Skip to Main Content
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913 (Website)
The proceedings of London's central criminal court from 1674 to 1913. Fully digitized and searchable online. It is possible to search by first and last names of anyone involved in a criminal proceeding at the Old Bailey from the period, as well as by the verdict, punishment, and year or range of years.
The Word on the Street (Website)
From the National Library of Scotland, this is a digital collection of 1,800 broadsides published between 1650 and 1910. Can be searched by keyword or browsed by subjects, including specific types of crimes, like "forgery," "murder," "pirates," "robbery," etc. . .
The Newgate Calendar Database (Website)
An online database of the Newgate Calendar, a series of books published in England from the 17th century up until 1840 that contained stories about contemporary criminals. Entries can be searched by name, tagline, or through a full text search.
18th Century and Regency Thieves' Cant (Website)
This is an online database of slang terms used by thieves in the London underworld in the 18th century and Regency periods. The dictionary can be searched by specific cant word, by meanings, or by categories of cants.
Dying Speeches & Bloody Murders: Crime Broadsides Collected by the Harvard Law School Library (Website)
The Harvard Law School Library's digitized collection of more than 500 crime broadsides, dating from 1707 to 1891. It can be searched by keyword, categories, or browsed by title.