603-LE-MS: Creative Writing in Canada's North - Summer 2025 (Dann): Selected Library databases

The premier dictionary of the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary, or OED for short, includes the modern definitions of words as well as details on their historical origins.

Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

Salem Press Online a platform for specialized reference works from Salem Press and Grey House Publishing. Our current Salem Press holdings include:

• Magill’s Medical Guide, 9th & 8th editions, which covers disease, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and medical issues. Includes sidebars that address recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders for quick reference.


• Masterplots, 4th edition, with 2010-2018 supplement, a collection of 2,407 essays about English-language and world literature. Each essay examines a literary work in detail, giving plot synopses, critical theories about the work, and resources for further reading.


• Notable African American Writers, 2nd edition, includes 500 detailed author biographies, topical entries on their works, primary documents, and more.


• Digital Literacy: Skills and Strategies, which provides a comprehensive collection of essays to help students, educators, and researchers understand the key and fundamental terms associated with digital literacy.

Canadian Major Dailies contains articles from all of the major English-language Canadian newspapers. Coverage includes the latest issue and, in many cases, goes back to the late 1970s/early 1980s.