Libguides: 345-101-MQ: Knowledge and Empire (Lortie): Selected Library databases

Finding reference articles

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains the entire Grove Art Encyclopedia, with peer-reviewed articles by nearly 7000 scholars around the world, including images, biographies, and links to additional resources.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains more than 200 specialized reference titles. You can search all 200 titles at once, or search by specific discipline (e.g. literature, medicine and health, music, etc.).

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is an extensive image library for the Arts and Sciences. It contains digital images from major museum collections around the world, archival images, and images of important works of architecture. It is useful for all disciplines, but especially for students of Art History.

Note: As of August 2024, Artstor has been fully migrated to the JSTOR platform. The Artstor content and functionality are still available through the JSTOR platform. Searches may be performed through the JSTOR image search.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. However, not every database in EBSCO will necessarily be useful to you in this couse. With that in mind, here are the EBSCO databases that we recommend:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed".