Libguides: 603-102-MQ: Contemporary Canadian Novel (Khoo): Selected websites

Indian residential schools and history in Canada of missing or murdered aboriginal women

Indian Residential Schools (Website)
The Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada website pertaining to the Residential School system, including information about the settlement agreement, the Truth and Reconciliation Commissions, the official apology made by the Prime Minister of Canada, Stephen Harper.
Indigenous Foundations: The Residential School System (Website)
This University of British Columbia website covers the history and impact of the Residential School System.
Media Portrayals of Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women (Article)
Media Smarts provides an overview of how the media has portrayed the crisis of missing or murdered Aboriginal women in Canada.
Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women: A National Operational Overview (Report)
A 2014 report released by the RCMP.
Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women: 2015 Update to the National Operational Overview (Report)
A 2015 update on the 2014 report released by the RCMP.
Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls: Understanding the Numbers (Article)
Amnesty International's response to the 2014 RCMP report on missing or murdered Aboriginal women.

Chinese Canadians (Article)
An overview article about Chinese Canadians, including mentions of the Chinese Immigration Acts and the Chinese Head Tax, from the Canadian Encyclopedia.
Immigration: Chinese Exclusion Act (Article)
An article detailing the 1923 Chinese Exclusion Act and its effect. Part of The Chinese Experience in British Columbia, 1850-1950, website, hosted by the University of British Columbia.

Komagata Maru (Article)
An overview article about the Komagata Maru incident from the Canadian Encyclopedia.
Komagata Maru: Continuing the journey - the "incident" (Article)
Browse this site which contains a collection of information, videos, digitized documents and photographs by Simon Fraser University.
Remembering the Komagata Maru (Article)
A memorial video and transcript by the Government of Canada.

Canadian First World War Internment Recognition Fund (Website)
Established through negotiations with the Canadian government, this fund was set up to "commemorate and educate Canadians about Canada's first national internment operations of 1914 to 1920." Includes plenty of information specifically about the Ukrainian Canadian internment.
"Enemy Aliens": The internment of Ukranian-Canadians (Website)
Hosted by the Canadian War Museum, this article talks in depth about the internment of Ukrainian Canadians during World War I.
Internment of Ukrainians in Canada 1914 - 1920: From Historical Point of View (Article)
An article from the Ukrainian Canadian Research and Documentation Centre about the Ukrainian Canadian Internment.
Ukranian Canadians (Article)
An article from the Canadian Encyclopedia about Ukrainian Canadians. It includes a section about their internment during World War I.

SS St Louis: The Ship of Jewish Refugees Nobody Wanted (Article)
A brief history of the voyage of the S.S. St. Louis.
Voyage of the St. Louis (Article)
An article about the St. Louis and its voyage in 1939, courtesy of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Enemies within?: Japanese-Canadian Internment, 1941-1949 (Article)
Hosted by the Royal BC Museum, this portal has links to a video, images, and readings.
Japanese Internment: Banished and Beyond Tears (Article)
An overview article about Japanese internment from the Canadian Encyclopedia.

Africville (Article)
An overview article about Africville from the Canadian Encyclopedia.
Black History Canada - Timeline (Article)
An overview of the history of Black Canadians. Includes a segment about Africville.

Somalia Affair: Chronology (Article)
A chronological listing of main events from the Canadian Encyclopedia.
Somalia Inquiry's Damning Report (Article)
An article recapping the inquiry to the Somalia scandal, including the names of those involved, from the Canadian Encyclopedia.
The Canadian Armed Forces in Somalia (Website)
Veteran Affairs Canada report on the Canadian involvement in Somalia.

Canada and 9/11 (Article)
An article from the Canadian Encyclopedia about Canada and the effects of 9/11.
National Security and Human Rights Concerns in Canada: A Survey of Eight Critical Issues in the Post-9/11 Environment (Report)
An in-depth document regarding the overlap between human rights and national security published by the Canadian Human Rights Commission.
RCMP Charges Syrian Officer in Maher Arar Torture (Article)
A CBC news piece covering recent events regarding the Mahar Arar case.
The Government of Canada's Response to the Terrorist Attacks of 9/11 (Report)
Brief document by Public Safety Canada about changes made after 9/11.