Libguides: 202-701-MS: Chemistry (Arts and Sciences): The Solvay Conference and the Quantum Ten (Jinbacian): Selected reference sources

The Library's databases

You can access these or any other of the Library's databases from the Library Page on the Marianopolis Website or through our A-Z list of databases.

Logging in

To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.

Encyclopedia databases

The Library's encyclopedia databases are a great source for quick information or for getting background information on a topic when you're beginning your research. They cover a wide range of subjects, so it is likely to find plenty of initial biographical information on all of the Solvay conference attendees, especially the Quantum ten. These databases can also be found on the Find dictionaries and encyclopedias page of the Library section of the Marianopolis website.

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Encyclopedia Universalis This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Universalis is a French-language general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 15 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest for this project is the Encyclopedia of World Biography, which has extensive biographic entries for most of significant attendees of the 1927 Solvay Conference.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. When using it for this project, it is recommended that you start by selecting "Science and Technology" under "Subject" in the top menu bar, then searching for an individual figure within the "Science and Technology" resources. Most of the Quantum ten and the other major figures at the 1927 Solvay conference will have several entries, including a biographical overviews.