Libguides: Gender and Sex/uality Studies Certificate LibGuide: Library magazines and newspapers

The Library's databases

You can access these or any other of the Library's databases from the Library Page on the Marianopolis Website or through our A-Z list of databases.

To log in to any of the Library's databases, please follow these step-by-step instructions.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a collection of ten databases that you can search simultaneously, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. The following EBSCO databases include newspapers and magazines:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary (Has a little bit of everything)
- MasterFILE Elite - popular magazines
When searching EBSCO, don't forget to click on "Full-Text" and "Peer Reviewed."
ProQuest: Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies contains articles from all of the major English-language Canadian newspapers. Coverage includes the latest issue and, in many cases, goes back to the late 1970s/early 1980s.

The Advocate (Magazine)
The leading source for up-to-date and extensive LGBT news.
- Location: Main Floor Lobby
- Holdings: Feb/Mar 2021- Jan/Feb 2022, Jan/Feb 2024
- Merged with Out Magazine as of March/April 2024.
- Online Access: Available in EBSCO's "Academic Search Complete" database (1996 - present).
Ms. (Magazine)
An American liberal feminist magazine.
- Location: Main Floor and Main Floor Lobby
- Holdings: (Winter 2021- Fall 2022), Winter 2024 - Present
Out (Magazine)
LGBTQ+ lifestyle, entertainment, fashion, design, travel, nightlife, and news magazine.
- Location: Main Floor Lobby
- Holdings: Current year