the mud and trenches of France and Belgium. Extraordinary stories from across the world reveal how millions of Indian, African, and Asian troops and ancillaries were caught in its destructive path."
Selection of videos from this database:
Aftermath: The Remnants of War (Streaming Video)
This feature-length documentary reveals the unspoken truth about war - it never really ends. Archival images and personal stories portray the lingering devastation of war. Filmed on location in Russia, France, Bosnia and Vietnam, the film features individuals involved in the cleanup of war: de-miners who risk their lives on a daily basis, psychologists working with distraught soldiers, and scientists and doctors who struggle with the contamination of dioxin used during Vietnam. Based on the Gelber Award-winning book by Donovan Webster, this film conveys the fact that war doesn't end when the fighting stops.
And We Knew How to Dance: Women in World War I (Streaming Video)
"This feature documentary profiles 12 Canadian women who entered the male-dominated world of munitions factories and farm labour during World War I. In 1994, aged 86 to 101, these women recall their wartime work experiences and the ways in which their commitment and determination helped lead the way to postwar social changes for women."
Canada in World War One (Streaming Video)
"Canada’s role in the Allied Forces during the conflict is explored in this film, showing the brutal realities of trench warfare experienced by Canadian troops. These years of enemy bombings and shooting, left some 60, 000 soldiers dead."
Fields of Sacrifice (Streaming Video)
This 1964 documentary returns to the battlefields where over 100,000 Canadian soldiers lost their lives in the First and Second World Wars. The film also visits cemeteries where servicemen are buried. Filmed from Hong Kong to Sicily, this documentary is designed to show Canadians places they have reason to know but may not be able to visit. Produced for the Canadian Department of Veteran Affairs by the renowned documentary filmmaker Donald Brittain.
Freedom Had a Price (Streaming Video)
"A disturbing documentary of Canada's first national alien-internment operation. It tells the little-known story of Ukrainian immigrants who found themselves subject to discriminatory and repressive measures during World War I."
Front Lines (Streaming Video)
"A tribute to the combatants in the First World War, this film traces the conflict through the war diary and private letters of five Canadian soldiers and a nurse. Hearing them, the listener detects between the lines an unspoken horror censored by war and propriety.
The film mingles war footage, historical photos and readings of excerpts from the diary and letters. The directorial talent of Claude Guilmain breathes life into these 90-year-old documents and accompanying archival images so that we experience the human face and heart of the conflict."
Front Lines: Faith and Hope (Streaming Video)
"This short documentary made in 2008 reflects on how religion and faith became a solace to many Canadians serving in the First World War. On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of the year 2008, 90 years will have passed since the signing of the Armistice ending the Great War in Europe. More than 600,000 men and women crossed the Atlantic with the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and more than 60,000 of them never returned. Front Lines features veterans' letters to their families and images from the NFB archives, the Canadian War Museum and Library and Archives Canada."
Front Lines: Nurses at the Front (Streaming Video)
"This short documentary made in 2008 looks at the role of nurses and health workers during wartime. Long days, brutal injuries and both sad and triumphant outcomes are part of their reality. On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of the year 2008, 90 years will have passed since the signing of the Armistice ending the Great War in Europe. More than 600,000 men and women crossed the Atlantic with the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and more than 60,000 of them never returned. Front Lines features veterans' letters to their families and images from the NFB archives, the Canadian War Museum and Library and Archives Canada."
Front Lines: The Life of the Soldier (Streaming Video)
"This short documentary made in 2008 looks at the gruelling life of a soldier in the First World War. The letters home speak of the physical and emotional hardships and the mental strain of what they witness on the battlefield. On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of the year 2008, 90 years will have passed since the signing of the Armistice ending the Great War in Europe. More than 600,000 men and women crossed the Atlantic with the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and more than 60,000 of them never returned. Front Lines features veterans' letters to their families and images from the NFB archives, the Canadian War Museum and Library and Archives Canada."
Front Lines: The Officer's Role (Streaming Video)
"This short documentary made in 2008 looks at First World War officers. They often wrote reports and updates to headquarters. With all the devastation that they would see, they still needed to encourage their troops to not give up hope. On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of the year 2008, 90 years will have passed since the signing of the Armistice ending the Great War in Europe. More than 600,000 men and women crossed the Atlantic with the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and more than 60,000 of them never returned. Front Lines features veterans' letters to their families and images from the NFB archives, the Canadian War Museum and Library and Archives Canada."
Front Lines: The Trenches (Streaming Video)
"This short documentary made in 2008 looks at life in the trenches in the First World War. On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of the year 2008, 90 years will have passed since the signing of the Armistice ending the Great War in Europe. More than 600,000 men and women crossed the Atlantic with the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and more than 60,000 of them never returned. Front Lines features veterans' letters to their families and images from the NFB archives, the Canadian War Museum and Library and Archives Canada."
I'm OK (Streaming Video)
"It is 1915, Expressionist artist Oskar Kokoschka’s tempestuous love affair with Alma Mahler ends dramatically and he volunteers to fight in the First World War. This animated film explores Kokoschka’s frame of mind following his heartbreak and the traumatic experience of war, by reflecting on the artist’s prints and paintings."
John McCrae's War: In Flanders Fields (Streaming Video)
"This feature documentary profiles poet John McCrae, from his childhood in Ontario to his years in medicine at McGill University and the WWI battlefields of Belgium, where he cared for wounded soldiers. Generations of schoolchildren have recited McCrae’s iconic poem “In Flanders Fields,” but McCrae and Alexis Helmer—the young man whose death inspired the poem—have faded from memory. This film seeks to revive their stories through a vivid portrait of a great man in Canadian history."
The Kid Who Couldn't Miss (Streaming Video)
"Paul Cowan's feature-length film combines fiction and reality to tell the story of how William Avery (Billy) Bishop became one of the leading fighter pilots of World War I. By no accounts a biography of Billy Bishop, the film uses a 'docu-drama' approach to show how one person goes from being a brash kid from Ontario to Canada's most decorated military figure."
Paris 1919 (Streaming Video)
"This feature-length film, based on Margaret MacMillan's acclaimed book of the same name, takes us inside the most ambitious peace talks in history. Revisiting the event with a vivid sense of narrative, the film evokes a pivotal moment when peace seemed possible, and reflects on the hard-learned lessons of history."
Return to Vimy (Streaming Video)
"In this short film, a young woman visits the Vimy Memorial to make a charcoal imprint of the engraved name of her great-grandfather who was lost in battle. She brings with her a notebook of sketches and diary entries that he made during his preparation for battle. The sketches transform into colourized archive footage and take us back in time to revisit the daily lives of the Canadian Corps soldiers."
The Van Doos, 100 Years with the Royal 22e Régiment (Streaming Video)
"This documentary marks the 100th anniversary of the Royal 22e Régiment, the only French-speaking Canadian battalion to fight in the First World War. Widely known by its colloquial name, “The Van Doos”, the battalion served with distinction on several fronts, including both world wars, the Korean War, and in numerous U.N. peacekeeping operations. This film offers a moving tribute to both the living veterans and the lost soldiers of the Van Doos. Their personal stories and narratives bring a little-known page of our history books to life. This vibrant elegy features a moving score by Claude Naubert performed live by the regimental formation La Musique du Royal 22e Régiment."
DVD films in the Library's collection
To borrow these films, please go to the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor of the Marianopolis Library and ask for the film by title or DVD number.
14 War Stories (DVD)
Experience fourteen true and emotional accounts of World War One from the letters and journals of those that actually lived it.
Fennario: The Good Fight (DVD)
"A journey into the life of one of Canada's great playwrights (David Fennario) and into the soul of a man who has never stopped fighting for the causes he believes in. This documentary draws on contemporary issues around militarism and war manufacturing in Canada, while remembering the war we fought to end all wars."
The First World War: The Complete Series (DVD)
The popular view of the First World War is dominated by cliche. Young soldiers were led to ghastly deaths in muddy wastes on the Western Front by incompetent generals for reasons that were seemingly futile. And although cliches are not necessarily lies, they are, at best, a selective view of the truth.
Honour Before Glory (DVD)
Tells the story of Canada's only all-black battalion. Illustrates how this unique battalion survived hatred and discrimination during World War I. Combines archival film footage, personal interviews and dramatizations.
Joyeux Noel = Merry Christmas (DVD)
Based on the true story of three armies in the bloody trenches of World War I and the miraculous Christmas Eve truce they unexpectedly forge (French or German dialogue, English or French subtitles).
My Boy Jack (DVD)
It's 1914 and the British Empire's greatest supporter, Rudyard Kipling, is at the peak of his literary fame. Kipling's son, Jack, is determined to play his part in the imminent war with Germany but finds himself rejected due to his poor eyesight. Kipling uses his influence to land Jack a commission in the Irish Guards. Kipling's wife, Caroline, is bitterly upset, failing to see the glory in losing her only son to the war. How will the great writer, torn between his two greatest passions--devotion to King and Country and love for his family--justify the consequences of his actions to himself and his wife?
Based on the novel by Pat Barker: In the midst of WWI, Edinburgh's Craiglockhart Hospital is crowded with traumatized soldiers scarred by the horrors of battle.
Un Long Dimanche de Fiancailles = A Very Long Engagement (DVD)
Mathilde is waiting desperately for her fiance to return from the war. When bad news arrives she refuses to believe he is dead. Instead, she begins her own investigation into his infantry, hiring a private detective and piecing together his war stories (Soundtrack in French; subtitles in English, French or Spanish).