Skip to Main Content
Academic Journal Article Databases
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that covers a wide range of arts and science topics. It is an archival database, which means that most content in JSTOR is at least 1-2 years old. This also means that many of its resources go back decades, which makes it an excellent source for background information on a topic. When searching JSTOR, leave "Read and download" selected. This will ensure that you are only accessing the full-text material that is part of the Library's subscription.
ProQuest: Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Reference (CBCA) Complete is a multidisciplinary database of Canadian content. It includes Canadian magazines and scholarly journals that cover a wide range of subjects in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It is an excellent resource if your topic requires a uniquely Canadian perspective. When searching CBCA Complete, click beside "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" below the search boxes to make sure you're getting the scholarly articles you need.
Reference Article Databases
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains information on a wide range of subjects. It's a great starting point for your research.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. medicine and health, science and technology, etc.). For topics related to this course, Oxford Reference primarily has brief dictionary entries.