Skip to Main Content
Online streaming video databases
CAN-CORE Academic Video This link opens in a new window
CAN-CORE Academic Video is a growing collection 100% Canadian produced educational videos, including documentaries from major producers such as CTV and McIntyre Media. The database includes a strong focus on content created by and about indigenous peoples of Canada.
Selection of videos from this database:
Healthy Green Communities: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 1 of the Down2Earth series. Journey to T'Souke First Nation with hosts Steve Sxwithul'txw and Art Napoleon to learn about the story of the greenest community in all of Canada. Cheryl Bryce (Coast Salish) illustrates indigenous food and medicine growing, and community salmon smokehouse cooking.
West Coast Trail Stewardship: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 2 of the Down2Earth series. Nuu-chah-nulth means "all along the mountains and the sea" and it also describes the geography of the West Coast Trail, a rugged 75 km trail that attracts 6,000 international hikers each year. Since 1994, three Nuuchah-nulth communities have shared the management and maintenance of the trail with Parks Canada. Includes a segment from the UN Climate Change Conference with Apache environmentalist Robby Romero.
Development and Culture/ Urban Gardening/ Sustainability and Women's Rights: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 2 of the Down2Earth Series. Journey to the T'silhqot'in First Nation to share the tribe's struggle to limit development and maintain their culture. Next the team shifts gears and gets into urban gardening and getting back to the land in Vancouver; and finally, an interview with activist/physicist Vandana Shiva who promotes sustainability and women's rights.
Land Stewardship: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 4 of the Down2Earth series. The Tsleil-Waututh First Nation is one of three First Nations whose traditional territory is located within the borders of one of Canada's largest cities, North Vancouver, BC. Only a few kilometers from the village is the vast Indian Arm water shed that is the home to elk, deer, bear, salmon, eagles and many other species. The Tsleil-Waututh people co-manage a provincial park, restore salmon streams and maintain forest land in this region. Includes a segment with Nikki Alex, one of many indigenous youth who took part in the UN Climate Change Conference.
Sustainable Building/Saving the Rainforest/Climate Change: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 5 of the Down2Earth series. Architect Alfred Waugh, from the Chipewyan First Nation in the NWT discusses the construction of a sustainably built west coast-style cedar big house at the Universityof Victoria. Eli Enns of the Tla-o-qui-aht Nation discusses how communities can protect their territories through sustainable development and traditional practices. And finally, Pam Gross, and Inuit youth discusses climate change in her northern community of Cambridge Bay.
Sustainable Fisheries/Energy Industry: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 6 of the Down2Earth series. The Huu-ay-aht First Nation, along with the Bamfield Marine Sciences Centre and the community of Bamfield, have worked together to revitalize the endangered pinto abalone, a traditional food source for the Nuu-chah-nulth people. In Vancouver, the C Restaurant purchases and serves the adult abalone from the Bamfield hatchery. Income from the sale of the shellfish is reinvested into the project. Includes a segment with Earl Tulley, a Navajo environmentalist that works with communities adversely affected by the energy industry.
Recycling/Impact of Economic Development and Climate Change: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 7 of the Down2Earth series. The Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community in Arizonahave developed award-winning recycling and landfill centres that contribute to a cleaner environment and help conserve the region's natural resources. Includes a segment with Maria Theresa Lauron of the Philippines. She advocates for small farmers throughout the southern hemisphere whose lives are affected by economic globalization and climate change.
Species and Ecosystem Conservation/Environmental Sustainability/Organic Farming: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 8 of the Down2Earth series. The Nk'mip Desert Cultural Centre in Osoyoos, British Columbia is the site of Canada's only desert eco-system. The centre is at the forefront of rattlesnake and endangered plant conservation; Chavannes Jean-Baptiste founded the Peasant Movement of Papay in Haiti in 1973. Since then, he has been working with peasant farmers to teach them low impact, organic farming techniques.
Agriculture / Saving the Watershed / Protecting Ancestral Lands: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 9 of the Down2Earth series. Every region in the world has its own unique agricultural history, and Arizona is no exception. The Indigenous people from this region built complex irrigation systems and grew diverse crops despite the intense heat and low annual rainfall. Tour an area of the wetlands and discover a thriving cottonwood forest. Marilyn Wallace is a filmmaker from Australia who teaches Aborigine youth the importance of protecting their ancestral lands.
Organic Fair Trade Farming/Impact of Climate Change on Farming: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 10 of the Down2Earth series. Art visits the Toledo Cacao Growers Association in southern Belize where cacao is bought and new plants cultivated for planting in the rainforest. Mayan farmers in southern Belize practice sustainable farming methods to build a reputation as world leaders in the organic cocoa market. Wahu Kaarais is a community activist with the Kenya Debt Relief Network. She voices her concern on the effects that climate change is having on African farmers.
Wild Horse Preservation Community/Sustainability in the Rainforest/Impact of Fossil Fuels in the North: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 11 of the Down2Earth series. Arizona have enacted a wild horse preservation program that provides food for the herd of 300. For thousands of years, the rain forests of Belize have been a source of food,medicine and ceremonial plants for indigenous people. Faith Gimmel is the director of REDOIL, an organization that works with native Alaskans whose traditional way of life is being threatened by the oil industry.
Outdoor Classroom/The Ya'axche Conservation Trust/Exploitation of the Tar Sands: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 12 of the Down2Earth series. Two Aboriginal educators in Victoria, BC take urban students on forest hikes to learn about local Indigenous history.; The Ya'axche Conservation Trust in Belize is an Indigenous-led organization that co-manages the region's rainforests and educates farmers, local residents and visitors about the importance of preserving the local eco-systems.; Clayton Thomas-Muller is a Cree activist from Northern Manitoba who speaks out against the oil industry's exploitation of the Athabasca Tar Sands.
Agro-Forestry / A Return to a Traditional Way of Life / Global Warming Crisis: Down2Earth (Streaming Video)
Episode 13 of the Down2Earth series. The Ya'axche Conservation Trust is a community organization that promotes economically viable and ecologically sound agriculture throughout southern Belize.; A ruling by the Supreme Court of British Columbia meant that the Nuu-chah-nulth could return to a way of life enjoyed for countless generations.; At the UN Climate Change Conference, several Indigenous leaders speak out on climate change.
A Wild Idea (English Version)
A wild idea explores Ecuador's unprecedented proposal for fighting global warming and preserving a large area of pristine rainforest from oil development - called the Yasuni-Itt initiative.
Criterion On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion On-Demand is a streaming video database of over 3000 major feature films from Warner Brothers Studios, Paramount Pictures, Lionsgate Studios, Miramax Studios, and more. It includes classic films as well as modern-day films.
Selection of videos from this database:
Before the Flood (Streaming Video)
From Academy Award-winning filmmaker Fisher Stevens and Academy Award-winning actor, environmental activist and U.N. Messenger of Peace Leonardo DiCaprio, Before the Flood presents a riveting account of the dramatic changes now occurring around the world due to climate change, as well as the actions we as individuals and as a society can take to prevent catastrophic disruption of life on our planet.
Bill Nye's Global Meltdown (Streaming Video)
Bill Nye is feeling down. He's visiting his therapist - Dr. Arnold Schwarzenegger - wondering why he just doesn't feel like himself lately. He's been trying to push past it, but he feels as if a horrible weight is on his shoulders, and life seems so empty, so meaningless. The therapist listens sympathetically, and diagnoses the cause: Bill is suffering from grief. Climate change grief. Thus begins the most unorthodox hour ever devoted to the subject of climate change. With the encouragement of Dr. Schwarzenegger, Bill Nye will walk through the five stages of climate change grief - from denial to acceptance - and along the way, he'll explore what's gone wrong with our planet and how we can start to turn things around.
The Carbon Rush (Streaming Video)
Incinerators burning garbage in India. Hundreds of hydroelectric dams in Panama. Biogas extracted from palm oil in Honduras. Eucalyptus forests harvested for charcoal in Brazil. What do these projects have in common? They are all receiving carbon credits for offsetting pollution created somewhere else. But what impact are these offsets having? Are they actually reducing emissions? And how are they affecting the people who live in these countries? The Carbon Rush takes us around the world to meet the men and women on the front lines of carbon trading. So far their voices have gone unheard in the cacophony surrounding this multi-billion carbon industry, nicknamed "green gold" by its beneficiaries. Indigenous rain forest dwellers are losing their way of life. Waste pickers at landfills can no longer support themselves. Dozens of Campesinos have been assassinated. The Carbon Rush travels across four continents and shows the connection between these tragedies and the United Nations' Clean Development Mechanism. This groundbreaking documentary feature reveals the true cost of carbon trading and shows who stands to gain and who stands to lose.
GasLand (Streaming Video)
The largest domestic natural gas drilling boom in history has swept across the United States. The Halliburton-developed drilling technology of "fracking" or hydraulic fracturing has unlocked a "Saudia Arabia of natural gas" just beneath us. But is fracking safe? When filmmaker Josh Fox is asked to lease his land for drilling, he embarks on a cross-country odyssey uncovering a trail of secrets, lies and contamination. A recently drilled nearby Pennsylvania town reports that residents are able to light their drinking water on fire. This is just one of the many absurd and astonishing revelations of a new country called GASLAND. Part verite travelogue, part expose, part mystery, part bluegrass banjo meltdown, part showdown.
Good Food, Bad Food (Streaming Video)
We've been warned about the impending disasters facing our food supply - GOOD FOOD, BAD FOOD shows us that solutions to "McFood" do exist. Farmers, philosophers and economists have their say in this revealing documentary about the environment and the consequences of big agribusiness. Filmmaker Coline Serreau delivers a refreshing and optimistic message on the state of cultivation by exploring organic and local alternatives to the global food production industry.
The Human Scale (Streaming Video)
50% of the world's population lives in urban areas. By 2050 this will increase to 80%. Life in a mega city is both enchanting and problematic. Today we face peak oil, climate change, loneliness and severe health issues due to our way of life. But why? The Danish architect and professor Jan Gehl has studied human behavior in cities through 40 years. He has documented how modern cities repel human interaction, and argues that we can build cities in a way, which takes human needs for inclusion and intimacy into account. THE HUMAN SCALE meets thinkers, architects and urban planners across the globe. It questions our assumptions about modernity, exploring what happens when we put people into the center of our planning.
An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power (Streaming Video)
A decade after An Inconvenient Truth brought climate change into the heart of popular culture comes the follow-up that shows just how close we are to a real energy revolution. Vice President Al Gore continues his tireless fight traveling around the world training an army of climate champions and influencing international climate policy. Cameras follow him behind the scenes in moments both private and public, funny and poignant as he pursues the inspirational idea that, while the stakes have never been higher, the perils of climate change can be overcome with human ingenuity and passion.
An Inconvenient Truth (Streaming Video)
The director eloquently weaves the science of global warming with Mr. Gore's personal history and lifelong commitment to reversing the effects of global climate change. A longtime advocate for the environment, Gore presents a wide array of facts and information in a thoughtful and compelling way.
Parched (Streaming Video)
Inspired by Water & Power: A California Heist, Parched is a new series that takes an investigative approach to find out who really controls the world's fresh water. From an expose on the relationship between water and money, to an investigation into corporations that contaminate fresh water resources and the lengths to which they will go to cover it up, Parched shines a light on the lack of regulation in place in the U.S. The series also goes global, looking at how water has become a weapon of war, a cause of mass migrations and how increasingly, access to safe fresh water is dividing the world into the "haves" and the "have nots."
Water Apocalypse (Streaming Video)
Part of the Breakthrough documentary series.
Planet Earth is often called "The Blue Marble". From space, it practically glows with a bright blue hue and swirls of white clouds. From a distance, it appears to be full to the brim with water. It's not until you take a closer look that you discover that despite its surface being covered with water, there is very little water to drink. Saltwater oceans dominate 97% of the water on Earth. Glaciers at our polar caps lock up 2% of our fresh water. Our population of 7 billion people and millions of animal species share just 1% of the water available on our planet. With climate change savaging weather systems and our population steadily rising, scientists and engineers all over the world are struggling to create local solutions for the growing global water problem.
Curio This link opens in a new window
Curio is an online database of television series and documentaries created and maintained by the CBC/Radio Canada. It features a wide range of streaming video content in both English and French.
Selection of videos from this database:
After Kyoto: Trying to cool the planet (Streaming Video)
In late 2005, delegates from all over the world gathered in Montreal to discuss the issue of climate change. An international agreement called the Kyoto Protocol has set targets for industrialized nations to cut greenhouse gases that are contributing to global warming. But many countries, including Canada, are having trouble meeting those targets. In this News in Review story we'll examine why the fight against global warming is proving to be so difficult. We'll also show what some Canadians are doing to try to cool the planet.
Arctic Meltdown (Part 1 of 3): A Changing World (Streaming Video)
In Episode 1 of the Arctic Meltdown series, we see the changes that are upsetting the scientific predictions of the impact of climate change on the Arctic. Now, one sobering forecast is that the Arctic Ocean will be seasonally ice free by the summer of 2013. This possibility is what drives environmentalists to identify ways to minimize the changes affecting this snowy land. But for prospectors like Gordon McCreary, climate change brings new opportunities. He is part of the rush to claim the riches beneath the Arctic's ice: deposits of metals, gold, diamonds, and oil and gas. Episode 1 showcases how Arctic nations are racing to claim control over the Arctic's resources and shipping routes. Dr. Ruth Jackson, from the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Nova Scotia, leads the Canadian team racing to map the seabed to support Canada's claim. Scientists too are now becoming victims of the Arctic's icy politics. A Canadian-led, international team of researchers is thwarted on camera when their deal to hire a Russian nuclear icebreaker falls through.
Arctic Meltdown (Part 2 of 3): The Arctic Passages (Streaming Video)
Episode 2 of the Arctic Meltdown series explores the Northwest Passage and how these dangerous waters are suddenly becoming accessible to businesses and shipping. Ports like Churchill, Manitoba and Murmansk, Russia expect to see business grow in years to come. Until recently, only a few ships braved travel through these ice-strewn waters. More and more ships cross these seas each year and with more traffic come higher risks — in particular for the Inuit who worry about the lack of ports and emergency support.
Arctic Meltdown (Part 3 of 3): Adapting to Change (Streaming Video)
Episode 3 of the Arctic Meltdown series from The Nature of Things tracks two different Arctics — one that is the storybook land of ice, snow and polar bears and the other that is covered with petroleum plants and pipelines carrying fossil fuels. Bylot Island is a national park and for 20 years a team of Canadian scientists have come every summer to measure the impact of climate change on snowy owls, lemmings, snow geese and Arctic foxes. Here they have discovered that even tiny, hardy plants are being affected, causing a cascade of changes through the ecosystem.
The Big Melt: Canada's Changing Arctic (Streaming Video)
Global warming is a threat to the future of countries all over the world. But nowhere are its effects being felt more right now than in places like the Canadian Arctic. Temperatures are warmer, and the ice pack less dense. In this News in Review story we'll look at how global warming is changing life in the Arctic. We'll also examine how the melting ice could eventually result in a major challenge to Canadian sovereignty.
Big Thirst: The Coming Drought (Streaming Video)
Many climate experts say a serious drought is on its way — unlike anything Canadians have ever seen. What’s more, this one will last not just a few seasons, but years and years. For the Canadian prairies, and its farmers, a drought of this magnitude will be devastating. In interviews with a glaciologist, water ecologist, leading prairie climate expert and a beef farmer besieged by water trouble, The National’s Margo McDiarmid examines the very clear warning signs of drought already appearing in southern Alberta.
Climate Challenge: World Leaders Turn Up the Heat in Paris (Streaming Video)
It was an historic meeting in Paris in December 2015. Nearly 200 nations gathered to hammer out a global climate change agreement. The future of the world's environment was at stake and the list of challenges long. Could there finally be a legally binding agreement to cut carbon emissions?
Climate Change (Part 1 of 2): An Uncertain Future (Streaming Video)
Beginning on the Prairies, David discovers how farmers are faring as shrinking glaciers wreak havoc with their water supply. In BC he comes face to face with the mountain pine beetle. This tiny deadly insect has already swallowed B.C.’s trees and now it’s checking out Alberta's, threatening the economy in both provinces. In BC's Okanagan wine region, vineyards are reaping the benefits of warmer weather, but also learning to negotiate a vulnerable water supply. And in the North, as new shipping routes open, sleepy port towns are waking to the siren call of profits.
Climate Change (Part 2 of 2): Hot Times in the City (Streaming Video)
Hot Times in the City takes the pulse of three major Canadian cities as they grapple with one of the planet’s greatest threats to human health — global warming. For years Toronto has struggled with crumbling infrastructure, urban sprawl, traffic gridlock and pervasive smog. In Vancouver, a pre-Olympic building boom ignores the fact that areas below or at sea level are slowly sinking. Because of shifts in Atlantic weather patterns, Halifax now sits squarely in a hurricane route.
The Copenhagen Climate Change Summit (Streaming Video)
In December 2009, 192 nations gathered in Copenhagen to discuss climate change. The plan was to begin drafting a document to replace the Kyoto Protocol that expires in 2012. In this News in Review story we’ll look at the summit preparations, and examine the debate over climate change in this country.
The Dangers of Global Warming (Streaming Video)
In early April 2007 an international panel of scientists released a bleak report about the threat of climate change. The scientists warned that if climate change goes unchecked billions of people could face shortages of food and water. In this News in Review story we'll look at how global warming is affecting British Columbia's forests and Australia's beaches. We'll also look at what the city of Philadelphia is doing to protect its residents from killer heat waves.
Defending our Sovereignty in the Arctic (Streaming Video)
The dramatic shrinking of the Arctic ice cap this year has some experts predicting that the Arctic Ocean could be ice free in summer by 2013. That would open up sea lanes to shipping and allow for more extensive oil and mineral exploration. It would also force Canada to defend its sovereignty in the region. In this News in Review story we’ll look at how Canada plans to do that and how the melting ice is affecting the lives of northern Canadians.
Extreme Storms: 2017 Atlantic Hurricane Season (Streaming Video)
The Atlantic hurricane season of 2017 will ultimately be one for the record books. Not for having the most hurricanes in a season, but as possibly the strongest hurricane month ever recorded. Five major hurricanes formed, with three making their way to shore – two as top-rated Category 5 storms. They came in quick succession and brought devastating winds and unprecedented rain. Some Caribbean islands were completely destroyed while many cities in the U.S. Southeast faced never-before-seen flooding.
Extreme Weather 2018: Is This Climate Change? (Streaming Video)
Climate on this planet is always changing. Over hundreds of thousands of years there have been heating and cooling events, with at least five ice ages. Most of these variations can be attributed to Earth’s orbit, the sun’s radiation and the planet heating. However, since the 19th century scientists believe that the rapid heating of the earth is a result of man-made climate change. Greenhouse gases trap heat from the sun and that causes the earth to warm. That in turn leads to melting ice caps and global temperatures rising. The summer of 2018 saw extremely hot temperatures across the northern hemisphere. From deadly heat waves across Asia, Europe and Great Britain to killer humidity in eastern North America and extremely dry conditions in the normally wet west. Is this the new normal? And can these conditions be attributed to climate change?
Food's Carbon Footprint: Creating Sustainable Sources (Streaming Video)
The food we eat is under threat. There's less arable land and more people to feed than ever before. Add to that the fact that everything we produce leaves a carbon footprint. Greenhouse gases are created in the way we grow, harvest, ship, store, package, cook and dispose of the food we eat. So how do we make our food safe and sustainable yet reduce our carbon footprint – or foodprint? This story looks at various innovative concepts people are using to produce and dispose of food while reducing the carbon consequences.
Global Warming: Canada's Melting Glaciers (Streaming Video)
The cause of climate change has long been debated by scientists, but the melting of the planet’s glaciers is an example that the heat is causing serious change. News In Review joins Chris Brown on a breathtaking journey into British Columbia where he witnesses first-hand the disappearing giants. Then meteorologist Johanna Wagstaffe explains some of the effects of long term global warming.
Global Warming Warning: What Yukon's Glaciers Tell Us (Streaming Video)
Global warming is having a massive impact on the planet. In October 2018, the world’s leading climate scientists met and warned that there are only a dozen years to limit global warming. They predict urgent change is needed or the planet is in peril. Much of that warming can be linked to human activity. Glaciers are barometers of climate change and their melts result in sea levels rising, causing potentially catastrophic results for coastal communities. The CBC’s Susan Ormiston met with a glacier expert in the Saint Elias Mountains in Yukon to find out what she was seeing in terms of ice field melt.
Nunavut's Response to Kyoto (Streaming Video)
The government of Nunavut embraced the 1997 Kyoto Accord, signed by 160 countries, to stop global warming. The territory's leaders say climate change is ruining the Inuit way of life. Not everyone agrees. Some argue the new way of life lies in tapping the resources of the land. This conflict is causing a massive rift among the territory's people, forcing them to re-consider what they think should be their way of life.
Playing God with Planet Earth (Streaming Video)
It may sound like a sci-fi movie — scientists mimic the effects of a volcanic explosion in a desperate bid to reverse global warming — but it's really happening. As this Doc Zone program reveals, scientists are experimenting with radical schemes to cool the planet. Could these remedies be a form of technological suicide?Salting the ocean with iron dust to trigger plankton blooms, shooting salt crystals into clouds to make them brighter, genetically-engineering "robo trees" to hoover carbon from the air — these are just a few of the big ideas under consideration. But the one form of "solar radiation management" likely to work fastest in a climate emergency would be to mimic the effects of a huge volcano by spraying clouds of sulphuric acid into the stratosphere. Jet drones or high-altitude balloons could do the job. Quick and cheap compared to breaking our addiction to carbon and retooling the industrial revolution. The problem? We might cause unintended consequences by reducing rainfall, causing drought and mass starvation. Will geoengineering save the day — or trigger disaster on a planetary scale?
Polar Bear Fever (Streaming Video)
The polar bear has become the new poster child for climate change, the perfect photogenic symbol for selling an environmental message. Polar Bear Fever takes us on a journey to meet the people who are obsessed with the bear. Few can resist the bear’s red-hot image — scientists and zookeepers, photographers and filmmakers, environmentalists and politicians, marketing mavens and advertising giants.
The Shrinking Bears: What Will Happen to the Polar Bears of Hudson Bay? (Streaming Video)
Global warming has forced the polar bears of Canada's Hudson Bay to confront this reality and the possible threat of extinction. Experts from the Canadian Wildlife Service track and monitor the polar bears and show how their shrinking environment leads to less food, starvation and in many cases, death. The far reaching consequences of global warming is clearly illustrated in this enlightening documentary.
Weather Gone Wild (Streaming Video)
Summer snowstorms. Disastrous flooding. Devastating wind and ice storms. Rampaging wildfires. Ruinous drought. Our weather has taken a turn for the extreme. And it’s going to get worse. As intense and unpredictable weather becomes the new normal, how can we adapt and survive? As a result of climate change, the new global buzzword is “adaptation,” as cities and citizens scramble to protect themselves. Weather Gone Wild travels to Calgary, Toronto, New York, Miami and Rotterdam to detail the dangers of the destructive new weather patterns, and show the innovative plans in each city to protect people and property from the weather’s devastating effects.
Zero Waste (Streaming Video)
Is it possible to live a life of zero waste? Host Torah Kachur talks with scientists and innovative people who believe it's only a matter of time. People like Willie Franke, who has generated only one bag of garbage in the last decade.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video database of documentary and feature films from a wide range of sources, including the BBC, PBS, TED, National Geographic, and more.
Selection of videos from this database:
The Climate Change Denial Industry: James Hoggan (Streaming Video)
This episode of The Green Interview features James Hoggan, the author of Climate Cover-Up: The Crusade to Deny Global Warming. He explains how oil and gas companies and their PR firms manufactured the false debate on climate change. Hoggan, who works in the public relations industry himself, explains how public relations techniques allow businesses to use psychology to shape public opinion. Hoggan discusses the climate change deniers, the use of industry-sponsored propaganda and how ethical business should be conducted.
Decoding the Weather Machine (Streaming Video)
Join scientists on a quest to better understand the weather and climate machine we call Earth. Why do scientists overwhelmingly agree that our climate is changing, and how can we be resilient - even thrive -in the face of enormous change?
Deepwater Horizon: An Ecological Disaster (Streaming Video)
Rented by the BP oil company to drill an oil well in the Gulf of Mexico, the Deepwater Horizon drilling rig explodes on April 20, 2010, before sinking into the ocean and causing a gigantic oil spill. At issue: negligence in the maintenance and in the tests carried out. On September 19, after months of unsuccessful attempts, the spill is finally declared sealed. But the harm has been done: this incident has generated the biggest marine oil disaster in history, tragically impacting the local ecosystems and economy.
The Ecology of Climate Change (Streaming Video)
Arctic Circle, is a key region for studying climate change—and not just the impacts. Certainly, with boreal forest fires growing more frequent and boreal permafrost melting dramatically, the area is responding very visibly to the rise of carbon in the atmosphere. Yet the trees and permafrost themselves are vast reservoirs of carbon. Ecologists like Scott Goetz of the Woods Hole Research Center and Ted Schuur of the University of Florida are keen to understand how climate change is altering the way the boreal biome adds to and takes up carbon from the atmosphere. This science bulletin highlights ongoing experiments in Alaska that aim to unravel these complex feedbacks so scientists can better predict outcomes as climate change continues. From the American Museum of Natural History.
Environmental Systems (Streaming Video)
The planet’s ecosystems enable the sustenance of an incredible diversity of life. This series examines ecosystems, vital processes that occur within them, human impact, and the role of science and technology in sustaining natural environments.
Fighting Climate Change Without the U.S. (Streaming Video)
The world's battle against global warming became considerably more difficult after President Trump announced that the United States would exit the Paris Agreement, but does that make it a lost cause? This Bloomberg QuickTake explains what the fight against climate change looks like now.
Native American Communities and Climate Change (Streaming Video)
Native Americans from Maine to Washington state convened for a conference at the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian. Their mission: to discuss the effects of climate change on tribal communities.
Pollution and the Scent of a Flower (Streaming Video)
Would a fresh bouquet of flowers lose its appeal if it didn’t smell? Or what if you could no longer buy your favorite perfume? Find out why scientists are studying how pollution is interfering with flowers’ scents.
The Secret Life of Landfill (Streaming Video)
In a unique science "experiment," Dr. George McGavin and Material Scientist Zoe Laughlin tell the extraordinary history of rubbish and explore how what we throw away tells us about the way we live our lives. With unprecedented access to one of the UK’s largest landfill sites, the team of experts spends 3 days carrying out tests all over the site revealing the secret world of rubbish. They also carry out three other "archaeological" digs into historic landfills to chart the evolution of our throwaway society. Ultimately, their quest is to discover if the stuff we throw away today has any value for tomorrow’s world?
Sinking Cities: A Four-Part Series on the Global Threat of Climate Change (Streaming Video)
Each episode of this series looks at a different city: New York, Tokyo, London and Miami, looking into the particular problems each of these cities face in light of climate change and rising sea levels.
Vanishing Ice: The Last American Polar Bears (Streaming Video)
Polar bears struggle for survival on the melting Arctic ice and move inland toward humankind. This ABC News film investigates the effects of polar bears descending on an Alaskan village and the race to save a vulnerable species.
Selection of videos from this database:
Climate on the Edge (Streaming Video)
A documentary that gives scientific context to the controversy and debate on climate change. Accessible interviews with climatologists, glaciologists, astrophysicists and oceanographers, juxtaposed with stunning footage, bring understanding to the impact of the melting of the Arctic permafrost and release of greenhouses gases that affect our whole planet.
A Step Towards the Arctic: Reflections and visions of the North (Streaming Video)
In this feature documentary, Swiss citizen Yves Delaunay seeks to understand how the Inuit are coping with the mutation of the Arctic as it is caught in the violent sway of climate change. In Sachs Harbour, an Inuit village on the fringes of the Earth, he discovers a small community attached to its land, conscious of the importance of its traditions and culture, which struggles daily to face the challenges of modernity by way of carving out a place within it.
DVD Films in the Library's collection
All of the following films are available for 2-hour loans at the Library. To borrow these films, please go to the Circulation Desk on the Main Floor and ask for the film.
Addicted to Plastic (DVD)
A global journey investigating the accumulation of plastic debris and exploring possible solutions to its toxicity, recycling, and biodegradability.
Animals: Friend or Food? (DVD)
Soon after Jason and Julia Young bought an abandoned farm property, Jason began a year-long experiment that would change his life forever - and that would produce this quiet, powerful, and impressive feature documentary debut. The idea seemed simple. If you're going to eat meat, Jason thought, then you should raise the animals. Get to know them, discover their personalities, treat them with respect - and eventually slaughter them yourself. Lovingly photographed over four seasons - and interspersed with exceptional black-and-white portraits of humans, animals and farm tools, - "Animals" takes us deep into the heart of the animal-human relationship, with all its contradictions.
Brings the happiness and the sadness of the buffet to light, taking the audience on a wild gastronomic voyage behind the scenes of an all-American binge ritual. Buffet follows the food: from kitchen to cornucopia, table to mouth, waste bin to local farm where 6,000 eager pigs feast on buffet leftovers. All along the consumption chain, a diverse cast of characters share their desires, their weaknesses, their pleasures, and their shames. The camera rolls as the savory promise that greets diners turns to gluttony, then despondence--and sometimes, a flickering hope for something more than just 'all you can eat.
Chercher le courant (DVD)
DVD-610 (See also English-language version, Seeking the Current, DVD-609)
Nicolas Boisclair et Alexis de Gheldere parcourent en canot les 500 km de la rivière Romaine avec deux environnementalistes. Ils découvrent les impacts prochains du projet hydroélectrique de Hydro-Québec et archivent, pour les générations futures, les images d'un coin de pays d'une remarquable beauté. En parallèle, accompagné de Roy Dupuis, ils explorent les différentes énergies renouvelables et leur rentabilité en interviewant des experts à travers le Québec. Les énergies vertes du 21e siècle sont-elles compétitives? Quel est leur potentiel au Québec? Quelles surprises nous attendent sur nos comptes d'électricité dans un avenir proche? Un demi-siècle après l'élection qui mena à la nationalisation de l'électricité au Québec, sommes-nous toujours Maîtres chez-nous?
Epic story of one of the largest and most controversial legal cases on the planet: the infamous $27 billion 'Amazon Chernobyl' lawsuit pitting 30,000 rainforest dwellers in Ecuador against the U.S. oil giant Chevron.
Ethics of consumption (DVD)
Philosophical discussion about the ethical aspects of consumption. What moral choices can we make and what ethical criteria can we use to help us live wisely in our over-marketed, over-advertised, goods-rich culture?
Farming the Seas (DVD)
Examines the environmental, socio-economic, health and food safety issues in the aquaculture industry around the world. Fisheries experts, environmental groups and several communities debate the consequences and overall impact of fish farming. Market demand for seafood far exceeds the ocean's ability to keep pace, and the crisis is deepening. This program gathers perspectives from around the globe as it examines the problems and promises of this emerging industry. Stories are documented from indigenous tribes and fish farming experts of British Columbia, large-scale multinational fish farming industries, Mediterranean fishermen, and shrimp farmers in the Southeast Asia region.
Food, Inc. (DVD)
Lifts the veil on our nation's food industry, exposing how our nation's food supply is now controlled by a handful of corporations that often put profits ahead of consumer health, the livelihood of the American farmer, the safety of workers and our own environment. Reveals surprising - and often shocking truths - about what we eat, how it's produced and who we have become as a nation.
Forest Alert (DVD)
Québec singer/songwriter Richard Desjardins uses striking imagery to challenge how our forests are managed, and to question our collective responsibility for the destruction of Québec's rich timberlands.
Global warming: The Signs and the Science (DVD)
This documentary profiles people who are living with the grave consequences of a changing climate, as well as the individuals, communities and scientists inventing new approaches to safeguard our children's future. Filmed across the U.S., Asia and South America, this program brings the reality of climate change to life and offers viewers a variety of ways to make a difference in their own communities.
Haida Gwaii: On the Edge of the World (DVD)
The natural beauty of this culturally rich archipelago has served as a backdrop for tragedies such as outbreaks of smallpox and the exploitation of natural resources. And yet, the Haida Nation remains undaunted, drawing on 14,000 years of tradition in preparing for a showdown over the Northern Gateway pipeline and planning for a more sustainable future.
La grande révolution de l'alimentation : le guide alimentaire du citoyen du 21e siècle (DVD)
À quoi ressemblera la nourriture du futur? Les steaks seront-ils cultivés en laboratoire dans des boîtes de Pétri? Cultiverons-nous nos aliments dans des tours? Plus réels qu'imaginaires, les nouveaux aliments et les tendances émergentes pourraient arriver dans votre assiette plus vite que vous ne le pensez. De l'océan à la terre ferme, des laboratoires aux hommes d'affaires en smoking, nos caméras vous emmèneront à la découverte de ces nouvelles frontières.
Living Downstream (DVD)
Follows Sandra Steingraber during one pivotal year as she travels across North America, working to break the silence about cancer and its environmental links. But Sandra is not the only one who is on a journey - the chemicals against which she is fighting are also on the move. We follow these invisible toxins as they migrate to some of the most beautiful places in North America. We see how these chemicals enter our bodies and how, once inside, scientists believe they may be working to cause cancer.
A Narmada Diary (DVD)
The Sardar Sarover Dam in western India, lynch-pin of a mammoth development project on the river Narmada's banks, has been criticized as uneconomical and unjust. It will benefit prosperous urbanites at a cost borne by the rural poor. But the dam building continues. If its height is not checked, the entire adivasi region of the Narmada will drown. In the name of progress, a relatively self-sufficient, egalitarian and environmentally sound economy and culture will be destroyed and a proud people reduced to the status of refugees and slumdwellers.
No Country For Animals (DVD)
No Country for Animals exposes Quebec’s notorious puppy mills and examines the mistreatment of animals raised for food. We see the gestation crates where animals spend their entire lives confined in standing positions, and overcrowded abattoir-bound trucks where livestock can go for days without food or water.
Peaceable Kingdom (DVD)
This documentary features individuals who have grown up on farms and have found themselves at odds with their families and communities over the treatment of farm animals. Also featured are those individuals who have dedicated their lives to rescuing and sheltering abused and neglected farm animals. This film looks at the contrast between the treatment of farm animals on our nation's factory farms and a new emerging philosophy of non-violence found at a growing number of farm animal sanctuaries, where both people and animals are viewed as individuals with inherent dignity and worth.
The Power of Place: Geography for the 21st Century (DVD)
DVD-855 - 26 Discs
Geography educators and content experts from around the globe look at physical, human, political, historical, economic, and cultural factors that affect people and natural environments. Maps, animation, and expert commentary focus to 52 case studies from 36 countries. Each case study reflects the issues of our 21st century world, as viewed from a geographical perspective.
The Practice of the Wild (DVD)
This film contains conversations between two old friends as they wander along paths and trails of central California coast. Gary Snyder and Jim Harrison debate the pros and cons of everything from Google to Zen K¯oans. Includes archival materials and commentaries from Snyder's literary contemporaries, friends, and intimates.
The Refugees of the Blue Planet (DVD)
A hard-hitting documentary that brings us to the heart of major issues confronting humanity. Each year, millions of people the world over are driven to forced displacement. Global warming and the unbridled exploitation of natural resources are degrading the life-supporting environments of rural populations. This film sheds light on the little-known plight of a category of individuals who are suffering the repercussions. The numbers of environmental refugees is growing. From the Maldives to Brazil to Canada, the disturbing account of people who have been uprooted are amazingly similar. Their story is one of rage, powerlessness, injustice and betrayal.
Sand Wars (DVD)
Sand Wars is a surprising investigation into one of the most consumed natural resources on the planet. Due to the high demand for sand, the planet's reserves are being threatened. Three-quarters of the world's beaches are in decline and bound to disappear as victims of erosion, or of sand smuggling. Triggered by building construction, smuggling bands, or "sand mafias," plunder beaches and rivers for this highly prized commodity. Sand Wars will take us around the world to witness this new gold rush firsthand.
Seeking the Current (DVD)
DVD-609 (See also French-language version, Chercher le courant, DVD-610)
Nicolas Boisclair and Alexis de Gheldere canoe the entire 500 km course of the pristine Romaine River before Hydro-Québec begins construction of four hydroelectric plants. They also team up with actor Roy Dupuis to explore renewable green energy and its profitability by interviewing experts across Québec.
Welcome to Alang, India, the site of a gargantuan scrap yard where ocean-going ships come to die. Forty thousand Indians live and work here, dismembering and scavenging the hulks of 400 vessels every year. This documentary chronicles the daily lives of the people who work here, the barefoot men who take apart giant mountains of steel by hand, piece by piece, as they spend months toiling sun-up to sun-down destroying ship after ship. It is the world's most unregulated industry. Ship owners rarely bother to abide by the UN Basel Convention, which bans shipments of transboundary waste. One worker a day, on average, dies on the job, from gas explosions, falls or from tons of falling steel. Still one in four will contract cancers caused by asbestos, PCBs or other toxic substances.
This Changes Everything (DVD)
Filmed over 211 shoot days in nine countries and five continents over four years, This Changes Everything is an epic attempt to re-imagine the vast challenge of climate change. Inspired by Naomi Klein's international non-fiction bestseller This Changes Everything, the film presents seven powerful portraits of communities on the front lines, from Montana's Powder River Basin to the Alberta Tar Sands, from the coast of South India to Beijing and beyond. Interwoven with these stories of struggle is Klein's narration, connecting the carbon in the air with the economic system that put it there. Throughout the film, Klein builds to her most controversial and exciting idea: that we can seize the existential crisis of climate change to transform our failed economic system into something radically better.
Urban Roots (DVD)
This film follows the urban farming phenomenon in Detroit. Urban roots is a timely, moving and inspiring film that speaks to a nation grappling with collapsed industrial towns and the need to forge a sustainable and prosperous future.
The World According to Monsanto = Le monde selon Monsanto (DVD)
Monsanto Company is the world's leader in agricultural chemicals, seed and genetically modified crops, as well as being one of the most controversial companies in industrial history. Shows how the company promoted such products as Roundup (glyphosate), bovine growth hormone, and genetically modified plants.