Libguides: 603-LPE-MS: Power of Representation (Carrier): Selected journal databases

The Library's databases

You can access these or any other of the Library's databases from the Library Page on the Marianopolis Website or through our A-Z list of databases.

Logging in

To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.

Scholarly article databases

Another useful source for information are the Library's Journal Databases. These databases contain full-text PDFs of tens of thousands of articles from thousands of academic journals. When doing literary research, the following databases are going to be the most useful to you.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).