Libguides: Science Fair LibGuide: Research

The Library's databases

You can access these or any other of the Library's databases from the Library Page on the Marianopolis Website or through our A-Z list of databases.

Logging in

To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.

Journal databases

These databases contain articles from both academic journals (journals that are written, edited and published by experts in academic fields) and some popular magazines (written by journalists or other professional authors). They cover a wide range of subjects, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, literature, fine arts, and more. These databases can also be found on the Find journal and newspaper articles page of the Library section of the Marianopolis website.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."
ProQuest: Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Database is a multidisciplinary database of Canadian content. It includes Canadian magazines and scholarly journals that cover a wide range of subjects in the Social Sciences, Humanities and Sciences. It is an excellent resource if your topic requires a uniquely Canadian perspective.
When searching CBCA Complete, click beside "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" below the search boxes to make sure you're getting the scholarly articles you need.

eBook databases

The Library has two eBook databases. The contents of both of these databases are linked directly through the Library Catalogue, so we recommend that you search for eBooks through the Catalogue instead of searching through the databases individually. However, when you are off campus, or when you want to access a book that you already know is in one of our eBook databases, you will need to log in to the databases directly. As a result, we have provided links to the two eBook databases below. These databases can also be found on the Find books and eBooks page of the Library website.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With more than 30,000 items in a wide range of academic subjects, Ebook Central is the Library's largest collection of eBooks. Every book in this collection can be viewed by an unlimited number of users, so none of the books are ever unavailable. Search the collection for works on your topic, or browse the "computers and IT," "engineering and technology," "life sciences," "medicine," or "physical sciences" to see all the works contained in those subject areas.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks has a small number of Science-based texts. However, they tend to have more of a historical value rather than usefulness to current research.

Reference databases

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

Open Access Databases and Journals

The Open Access Movement aims to make scholarly information, in every subject and in a variety of digital formats, free and easy to access to anyone who has an internet connection. In this section, you will find a selection of Open Access databases and journals that will be of use to you in your research. To learn more about Open Access, consult the Library's Open Access LibGuide.

BioMed Central - BMC (Open Access Resource)
Description: A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series. Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.
Subject(s): Sciences
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles
Language(s): English
Usage: Either use the search box at the top of the page or browse through the journals by clicking on "Explore journals."
Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ (Open Access Resource)
Description: DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles
Language(s): English, French, Multilingual
Usage: Use the search box on the main page to search by journal or article title.
Hindawi Publishing Corporation (Open Access Resource)
Description: One of the world's largest fully open access journal publishers. We believe in openness, in scholarly publishing and research communication.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles
Language(s): English
Usage: Either use the search box at the top right of the page, which will lead to advanced search options with your results, or browse by "Journals."
Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute - MDPI (Open Access Resource)
Description: MDPI is a pioneer in scholarly open access publishing and has supported academic communities since 1996.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles, Conference Proceedings, Others
Language(s): English
Usage: Either use the search on the main page, or browse by subject or journal.
Public Library of Science - PLoS (Open Access Resource)
Description: PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Subject(s): Sciences
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles
Language(s): English
Usage: Either use the search box at the top right of the page, or select one of the journals below "PLOS JOURNALS" to browse.
PubMed Central - PMC (Website)
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). You can search for articles using the search box along the top, or select the "Advanced" search.
Science Direct (Open Access Resource)
Description: From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles, Books
Language(s): English, French, Multilingual
Usage: Use the "Advanced Search" on this page or click on "Journals & Books" to browse publications.
SpringerOpen (Open Access Resource)
Description: The SpringerOpen portfolio has grown tremendously since its launch in 2010, so that we now offer researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles, Books
Language(s): English
Usage: Either use the search box at the top of the page or select one of the browsing options below.

Open Access websites

The Open Access Movement aims to make scholarly information, in every subject and in a variety of digital formats, free and easy to access to anyone who has an internet connection. In this section, you will find a selection of Open Access websites that will be of use to you in your research. To learn more about Open Access, consult the Library's Open Access LibGuide.

BioMed Central - BMC (Open Access Resource)
Description: A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series. Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.
Subject(s): Sciences
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles
Language(s): English
Usage: Either use the search box at the top of the page or browse through the journals by clicking on "Explore journals."
Copernicus Publications (Website)
Description: "We promote the sciences by organizing conferences and exhibitions worldwide, publishing highly reputable peer-reviewed open-access journals, supporting associations in the [fulfillment] of their tasks, and developing appropriate software solutions for achieving these aims."
Subject(s): Sciences
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles, Conference Proceedings
Language(s): English
Usage: You can browse the journals alphabetically or by subject, then click on the "Articles" link below the journal of your choice, to be able to search or browse articles within it.
Oxford University Press - OUP: Oxford Open (Open Access Resource)
Description: Open access (OA) is a key part of how Oxford University Press (OUP) supports our mission to achieve the widest possible dissemination of high-quality research.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Resource Type(s): Journal Articles, Books
Language(s): English
Usage: Either search directly at the top right of the page or click on "Advanced Search." Before browsing the results, select "Open Access" and "Free" under "Availability" from the limiters to the left of the results.
Sage Publishing: Pure Gold Open Access Journals (Open Access Resource)
Description: All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed retaining the quality hallmarks of the academic publishing process that authors would experience in publishing in any traditional SAGE journal.
Subject(s): Multidisciplinary
Document Type(s): Journal Articles
Language(s): English
Usage: You can browse the list of Sage's open access journals on this page. Once you select a journal you can browse or search for articles within it.

Science Fair LibGuide: Research

Carrying out research