Libguides: 300-M01-MS: Intellectual Methods in Social Science: Finding sources

The Library's databases

You can access these or any other of the Library's databases from the Library Page on the Marianopolis Website or through our A-Z list of databases.

Logging in

To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.

Books on this page

The items listed on this page are a mixture of books and eBooks. When using each, there are a few things to remember:

Books - Note the Call Number listed with each book. You will need this number to find the book on the shelf. Physical books can be kept in several different collections in the Library. To find out which collection each book is in, click on the title to go to the Library catalogue. In the catalogue, look at the bottom right corner of the screen, where it says "location." Under ‘location’, you will see one of these options:
- Available - See a Librarian for Assistance: These books are part of the Library's Circulating Collection. They are currently housed on the C-100 level of the library, which is closed to students. To use any of these books, please ask for them at the Circulation Desk. It will take approximately 24 hours to retrieve the book, and we will MIO you when it is available for pickup.
- Reserve Collection: These books have been placed in the Reserve Collection by professors for specific courses. Ask for them at the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor.
- New Book Section: These are recent additions to our collections. Find them on the Main Floor, on the shelves near the Circulation Desk.
- Graphic Novel Section: These books are part of our Graphic Novel Collection. Find them on the Main Floor, beside the New Books section.
- Main Floor: These books are part of the Reference Collection on the Main Floor.
- eBook: These books are part of our online eBook collections. Click on the title of the book, then on the small link labeled "URL" in the Library catalogue to access the eBook. You will be asked to log in to the database. To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.
- In Cataloguing OR In Processing: These books are currently being catalogued or processed for addition to the Library's collections. If you see a book with this status that interests you, ask about the book at the Circulation Desk.
- Material at the bindery: These books are currently out for rebinding, and will be returned to the Library soon. Until they return, the books are unavailable.

Finding academic journal articles - EBSCO

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths. Choose as many or as few as you want. Here is a quick rundown of the EBSCO databases and their areas of focus:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- Social Sciences Full Text - Social sciences
- Business Source Elite - Business, economics and commerce
- Regional Business News - Regional business, economics and commerce
- APA PsycARTICLES - Psychology (Published by the American Psychological Association (APA))
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology
- SocINDEX - Sociology
- ERIC - Education/Pedagogical Research
- Education Source - Education/Pedagogical Research
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."

Finding academic journal articles - JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a multidisciplinary archival database that covers a wide range of arts, science, and social science disciplines. Includes access to: Archival Journal Collections (Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, and Public Health Journals), Thematic Collections (Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability), and Primary Source Collections (19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants).

Finding academic journal articles - Érudit

Erudit This link opens in a new window
A joint project of the Université de Montréal, Université de Laval, UQAM, and other partners, Érudit contains several Canadian research journals in French and English, including a large amount of Open Access content.
When using Érudit, remember that you will need to use French keywords to find French articles on your topic. Using English keywords will only find English materials.

Finding books - Search the Library catalogue

Search the Library Catalogue Using the Advanced Search

The fastest and easiest way to search for books and eBooks on your topic is to use the Library Catalogue's Advanced Search. The Advanced Search will give you access to multiple search boxes, which will allow you to apply the techniques we discuss in Creating a Research Plan.

Finding eBooks - ACLS Humanities eBook Collection

ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the Humanities and related Social Sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.

Finding eBooks - Ebook Central

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With more than 60,000 items in a wide range of academic subjects, Ebook Central is the Library's largest collection of eBooks. Every book in this collection can be viewed by an unlimited number of users, so none of the books are ever unavailable.

Finding eBooks - EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks comprises a small but excellent collection of eBooks, aimed primarily at Commerce students. It uses the same interface as the EBSCO journal articles databases.