Libguides: 330-101-MS: Post-Classical History (Chew): Selected Library databases

Finding reference articles

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Encyclopedia Universalis This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Universalis est la plus importante encyclopédie généraliste de langue française. Elle est dédiée à la recherche documentaire, la culture générale, et l’enseignement.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

The best and fastest way to find books and ebooks on your topic is to Search the Library Catalogue.

You can also search the Library's ebook databases directly. For history research, we recommend the following databases:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With more than 70,000 items in a wide range of academic subjects, Ebook Central is the Library's largest collection of eBooks. Every book in this collection can be viewed by an unlimited number of users, so none of the books are ever unavailable.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. However, when researching Post-Classical History, we recommend using only the Academic Search Complete database. This database has the largest selection of history research of all of the EBSCO databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).