345-101-MQ: Modernity and Consumer Culture (Sumner): Reference and journal databases

Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.

Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

EBSCO is a collection of databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. For this assignment, the following databases are recommended:

• Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
• Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
• APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
• Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
• SocINDEX - Sociology

When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed".

JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).