Skip to Main Content
Books on this page
The items listed on this page are a mixture of books and eBooks. When using each, there are a few things to remember:
- Books - Note the Call Number listed with each book. You will need this number to find the book on the shelf. Physical books can be kept in several different collections in the Library. To find out which collection each book is in, click on the title to go to the Library catalogue. In the catalogue, look at the bottom right corner of the screen, where it says "location." Under ‘location’, you will see one of these options:
- Available - See a Librarian for Assistance: These books are part of the Library's Circulating Collection. They are currently housed on the C-100 level of the library, which is closed to students. To use any of these books, please ask for them at the Circulation Desk. It will take approximately 24 hours to retrieve the book, and we will MIO you when it is available for pickup.
- Reserve Collection: These books have been placed in the Reserve Collection by professors for specific courses. Ask for them at the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor.
- New Book Section: These are recent additions to our collections. Find them on the Main Floor, on the shelves near the Circulation Desk.
- Graphic Novel Section: These books are part of our Graphic Novel Collection. Find them on the Main Floor, beside the New Books section.
- Main Floor: These books are part of the Reference Collection on the Main Floor.
- eBook: These books are part of our online eBook collections. Click on the title of the book, then on the small link labeled "URL" in the Library catalogue to access the eBook. You will be asked to log in to the database. To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.
- In Cataloguing OR In Processing: These books are currently being catalogued or processed for addition to the Library's collections. If you see a book with this status that interests you, ask about the book at the Circulation Desk.
- Material at the bindery: These books are currently out for rebinding, and will be returned to the Library soon. Until they return, the books are unavailable.
Nepal Good Reads
The following books are suggest fiction reads for students during their down time while on the trip. They all relate to Nepal and Nepalese culture.
Anil's Ghost by
Call Number: C813.54 O58A 2001
Publication Date: 2001
City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi by
Call Number: 954.56052 D151C 2013
Publication Date: 1996
'Could you show me a djinn?' I asked. 'Certainly,' replied the Sufi. 'But you would run away.' This is William Dalrymple's captivating memoir of a year spent in Delhi, a city watched over and protected by the mischievous invisible djinns. Lodging with the beady-eyed Mrs Puri and encountering an extraordinary array of characters - from elusive eunuchs to the last remnants of the Raj - William Dalrymple comes to know the bewildering city intimately. He pursues Delhi's interlacing layers of history along narrow alleys and broad boulevards, brilliantly conveying its intoxicating mix of mysticism and mayhem. 'City of Djinns' is an astonishing and sensitive portrait of a city, and confirms William Dalrymple as one of the most compelling explorers of India's past and present.
Family Matters by
Call Number: C813.54 M678F2 2002
Publication Date: 2003
Shortlisted for the 2002 Booker Prize.
A Fine Balance by
Call Number: C813.54 M678F
Publication Date: 1995
Flood of Fire by
Call Number: 823.914 G427F 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Namesake by
Call Number: 813.54 L183N 2003
Publication Date: 2003
River of Smoke by
Call Number: 823.914 G427R 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Sea of Poppies by
Call Number: 823.914 G427S 2009
Publication Date: 2009