Skip to Main Content
These are reputable websites that contain a variety of resources about music.
The Association for Cultural Equity: Research center (Website)
The Association for Cultural Equity provides a priceless collection of recorded music, dance, and the spoken word, including photographs, videos, radio programs and lectures by Alan Lomax.
Europeana Collections: Music (Website)
Europeana Music brings together a selection of the best music recordings, sheet music, and other music related collections from Europe's audio-visual archives, libraries, archives and museums.
Free Music Archive (Website)
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU.
IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library (Website)
The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP), also known as the Petrucci Music Library after publisher Ottaviano Petrucci, is a project for the creation of a virtual library of public domain music scores. You can easily browse or search for music scores.
Internet Archive (Website)
The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Music Division (Website)
The Library of Congress is continually expanding their Digital Collections, including topics related to music, such as the Aaron Copland Collection.
Offers a free music score software as well searchable sheet music.
Musopen is a non-profit organization focused on increasing access to music by creating free resources and educational materials. They provide recordings, sheet music, biographies of musicians, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.
The Mutopia Project (Website)
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical and contemporary music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain.
Open Music Library (Website)
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections. Please note: You must select "Open Access Only" when searching, for resources that are free to use.