Skip to Main Content
Finding reference articles
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Encyclopedia Universalis This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Universalis is a French-language general encyclopedia that contains brief information on a wide range of subjects. It's a good starting point for any type of research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of over 300 specialized reference sources on a wide range of topics. Of particular interest is the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, The Encyclopedia Judaica, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, The African American Almanac, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The premier dictionary of the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary, or OED for short, includes the modern definitions of words as well as details on their historical origins.
Finding journal articles
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. However, for the purposes of this course, there is only one of the ten databases that you will want to use: Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database, which means it has material from a wide range of disciplines, including plenty of articles from History journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that covers a wide range of arts and science topics. It is an archival database, which means that all content in JSTOR is at least 5 years old. This also means that many of its resources go back decades, which makes it an excellent source for historical research.
When searching JSTOR, leave "Include only content I can access" checked and uncheck "Include links to external content". This will ensure that you are only accessing the full-text material that is part of the Library's subscription.
ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the Humanities and related Social Sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With more than 60,000 items in a wide range of academic subjects, Ebook Central is the Library's largest collection of eBooks. Every book in this collection can be viewed by an unlimited number of users, so none of the books are ever unavailable.
You can also search for eBooks using the Library's catalogue, which allows you to search all of the ebook databases in one place!