345-101-MQ: Making Montreal (Spriggs): Selected websites

An authoritative resource containing biographies for nearly 1,700 architects who working in Canada between 1800 and 1950, both Canadians and architects from other countries. Produced by Robert Hill, Architect.

Online version of the The Canadian Architect and Builder, published between 1888 and 1908. The only professional architectural journal published in Canada before WWI. Produced by McGill University Library Digital Collections.

Digital resources available through the CAC archives include information, images and bibliographies on Montreal architects like the Maxwells, Percy Nobbs and Moshe Safdie.

A major international museum, research collection and study centre devoted to the study of architecture in Canada and around the world. Their library and archives are open by appointment.

A comprehensive, objective and accurate source of information on Canadian history and culture for students, readers and scholars.

Biographies of people who made significant contributions to the development of what is now Canada (and who died between 1000 and 1930). A major bilingual research and publishing collaboration between the University of Toronto and Université Laval.

A database that presents textual and visual information on approximately 130 industrial buildings and their architects. Produced by the Blackader-Lauterman Library of Architecture and Art, McGill University.

Detailed inventory of significant people and places in Old Montreal from 1642 to the 19502. In French.

Full text and images of the book Le fantasme métropolitain : L'architecture de Ross et Macdonald by Jacques Lachapelle. Ross & Macdonald were a very important Montreal architectural firm in the early 20th C. In French.

History of the development of some major Montreal streets, researched by UQAM's Laboratoire d'histoire et de patrimoine de Montréal. In French

An introduction to architecture with pages on building type, architectural styles and traditions and building materials and methods of construction. Includes a glossary of terms.

A condensed version of the first edition of "Breve histoire de Montreal" by Paul-Andre Linteau (Boreal 1992) with over 700 archival documents to view.

The main website for the Archives de Montreal. Contains hundreds of archival photographs. Website is available in French only.

Learn about the history and buildings that characterize Montreal's neighbourhoods. Also includes an interesting section on bridges. Produced by Heritage Montreal with support from Canadian Heritage.

In French. Includes reports generated as a result of public consultations held on various urban projects. Search by date and neighbourhood.

This museum focuses on the archaeological history of Montreal, containing materials found in the area. Pointe-à-Callière is a recognized national and archaeological site in and of itself, and the , the entire bottom floor of the museuam has been build in such a way as to preserve the original digs that were begun on site in 1989, in what is called the "archaeological crypt." This crypt traces the history of the site from when it was a First Nations' campsite in the 14th century to the present day.

Ville de Montréal site outlining the history of Dorchester Square and Place du Canada, the buildings around them, and the restoration/redesign project slated for completion in 2012. In French.

Documents the physical evolution of McGill University, both historically and photographically. Campus design and individual buildings are both covered.